DEV Community

Zorex Salvo
Zorex Salvo

Posted on • Updated on

Pet Projects: How to stay motivated doing it?

Hi everyone, do you have new project ideas? Have you finished your previous one? I doubt it!

So I have a question to "The Chosen Few" who actually finished their pet projects (especially if those projects are not your day-to-day job), how did you do it? Any advice?

Also, I am encouraging everyone who has a working in progress pet project to share theirs in the discussion box. And just maybe, if we knew that anyone may check our project, it may motivate us more to finish it.

I'm fairly new to JS but mine is here: http://shop.zorexsalvo.xyz
Source: https://github.com/zorexsalvo/vuecommerce

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
z0al profile image
z0al

I've been there before ;)

  • Basically, you need to work on a project that solves a problem you're experiencing, regularly(ideally). This way it's more likely you will stay motivated.

Credits: Kent C. Dodds

  • Share your work with others, you may get a cool feedback, which also helps a lot!

I am encouraging everyone who has a working in progress pet project to share theirs in the discussion box

My webpack-based, local playground, currently in beta!

Collapse
 
zorexsalvo profile image
Zorex Salvo • Edited

I didn't know that you can embed tweets here in comment that's cool @thepracticaldev !

a problem you're experiencing, regularly

That's the keyphrase, that's my problem. I'm more excited on the tech that I'll be using than the actual problem the app should solve.

Glitch Playground! That's a really cool and interesting name for a side project.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited
Collapse
 
zorexsalvo profile image
Zorex Salvo • Edited

Very good points Ben!

I would strongly consider making it a project focused on building a public API around something.

This one too, I should really take this advice. My work mostly revolves on developing backend apps and managing apps in the cloud, but, my pet projects are usually full-stack, and frontend development itself consumes a lot of time for me, diminishing the excitement.

Collapse
 
marlysson profile image
Marlysson Silva

I have a lot :D

A Project Manager : github.com/Marlysson/Project-Manager
Made with Django ( Many issues to getting done )

A Financial manager : github.com/Marlysson/finhis
Made with Django + Vuejs

Collapse
 
zorexsalvo profile image
Zorex Salvo

Django + Vue.js !! Dude we have the same tech interests. It's not too often to see someone who uses that tech especially here in PH, where python is not too popular and everybody else use Angular or React.

Collapse
 
marlysson profile image
Marlysson Silva

What is PH?

Actually I'm using Django just to wrapper my stack, that actually is Django Rest Framework to build an api and Vue.js to consume your content.

Very easy.. the most complicated part ( that I found ) was do auth in vuejs using token.. but was my first attempt.

Thread Thread
 
zorexsalvo profile image
Zorex Salvo • Edited

Philippines, Asia.

Yeah I know DRF, been using it to develop some internal data integrations. For the auth, I find it complicated too. Haven't tried to do auth without the help of a framework, so now I want to do it differently, so I'm trying to do separate frontend and backend.

Thread Thread
 
marlysson profile image
Marlysson Silva

Django is awesome framework really.. After use it for couple times I'm trying adventure me by the core details and your source code.. To specialize more.

It's a good exercicie :D

Thread Thread
 
zorexsalvo profile image
Zorex Salvo

Have you seen Classy Class Based Views and Classy Django Rest Framework yet? Those are very useful to dive deeper on those magic view classes of django/django-rest.

Thread Thread
 
marlysson profile image
Marlysson Silva • Edited

Some times yes.. But don't too deeper.. Awesome resources... There are too about the forms:

Classy Django Forms

Thread Thread
 
zorexsalvo profile image
Zorex Salvo

Haven't seen that yet. Thanks!

Collapse
 
pavonz profile image
Andrea Pavoni

Very nice! it looks like you're trying to solve a very common problem (at least, I share the same ones).

One suggestion: please, use english, otherwise it would be difficult to attract people/help (even casual, interested, ones).

;-)

Collapse
 
marlysson profile image
Marlysson Silva

Wow.. Great suggestions!!!

I'll try write my github project all in english ( to pratice and share more knowledge with others ) , really , write code in english open projects to the world

Thread Thread
 
pavonz profile image
Andrea Pavoni

Consider english a shared protocol for communication that helps to reach a wider audience :-)