DEV Community

Cover image for My 5 favorite resources for learning JavaScript
vladimir.dev
vladimir.dev

Posted on

My 5 favorite resources for learning JavaScript

A couple of times I was asked on my Instagram about resources for learning, and since I already wrote a little about CSS and some cool tools, I decided to dedicate this post to the JavaScript resources I was (or still am) using.

Since I first started learning a couple of years ago, some of these might be considered outdated, or using some tools or methods that have since been updated; I still included them, since it's not only about the code, but teaching some very important principles that can be applied to most programming languages and tools.

So here's my 5 favorite resources for learning JavaScript:
(the fact there's 5 is purely coincidental :) )

1. JavaScript & JQuery

by Jon Duckett
javascriptbook.com

JavaScript & JQuery

Even though it might be considered "old", it is still one of the best laid-out, organized and illustrated books I've ever studied from.

It is beautifully designed, with graphs, illustrations and visual aids that help immensely with understanding the point.
Perfect for visual learners, as well as a reference book for when you need to revisit the fundamentals!

One thing worth noting is, if you are getting this book, make sure to get the latest edition, since the early ones had some errors in them.

2. Practical JavaScript

by Gordon Zhu
watchandcode.com

Practical JavaScript

A great free online course that does a great job of explaining some of the most important concepts, such as functions, objects and conditional logic.

It stresses the importance of planning your app's features in advance (instead of jumping straight into coding), and grouping your code into objects - for the sake of better readability and organization, as well as slowly leading us into the world of OOP.

3. YouTube Tutorials

by Traversy Media
youtube.com/techguyweb

Traversy Media

My most favorite YouTube tutorials are made by Brad Traversy, AKA Traversy Media, but of course, there are many others.

Brad has a huge repository of high-quality videos, with everything a Front-end developer might need, as well as a couple of other topics.

4. #JavaScript30

by Wes Bos
javascript30.com

JavaScript30

A very fun and a bit more advanced collection of 30 exercises and cool mini-projects, each focusing on a different JS feature.

Wes Bos has become somewhat of a guru in the front-end development world. His teaching style is interesting, but also a bit faster than what I was used to, and also somewhat more advanced, so I would definitely recommend learning the basics of JavaScript before jumping into this one.

5. You Don't Know JavaScript

by Kyle Simpson
github.com/getify/You-Dont-Know-JS

You Don't Know JavaScript

A 6-book series, each diving into a core concept of JavaScript and descritibng it in-depth, helping you to better understand how JS works "under the hood".

Just like with the previous one, I recommend previous basic JS knowledge.

As allways, feel free to send me questions or suggestions for more posts.
Any question regarding JS or other tools, I'll try to answer the best I can.

Have a great week!

Top comments (6)

Collapse
 
inkerinmaa profile image
Nikita Gladkiy

One of the best - Javascript.info. It's open-sourced also.

Collapse
 
vladimir_dev profile image
vladimir.dev

Thanks, I'll check it out

Collapse
 
karataev profile image
Eugene Karataev

MDN is Wikipedia for JavaScript

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Definitely putting 4. #JavaScript30 on my todo list :D

Collapse
 
vladimir_dev profile image
vladimir.dev

Glad to hear. It's pretty fun :)

Collapse
 
supunkavinda profile image
Supun Kavinda

Google's favorite is w3schools :)