DEV Community

Cover image for Software Dev Diary #9 - Unexpectedly stable
Antonio
Antonio

Posted on

Software Dev Diary #9 - Unexpectedly stable

Current

Been a few days since my latest update. Busy days, stressful days, days when there's no time to waste time or get bored.

Sometimes you make plans or you envision things to go in a certain way, and for a moment it seems they just might, only for them to take an unexpected, disappointing turn at the last minute.

Such is life. These moments should be seen as gifts, in that they allow you to strengthen your ability to adapt to new circumstances, to use your creativity to come up with creative solutions to the twists and turns of your life's path.

What happened lately and what I've learned

  • It seems I'm going to have to build something using WordPress. I've never been drawn to it, although I'm aware it's still extremely popular and people have been making a good living out of it. I've managed to stay away from it all this time, but it seems the time has come for me and it to become acquainted. I put initial time into building a proof of concept for this project by using my usual tools and experimenting with some new ones, but it seems it was all for naught. In a way, the effort was not really wasted as I still learned some new things.
  • Although I was initially afraid of mentoring (on Exercism), I seem to have fallen into a positive flow. It's been a great feeling to help students who have just recently started out on their journey. I was able to spot bits and pieces susceptible of improvement and steer them in the direction of better habits and best practices. It's only been a few days, but I feel I've already grown a lot from it, and I'm grateful for the opportunity. The (positive) pressure is also pushing me to strengthen and expand my own knowledge. It keeps me on my toes and helps me not to become stagnant and complacent. I've already received positive feedback from some students and I look forward to mentoring more.
  • My study plan is going alright, but I feel like I could increase the pace even more. I have to carefully review my current habits to make sure I'm not going to burn out.

Lifestyle

  • All stable with gym, daily steps and diet (mostly). The occasional cheat meal helps me not to binge on carbs.
  • Sleep is decent but there is room for improvement there.
  • I've been reading a lot more (outside of work material). I found that they key is to have the right books within reach. After a hard day's work and studying, reading a dense philosophy text in the evening isn't going to be a realistic goal, but perhaps reading a nice auto/biography will be achievable?

How's your week been going?




Cover photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Top comments (1)

Collapse
 
yaw_19 profile image
Yaw

Cheers for the update Antonio.