DEV Community

Cover image for Software Dev Diary #12 - Progress (or lack thereof) Report
Devtonian
Devtonian

Posted on

Software Dev Diary #12 - Progress (or lack thereof) Report

Current stage: WordPress Battlefield

Due to work commitments, I'm fully focusing on WordPress and PHP. Most other activities or studies are on hold. Frustrating in a way, but work puts food on the table and roof over my head.

I'm quickly growing to dislike the plug-in clunkiness and bloat. It mirrors the package bloat well known to JavaScript and NPM but I find it even worse in this case. I very much doubt I'll go back to WordPress once this project is over or reaches maintenance mode.

On the other hand, I understand why it's become so successful over the years. It's just not my cup of tea and it doesn't quite match the direction I want to pursue.


Photo by Maria Krasnova on Unsplash

Top comments (0)