DEV Community

Cover image for If you weren't a software developer, then what?
Tina Huynh
Tina Huynh

Posted on

If you weren't a software developer, then what?

What is your "what if" plan? What is your "back-up" career? your "lifeline" if software engineering somehow wasn't an option anymore for you?

Maybe one day, you decided you didn't want this lifestyle anymore? That you wanted something different...that you no longer loved creating online as much as you used to, etc. Then what?

Happy coding!

Top comments (34)

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

I believe the traditional progression goes: 1) software developer, 2) burn out, 3) woodworking.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

Oooo woodworking?

Collapse
 
eljayadobe profile image
Eljay-Adobe

That seems to be the trend with all my retired coworkers. Except for the one who went into blacksmithing.

Thread Thread
 
genevievemasioni profile image
Geneviève Masioni

You’re hilarious! Thanks for the laugh. 😂

Collapse
 
cappe987 profile image
Casper

I would become a teacher in, ideally, math and programming. Teaching is something I've loved even since before I found my love for programming, but programming eventually became my career choice. But if I were to ever get tired of the world of software development I have already planned to become a teacher, preferably for high school students. Maybe middle school, but definitely not younger than that.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

I love teaching! I've done some sort of teaching since middle school!

Collapse
 
darkterminal profile image
Imam Ali Mustofa • Edited

life in the jungle 🌲🌳🌲🌴🪵🌱🌿🪨🍃🎋 alone with nothing!

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

The true digital nomad life? :o

Collapse
 
alia5 profile image
Peter Repukat

Probably Photographer/Digital Artist.
Or I'll just open up a Bar

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

I love the entrepreneur mindset!

Collapse
 
twirp profile image
twirp

I'd become a Photographer. For consistent income, I'd also be a Barista.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

self-made photographer or trained?

Collapse
 
twirp profile image
twirp

A bit of both. I've done coursework and second shooting.

Most of what I've done is classic or copying someone's style. I'm hoping to establish my own style.

Collapse
 
koas profile image
Koas

I’d be a full time dreamer.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

what does being a dreamer mean to you?

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

I think I'd give a go at profession TTRPG GM-ing; that or just writing. Or helping with my partner's business.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

what does TTRPG GM stand for?

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

TTRPG - Table top role-playing game
GM - Game Master (eg game facilitator)

Thread Thread
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

Ahhh learning something new everyday!

Collapse
 
mcanam profile image
mcanam

I have a side project as a graphic designer, maybe I'll make it a single branch 😂

Collapse
 
angelguerrero profile image
Ángel Guerrero

No plan, there was not option.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

No backdoor? LOVE IT

Collapse
 
ful1e5 profile image
Kaiz Khatri

I'll open 🍕 shop.

Collapse
 
tmchuynh profile image
Tina Huynh

Love the entrepreneur mindset :D

Collapse
 
chuniversiteit profile image
Chun Fei Lung

I'd be a train driver who makes stupid announcements with jingles and fun facts at every station.

Collapse
 
jesusantguerrero profile image
Jesus Guerrero

I wanted to be a professional baseball player but if I no longer like programming I would like to be teacher for an university.

Collapse
 
mrdanishsaleem profile image
Danish Saleem

Probably, a YouTuber spending all my time streaming😁

Collapse
 
brense profile image
Rense Bakker

If I can't be a software developer any longer, I'm just going to enjoy my software developer moneys for a few years and hopefully I will have come up with something else I want to do, by the time the moneys run out 😜

Collapse
 
dimitarstbc profile image
Dimitar Stoev

I would love to be part of a creative studio that produces animations.

3D modeling and bringing 3D worlds alive seems an exciting opportunity!

That is probably the career I would most probably choose.

What is your second option? What would you do?