DEV Community

Cover image for Top Google Chrome Extensions For Devs πŸ”₯πŸš€
DevLorenzo for World In Dev

Posted on • Updated on

Top Google Chrome Extensions For Devs πŸ”₯πŸš€

Hello world!In this post I'm gonna show you my favorite chrome extensions! They makes me more productive. And gives me inspiration to do more coding.

πŸ”– - Bookmark the article to save it

And remember the like ❀

You absolutely need to read that:

My Google Chrome extensions:

image

  1. Grepper β†’ Allow you to save code

image

2 - Shortcuts for google β†’ Open google apps with a click


image

3 - Video Speed Controller β†’ Allow you to control the speed of a video with shortcuts and to overcome the 2x speed


image

4 - Code Line Daily β†’ every day a line of code in your browser (HTML, CSS, and Javascript)


image

5 - Volume Manager β†’ Manage the volume of a tab


image

6 - VisBug β†’ Open source web design debug tools built with JavaScript: "a FireBug for designers".


image

7 - Better-OneTab β†’ Allow you to manage and save your tabs


image

8 - Grammarly for chrome β†’ Correct my English πŸ˜€


image

9 - Color Zilla β†’ Pick up a color from any web page and copy the hex

Or:

image

9 - Quick color picker


image

10 - What Font β†’ Check the font of any web page.


image

11 - Dimension β†’ Check the dimensions (in pixels) of elements / their distance


image

12 - Lorem Ipsum Generator β†’ Generate lorem ipsum test quickly


image

13 - CSS viewer β†’ CSS property viewer


image

14 - Window Resizer β†’ Allow you to resize the web page (for responsive webpages)
Web Developer β†’ Adds a toolbar button with various web developer tools.


15 - You can also install an Ad Blocker like AdBlock or AdGuard


Your extensions:

JSON formatter

Fonts ninja - Alternative to what font

image

Vinium
--> The Hacker's Browser. Vimium provides keyboard shortcuts for navigation and control in the spirit of Vim.

  • I add this extension I just discovered:

image

Calculator - very useful when you have to use the calculator while staying in the same tab (open as a popup)


Hope this helps!

Comments your favorite chrome extensions!

And remember the like! ❀


Recommended reading:


Subscribe to my Newsletter!

A loooong, and fun, weekly recap for you
Free PDF version of my articles
Highly customizable inbox
That's --> free <-- and you help me!


Join us on Discord to participate in hackathons with us / participate in our giveaways (we are offering a free Udemy course at 200 members)!


Linked article --> Check out this awesome list of Firefox extension created by [Brandon Wallace] πŸš€

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
barelyhuman profile image
Reaper

Fonts Ninja another alternative for what font,
also any plugin that can do json formatting.

Or if you don't want a plugin, there's always format

Collapse
 
millsoft profile image
Michael M

my fav extension for development:
JSON Formatter
this will format any json output nicely. (eg if you open an API get request in new window)

Collapse
 
almenon profile image
Almenon

Chrome has window resizer built-in to the dev tools. It's in the top left as "toggle device toolbar".

Some other extensions I would recommend:

  • Quick Javascript Switcher - quickly turn off javascript on annoying webpages
  • Tampermonkey - lets you write quick scripts to modify webpages. For example I modified reddit to present a initial screen to remind me I should avoid goofing off πŸ˜…
Collapse
 
icecoffee profile image
Atulit Anand

Chrome removed my colorzilla the other day, appearently it contains some malicious content.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Are you sure? Is still available in the chrome web store. And even if I did some research "colorzilla removed" / "colorzilla malicious content"... it doesn't give me anything relevant. Do you have any verified source who proves it? Don't hesitate to send me everything you have, I would not like to leave anything dangerous in this article.
Thanks

Collapse
 
icecoffee profile image
Atulit Anand

I verified that myself just after posting that comment and I am afraid that I can't share any reliable proof at the point.
Mybad
Stay safe

Thread Thread
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

No problem. Update me if you find something.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

I will check

Collapse
 
ambartayde profile image
Ambar Tayde

Thanks for the list! I love ColorZilla and Grammarly.

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

I actively use both, they are very useful.

Collapse
 
juanpumpkinpie profile image
juanpumpkinpie

Γ§hwo to write this tab of links ( It's cool )

Collapse
 
mayankkalbhor profile image
Mayank K

Having too many extensions doesn't slow the overall computer speed as Chrome runs all these extensions in background?

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

The entire chrome slows the pc, check the task manager for example (on windows) to see how much. For me just chrome use 4gb of ram (with two users, lots of extensions and lots of tabs). I have a good pc so I can handle this 4gb (I have 16 of ram) but lots of pc have just 4 or 8gb. Even if what takes to most are too much tab opened in the same time, too much extensions can slow the pc, even if chrome is closed.

Collapse
 
aalphaindia profile image
Pawan Pawar

Good one!!

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thanks!

Collapse
 
dnjosh10 profile image
Dumte Nwidoobee Joshua

Very helpful. In fact I must bookmark this page for further reference

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thanks😊

Collapse
 
ponyesteves profile image
Jose

Vimium is a nice extension to have.
chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/...

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Seem interesting, I added the link in the post

Collapse
 
devlorenzo profile image
DevLorenzo

Thanks!