DEV Community

Thomas Cansino
Thomas Cansino

Posted on

[DAY 108-112] I built my first full-stack app with CRUD and auth logins

Hi everyone! Welcome back to another blog where I document the things I learn in web development. I do this because it helps retain the information and concepts through active recall.

On days 108-112, I built a simple blog website that create, read, update, and delete posts with authenticated user login (username, email, and password).
Image description

I used MERN (MongoDB, Express, Reactjs, Nodejs) stack to build the full-stack app from scratch and the purpose of doing it is to practice everything that I've learned so far.
Image description
Image description

In fact, I plan to build more simple full-stack apps like this to further practice my skills in everything. Learn by doing.

I gotta say, I took a 3-week break from learning the course in freecodecamp because after consistently doing this for almost 5 months, I felt like I needed it.

During my break, I built a blog website as my first full-stack project.

In those 3 weeks, I learned about the backend, and how to integrate it with the database, and practiced my frontend skills.
Image description
Image description

I didn’t focus too much on the design of the website but rather on the backend and the database side since that's where I think I needed practice.
Image description

I learned so much building my first full-stack project and I plan to do more in the upcoming weeks.

For my next projects, I plan to build a task manager (like a to-do list app) with a user login, and a contacts manager with a user login.

My goal is to practice my full-stack skills and learn more by doing these simple projects.

Also, I’ve decided to return to freeCodeCamp and continue the Backend + Database course to earn the Backend Certificate.

After this, I’ll be building more full-stack projects to further practice my skills.

As I resumed the course, I covered the MongoDB and Mongoose topic, where I learned how to connect a database to my backend using Mongoose.
Image description
Image description

Some basic syntax was taught, but I noticed that some of it seemed outdated, as I’ve already used Mongoose in my first full-stack app, and some of the code I used were slightly different.

Anyway, next week, I’ll be building the 5 backend projects required to complete the course.
Image description

That’s all for now. More updates in my next blog! See you there!

Top comments (3)

Collapse
 
fnabinash profile image
Abinash Sahoo

I want to say congrats, but sounds boring.

So, "Congratulations", until I came up with some interesting to complement. 😁😁

Collapse
 
thomascansino profile image
Thomas Cansino

Haha. Thanks for the support man! I appreciate it! Hope you come up with that complement soon!

Collapse
 
fnabinash profile image
Abinash Sahoo

Yeah, I ordered a dictionary. 😁😁😉