DEV Community

Thomas Cansino
Thomas Cansino

Posted on

[DAY 81-83] I skipped a course and went straight into learning databases

Hi everyone! Welcome back to another blog where I document the things I learned in web development. I do this because it helps retain the information and concepts as it is some sort of an active recall.

On days 81-83, after briefly learning about making charts and graphs using the D3 library and learning about GET and POST data using APIs, I started to build the 1st project in data visualization course which is making a bar chart with the given data.

Now, by this time, I've been reading reviews on the internet about this course and see if it's worth the time learning. Most of the answers were that it's okay to skip it and learn it some other time because it's not often used in web development.

So, I decided to skip it since I'm currently lacking any motivation to do them for the time being. Maybe next time…😉

Anyways, I've gone straight into doing the next course which is the relational database. It teaches about bash commands, creating and using databases with PostgreSQL, and a version control system, Git.
Image description

I started the course by building a website boilerplate using the VSCode terminal. This is the course I had been looking for when I was learning about React. I remember when I was making my first app in React, it required me to go straight into doing terminal commands to create a website boilerplate in Vite without me having the slightest idea. Good thing there are YouTube tutorials for those.
Image description

Next, I've also built a mario database to learn PostgreSQL. This topic helps you build a database containing video game characters. There's a lot of repetition and I took the opportunity to take notes of the syntax so that I can refer to them in future projects.
Image description

After that, I started to build a database consisting of celestial bodies in the universe. It’s not done yet and I’m currently having trouble in referencing foreign keys for every table in the database. But hopefully, I look forward to finishing it by next blog.
Image description

Anyways, that's all for now, more updates in my next blog! See you there!

Top comments (0)