DEV Community

Cover image for Where do you like to travel the most? ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ
Sarthak Sharma for XenoX

Posted on

Where do you like to travel the most? ๐Ÿ”๐Ÿ

As post-vacation, most of the countries are going back to normal. Most of us can travel to close tourists destination keeping precautions in mind. Few of us are even able to do remote work from such places.

I'm myself in Himachal (India ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ) since this month, work from there. I have spent most of my vacations here only. It's my second home and every time there is something new that you can find and experience here.

What's your second home? Where do like to spend most of your vacations and why?

Top comments (35)

Collapse
 
relativelyrehan profile image
relativelyrehan

Just like Himachal, the Indian state of Uttarakhand also has some beautiful ๐Ÿ—ป.

My favorite is Nainital. A beautiful town with a beautiful lake in the middle of it. ๐Ÿ˜

img

Collapse
 
manpreet profile image
Manpreet virk

Wow๐Ÿ˜, I would love to visit this place as well.

Collapse
 
joannaotmianowska profile image
Joanna Otmianowska

Oh, I've been there. This place is amazing :)

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Wow

Collapse
 
manpreet profile image
Manpreet virk

I often visit Chail- a quiet hill station in Himachal Pradesh (India). I just love its stunning panoramic views and calmness around.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Ah chail is โค๏ธ

Collapse
 
vonhyou profile image
Regular ๐ŸŸ

Chongqing (A city in China)

I love Chongqing for its spicy food, its mountainous terrain, and its humid climate. The skyscrapers built between the mountains, looking out at the Taoist temple in the night rain โ€”โ€” a cyberpunk feeling, wonderful

All of the photos below were taken around Chongqing University of Posts and Telecommunications within a month, and I love the change in atmosphere

IMG_8053.jpg
IMG_8122.JPG
IMG_7238.JPG
IMG_8518.JPG
IMG_8517.jpg
IMG_8066.jpg
IMG_8128.JPG

Collapse
 
unitybuddy profile image
Mr. Unity Buddy

Woww!

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

๐Ÿคฉ

Collapse
 
joro550 profile image
Mark Davies

A few years ago I spent some time in Tokyo and absolutely loved it! I wouldlove to go visit some more towns/cities in Japan Osaka and Kyoto are on my list, I have been trying to learn some of the language so I feel a little more comfterble visiting outside of the cities (as I believe it becomes a little more common that people don't speak much if any English outside the big cities).

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Any Fav picture ?

Collapse
 
joro550 profile image
Mark Davies • Edited

Weirdly I have very few pictures, I think what happened here is that I had them on a phone somewhere and forgot to transfer them anywhere when I changed phones - so I only have what I uploaded to social network.

But here is one of the more memorable sights from my trip, it's a view from the Tokyo SkyTree, it gives a sense of just how large the city is

View from tokyo skytree

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

oh boy ๐Ÿคฉ

Collapse
 
aschwin profile image
Aschwin Wesselius

I'm located in The Netherlands, near Amsterdam. The Netherlands is flat and the highest places are some hills.

So to get really adventurous or for a more interesting landscape I rather go somewhere else. I've been in Australia, Singapore, Malaysia, Bali (Indonesia), Spain, Turkey, Germany, Belgium, France and Greece so far.

From which Greece by great length wins the competition for beauty, relaxation, friendly people, great food, many different surroundings, (traveling) costs etc. We have been to Samos and Crete. Samos was only a one day expedition from Turkey so it doesn't count.

But Crete offers so much for curious tourists. Their tourist season starts in April and lasts till October. During this period, five days of rain is a lot. The rest is just sun shine. Crete has a rich history (mostly from occupation by foreign forces) and preserved a lot of its legacy in musea.

The people are friendly and most of them speak English quite well. The elderly quite less, but they are very hospitable. Love transends any language and it shows in Greece.

Crete has many "Blue Beaches", beaches which have been accredited some status based on cleanliness. Some of these beaches are hard to find but oh so worth it. The whole island can be traveled by car for which most destinations can be reached in a couple of hours. Nature has been very well preserved throughout the island, but you will not likely be too remote from inhabited space to get lost.

We love to go to the west side of Crete, since it's much greener. Much more forestry which is very welcome during summer where temperature can reach 40C/104F easily. We prefer to go in September because of the decreased tourism and the warmed sea water, but April is best to avoid tourists the most. In April and September it's not too hot, while sometimes it still can reach high temperature.

Greece is quite modern, but it can suffer from lack of infrastructure. Therefore their islands are subject to shortage of fuel once in a while. Nothing to worry about, but important to be aware of.

Greece is part of the European Union and has the Euro as national currency. This is useful if you plan to visit other countries who accept this currency. Turkey is not part of the EU yet, but businesses accept the Euro anyway.

Further, Greece has a very rich history in general and many of it's islands are worth visiting in their own right. So yes, for me the affection to it is not over by any length.

Collapse
 
sajal_arora_bf838c9eb6a01 profile image
Sajal Arora

What a view. Neven been to mountains.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

What really?

Collapse
 
antoniofalcaojr profile image
Antonio Falcรฃo Jr.

Florianรณpolis, Santa Catarina (BR)

Collapse
 
cmuralisree profile image
Chittoji Murali Sree Krishna • Edited

I like to go for rameshwaram and danushkodi, bcz they are surrounded by oceans, you have to enter rameshwaram through a bridge,

And danushkodi the tip of India, just big empty beaches, A perfect place for forgetting the stress and all,

Just the sunset and sunrise will be more than epic,

Collapse
 
dabibu153 profile image
saurav sharma

My hometown in Hamirpur, Himachal.
It's one of my fav places to visit when I just wanna relax, detox, and reset my mind.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Any picture?

Collapse
 
dabibu153 profile image
saurav sharma • Edited

image

๐Ÿค—
u can see a faint rainbow if u look closely

Thread Thread
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Wow

Collapse
 
lillybet2 profile image
LillyBet2 • Edited

Wow, what a beautiful place! I didn't think it was so picturesque in India! I haven't traveled much in my life; usually, my family and I went to Florida for a vacation. I've only been to London, UK. My parents have a wedding anniversary at the end of the summer - 40 years and my brother and I want to give them a trip to one of the Asian countries. I think about India after your story. My brother, unlike me, traveled more, and he said that we only need to choose a direction, a few cities for the tour, and Contiki will make it possible. This trip will give my parents a lot of positive emotions and inspire them to travel further.

Collapse
 
alfredosalzillo profile image
Alfredo Salzillo

Lisbon

Collapse
 
winzig_hying profile image
Tanvi

I have mostly planned my trips to MOUNTAINS most of the times as it feels so calm in mother nature like zero stress, fresh air, clean water gushing and most important hiking.

Collapse
 
sarthology profile image
Sarthak Sharma

Any place in particular?

Collapse
 
winzig_hying profile image
Tanvi

Dalhousie as we one can always catch a glimpse of snow- clad mountains.

Collapse
 
herefer profile image
herefer • Edited

I liked Germany. We went there the last summer, and it was just great. The medieval towns and castles they got there are just amazing. You can literally touch history because some houses are like a thousand years old. We visited Neuschwanstein Castle โ€“ it looks just like a fairy tale; I canโ€™t believe that people used to live in them.
I also liked German trains, because they are very comfy and calm. There was this plate in the train with this inscription: Reisen Sie bequem mit der Deutschen Bahn. I remember it because I used to study German in school, and it was the only phrase that I could understand.

Collapse
 
thalitadev profile image
Thalita G. • Edited

There are so many places I want to go to but haven't had the chance to yet, so I'm not even sure if I can answer this sort of question! ๐Ÿ˜† I absolutely loved Madrid though, I'd love to revisit it sometime! Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofรญa was probably the most magical experience I've ever had from an art museum, and I've been to Louvre in Paris as well!

Collapse
 
danstockham profile image
Dan Stockham

I like to go back to Copenhagen one of these days

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.