DEV Community

Thomas Cansino
Thomas Cansino

Posted on

[DAY 15-17] I Got My First Web Dev Certification & Started Learning Javascript

Hi everyone! Welcome back to my blog where I document the things I learned while studying to code. I also do this because it helps retain the information and concepts as it is a sort of an active recall.

Over the course of days 15-17, I built projects to practice my HTML & CSS skills and finally received my first web development certificate from freecodecamp :)

I constructed a ferris wheel to learn CSS animation. Then, I modeled a penguin to explore CSS transforms. Afterwards, I developed a personal portfolio webpage to complete part 5 of the responsive web design certification project on FreeCodeCamp, earning my first web dev certificate :). And lastly, I created a pyramid generator to start my journey into JavaScript. It’s my first programming language.

While making the projects, I was able to:

  • explore the @keyframes at-rule for CSS animation, utilizing pseudo-selector :active and transitions to add subtle and cute little penguin animations.

  • start my journey into JavaScript, covering variable declaration, array manipulation method calls like .push(), .pop(), .unshift(), and .shift(), log calls with console.log(), loops (for, for...of, while), concatenation, and functions.

  • differentiate parameters from arguments in function calls.

Image description
Image description
Image description
Image description
Image description

Man, let me tell you, I am struggling, especially with JavaScript concepts being unfamiliar territory. However, I've embraced this exact feeling of being overwhelmed when I was learning HTML & CSS during my first week as part of the learning process.

My take on this is to persistently solve challenges, even if it means banging my head against the keyboard until the code works. The key is to keep moving forward, staying consistent, and trusting that understanding will come with time and practice.

I'm literally embodying the advice of experienced developers: keep building until clarity emerges. Initially, I will build cute little projects with a dirty code, but there will come a time that I'll soon build projects that present solutions to real-world problems, combined with a clean code.

Thank you for reading. Until then, see you next blog!

Top comments (0)