DEV Community

Thomas Cansino
Thomas Cansino

Posted on

[DAY 78-80] I learned about APIs, D3 library, and rebuilt my pokemon app

Hi everyone! Welcome back to another blog where I document the things I learned in web development. I do this because it helps retain the information and concepts as it is some sort of an active recall.

On days 78-80, after completing all the projects and acquiring the certificate in the front end course (random quote machine, markdown previewer, drum set app, basic calculator, and clock timer app), I started the next course which is the data visualization course.
Image description

I finished the data visualization with D3 topic which teaches on using a D3 library to build charts, graphs, and plots in your web app.
Image description

I also finished the JSON APIs and AJAX topic which is about GET and POST data using new XMLHttpRequest and fetch API methods.
Image description

To consolidate my learnings in fetching APIs, I redid the pokemon app that I made using Javascript back in the DSA course, but this time, in React.

I transferred my Javascript code to React and also refactored them for code readability and because I want to practice my skills in doing it.
Image description
Image description
After building the app in React, I deployed it to github pages.

Here's the link:

https://thomascansino.github.io/P46-Pokemon-App/

Anyways, that's all for now, more updates in my next blog! See you there!

Top comments (0)