DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v81

sup dog

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (270)

Collapse
 
trashhalo profile image
Stephen Solka

Howdy! I'm Stephen. I am a staff engineer at a non-profit trying to work in the progressive ecosystem to make a difference in 2020. I'm currently working in Golang but have worked in js/node, various frontend stacks, Ruby and Java. I've lead teams, departments and been a individual contributor.

This is my favorite picture of my cat Tony. He was very confused when all the furniture was gone when I was moving.

the tony

Collapse
 
barreltb profile image
Caleb Whitford

He looks like the kind of cat that has his own favorite chair.

Collapse
 
dcgithub profile image
zero.effect

tony is awesome. i love him.

Collapse
 
amgarz0n profile image
amgarz0n

Hello Stephen!! Your cat is adorable :]

Collapse
 
shabeebakc3 profile image
SHABEEBA KC

Looking good, feline better.

Collapse
 
amazonbeauty2 profile image
Queen.py

You cat is adorable! He sort of reminds me of one of my cat Orian. He likes to harass me as soon as I pull my Mac out lol

Collapse
 
hdfortenberry profile image
Holly Fortenberry 🏳️‍🌈 🇺🇸 • Edited

Hi, very cool that you are working on progressive issues!

Collapse
 
dasein42 profile image
Andrew Glynn

Hey everyone, finally got around to joining while ignoring my remote standup meeting, lol.

Collapse
 
jmimoni profile image
Jæk

Standups are important... dev.to more so.

Collapse
 
manacespereira profile image
Manacés Pereira

hahahahaha nice advice

Collapse
 
gowthamgururaj profile image
GowthamGururaj

Hello everyone 👋
Hope everyone are safe with your family.
I am very excited to meet all tech people around the globe and upgrade myself to the new technologies.
Lets build and take the community to next level of learning platform 😊

Collapse
 
jmimoni profile image
Jæk • Edited

Hello Devs!

Great to be part of dev.to

I'm currently working on huntr.dev - an open source bug bounty board.
Come and have a chat about open source security!

I do more of the design, marketing, and frontend HTML and Javascript - but I am constantly increasing my developer knowledge by reading your articles (thank you), watching videos, and taking Codecademy courses when I get the time!

Software development is fun as hell.

Fun fact about me - I can do a Rubik's cube in under 20 seconds :P

<3

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Woot! And open source bug bounty board is a really cool idea. Welcome to DEV! 😀

Collapse
 
jmimoni profile image
Jæk

Thank you!

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Hello and welcome to Dev.to Community ! 👋🏼😉

Collapse
 
iamarya profile image
Arya

Hello!

huntr.dev seems like a great idea!

Collapse
 
jmimoni profile image
Jæk

Thank you!

Collapse
 
rafpaf profile image
NoAxioms

Is there a word missing here: "Find and fix open source vulnerabilities - be recognised for protecting millions developers and organisations!"

Collapse
 
jmimoni profile image
Jæk

Yes, yes there is... thank you :)

Collapse
 
caiojhonny profile image
Caio Jhonny

Hello 👋👋👋

Collapse
 
ziizium profile image
Habdul Hazeez

Welcome to the community!

Collapse
 
timicode profile image
timicode

Hello

Collapse
 
luhego profile image
Luis Herrera

Hello 👋 and welcome!

Collapse
 
minrgb profile image
minRgb

Welcome

Collapse
 
pgaria profile image
Pawan Garia

Hello Guys,

I am Pawan working as an Automation Engineer and living in Germany these days. I would like to thank all of you for sharing and contributing knowledge/ learnings thorough the articles here :)
These days I am learning about the React Js and Planning to redesign my website in the coming months.

Have a nice day!

Collapse
 
mikel_brierly profile image
mikel brierly

Awesome! Do you have a link to your site?

Collapse
 
pgaria profile image
Pawan Garia

Hi Mikel,

Here it is: pawangaria.com/

I use this website to write some of my learnings for the people.

Collapse
 
vlaskz profile image
Isaias Velasquez

Hello devs. I am happy to be part of this community.

Collapse
 
ccrenfroe profile image
Caleb Renfroe

Hi! Enjoy your stay :)

Collapse
 
iamarya profile image
Arya

Hello @Isaias!

Collapse
 
monsuratfasanya profile image
Fasanya monsurat

Hi you welcome

Collapse
 
minrgb profile image
minRgb

Hello everyone. I'm interested in cs for good few years now. Python is my language of choice. At the moment i'm building my first web app in flask/bootstrap combo. At some stage I would like to dip my toe in data science possibly but since it's a hobby there's no pressure.

Collapse
 
mikel_brierly profile image
mikel brierly

That's awesome that you are pursuing this as a hobby! Hopefully this will be a good resource for you! It's always good to have passionate people in the industry!

Collapse
 
minrgb profile image
minRgb

Thanks mikel

Collapse
 
cameronleefitz profile image
Cameron Fitz

Hello everyone! 🙌 I’m a student at Codesmith in NYC. My production project team has spent the week ideating on developing a front end developer tool that would address a need/gap in the community. So far, we’ve come up with some ideas (micro frontends library/convertor for Vue and React; prototype tool for Svelte). If anybody has any suggestions/tips/guidance on problems/issues/challenges related to these technologies, please let me know! I’m all ears👂

Collapse
 
mikel_brierly profile image
mikel brierly

Hello and welcome!

Collapse
 
javiersilva profile image
Javier Silva Ortiz

Hello fellow coders. Proud and happy to be in this community.

Collapse
 
mikel_brierly profile image
mikel brierly

Good to have you!

Collapse
 
manbir profile image
Manbir Singh Marwah • Edited

👋 Hey everyone! I'm Manbir, an engineering student from Delhi, India and I'm passionate about technology and communities as a whole. I'm currently mentoring the ACM Chapter at my campus, and was leading the same as the Vice Chairperson in the previous academic year. I've also been associated with student programs by Microsoft, GitHub, Dell, GitKraken and a few more companies.

I've delivered sessions on Android Development, Open Source, Design and Community Building. I aspire work in the DevRel ecosystem and I'm currently looking for full time opportunities under the same.

You may check out my work and community engagements or connect with me on: Twitter | LinkedIn
Looking forward to connecting with y'all! 🙂

Collapse
 
sid209e profile image
Siddharth Bishnoi

hello devs

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Howdy! 🤠

Collapse
 
zudhhyy profile image
Tubagus Zuhdi

Hello devs 👋. so happy to be part of this community

Collapse
 
hanstognon profile image
HansTognon • Edited

Hello everybody.My name's Hans.I'm undergraduate student in software engineering but I spend my time to gain skills personally also.Natively, I speak French cause I'm Beninese, but I'm working in order to speak English fluently .I like data science , so I'm learning Python , i'm also passionnated about technologies like Django.My goal is to be a freelancer developper.
Sorry if you don't understand well what I'm writing cause of the language.

Collapse
 
luhego profile image
Luis Herrera

Hello everyone 👋,

I am a software engineer from Lima. I started doing backend development with Java, then Python and now I am doing some frontend work with JavaScript and Vue.

My favorite backend language is Python. My favorite frontend framework is React.

Happy to be part of this community.

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.