DEV Community

Cover image for Software Dev Diary #13 - Progress Report / Weekly wrap-up
Devtonian
Devtonian

Posted on

Software Dev Diary #13 - Progress Report / Weekly wrap-up

Work ⚒️

  • On my work-triggered WordPress journey, I've decided to complete a Udemy course, as I found the official documentation to be somewhat lacking. The course is slightly longer than average, but goes quite in depth. I would normally prefer shorter ones, but this time I'm probably going to have to develop a custom plug-in for some of our requirements, so I'd rather follow something that will show me how things work under the hood.
    I'm not feeling very happy about the situation, given that I'm not planning on moving into WordPress development. This feels very much like I'm deviating from my career plan. One could object that all learning is useful and knowing WordPress is certainly not detrimental to one's career.

  • There's a certain frustration that comes from not really having a voice in the project I'm working on. Whereas previously I've had quite a say in choosing tech and project breakdown, this time I'm really the proverbial cog in the machine and just meant to be executing orders from above.

  • I'm covering some basic Project Management duties. Making sure the weekly meetings stay on track; minutes are recorded accurately and all actions are being executed and brought to completion in a timely fashion; people that have to be chased about their actions are chased etc - apart form being in charge of implementing the tech side (though not much freedom in that regard)

Learning 🧠

  • Work has eaten up most of my spare time lately, or it hasn't left me with much energy that I could devote to additional learning. I've gone quite a few day without any studying. Today, I've managed to complete a few challenges on Exercismthat were left open and I'm about to get back to studying for the CompTIA Project+ certification.

  • I didn't have any website up for my domain, so I quickly put a page together using Svelte and deployed it via Netlify. No particular reason for preferring Svelte apart from wanting to play with it. The page is extremely minimal, mostly black, featuring my name, role and a couple social links. Most personal portfolio pages look very much alike and are boring projects. I won't expand on it unless I can come up with some stimulating idea.

Wishing you a productive and/or peaceful weekend

On air 🎶


Cover pic by dylan nolte on Unsplash

Top comments (0)