DEV Community

Cover image for Music for Coding
Ashutosh Dash
Ashutosh Dash

Posted on • Updated on

Music for Coding

Okay, so before I start, I would confess that I don't listen to music for greater concentration, in fact listening music distracts me a lot more, but listening music keep me away from other noises which include sound from Television, someone talking on the phone etc.

So, I just thought of sharing with you my playlist. Not to mention, these are my preference so feel free to share your playlist in the comments.

  1. Interstellar Instrumental
    Ever since I came across this 1-hour long art-piece of Hans Zimmer, it's my go-to music for any important task.

  2. Inception Instrumental
    Talking about Interstellar, how can we forget to mention Inception. Another art piece by Hans Zimmer. I literally listen to the two in the loop.

  3. Batman Trilogy Soundtrack
    "Why do we fall, Bruce?"

  4. The Score
    Looking for some adrenaline booster and out of stock for Red Bull? Checkout The Score's youtube playlist and you would realise they really need some serious attention.
    Some of my recomendation:
    a) Stonger
    b) Unstoppable
    c) Born for this

These were mine preference. What are yours? Tell us in the comments.

Feel free to connect with me over LinkedIn and checkout my profile on GitHub.

Top comments (45)

Collapse
 
thefern profile image
Fernando B πŸš€

Looks like we got similar taste, I love anything Hans Zimmer. I don't think I've heard Batman before. Love tons of stuff to list it all.

Spotify:

  • Tron Legacy
  • lofi hip hop music
  • Lo-Fi beats
  • Brain Food
  • Max Cooper
Collapse
 
ashutoshdash profile image
Ashutosh Dash

Aah, thanks for reminding about TRON, amazing movie and amazing soundtrack

Collapse
 
fonta22 profile image
Fonta22

Agree w/ lo-fi πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
brammitch profile image
Brandon Mitchell

I listen to metal while programming. The beat keeps me motivated! Here's some of my favorites:

Power Metal

  • Alestorm
  • Gloryhammer
  • Memories of Old
  • Unleash the Archers

Black/Death/Thrash

  • Radamanthys
  • Skeletonwitch
  • Slugdge
  • Xoth

Melodic Death Metal

  • Aephanemer
  • Amon Amarth
  • Be'lakor
  • Nawabs of Destruction

Progressive Metal

  • Amorphis
  • Between the Buried and Me
Collapse
 
spacemonkey profile image
Mitch Pirtle

Some additions for this list:

  • Chris Turner
  • TesseracT
  • Killswitch Engage (early stuff)
  • Intervals
  • Sevendust
  • Oceans Ate Alaska
  • Termina
  • PURGE
  • Bury Tomorrow
  • Architects
  • Rogue
  • Jason Richardson
  • Anup Sastry
  • Fit for a King
Collapse
 
highasthedn profile image
highasthedn

Ah, a man of culture! My most listened album at the moment is Limbo from the Portuguese band Gaerea

Collapse
 
jhilgeman profile image
Jonathan H

I'm a soundtrack addict, as well. My personal coding music preferences tend to come from James Newton Howard (all the M. Night films, Waterworld, Treasure Planet, Dreamcatcher), Bear McCreary (Battlestar Galactica, Black Sails, Cloverfield Paradox), Thomas Newman (Shawshank Redemption, Meet Joe Black, WALL-E, etc), Rachel Portman (Cider House Rules, Benny & Joon, Chocolat), Philip Glass (Truman Show, The Hours, The Illusionist), Danny Elfman (Edward Scissorhands, The Family Man, first two Batman films), and of course, Zimmer (Crimson Tide, Dark Knight trilogy, Spanglish). And there are the one-offs like K-PAX from Edward Shearmur, Finding Neverland, etc...

Collapse
 
ashutoshdash profile image
Ashutosh Dash

thanks for sharing, i would definitely try these

Collapse
 
mdgeus profile image
MD Geus

When I need to focus on coding I listen to music. It helps me keep the noise out.
But the most important thing is that there is no singing or words. If you listen to singing you want to hear the words and try to understand it, but you need to write something which is in your head and we, people, are not very good in multitasking.
So, I pick the most neutral Techno, Mostly any liveset from Charlotte de WItte will do.
just beats, no complex melodies.
I guarantee that you are in the flow within 5 minutes :)

Collapse
 
ashutoshdash profile image
Ashutosh Dash

yeah, u r right, that's why I suggested instrumentals only

Collapse
 
mvelazquez profile image
Manuel VelΓ‘zquez

I usually listen to these three YouTube channels:

Collapse
 
paulshorey profile image
paul shorey

Love this thread! Thanks! Saving it for music listening ideas later.

(Jazz:)
Boogaloo Joe Jones β™  Psychedelic Jazz Guitar β™  1967
70s Japanese Jazz (Vol. 2)
Relax African Music | Jabali Spirit

(Ambient:)
Open Your Heart
Ambient Frequencies
Paul Minesweeper

(Noise rock:)
Pink album by Boris
No Closure album by Merzbow
I wonder if there's anyone else out there who finds "Japanese Noise Metal" genre relaxing and helpful to concentrate.

Links in the bottom of paulshorey.com/about

Collapse
 
crywolfe profile image
Gerry Wolfe • Edited

As a fellow developer I find instrumental music is really important when intentionally focusing.

I'm also a piano instrumental composer. I compose, play and record neo classical lite jazz and a number of my work colleagues listen to my music while coding. Give it a listen. Hope it helps you code. It helps me but I'm biased. πŸ˜€

soundcloud.com/crywolfe will have my complete playlist.

Collapse
 
lukethacoder profile image
Luke Secomb

Beautiful piano work Gerry. Should try and get your tracks onto Spotify.

Collapse
 
crywolfe profile image
Gerry Wolfe

Thanks Luke!

I just added this to my Jan 2021 goals. It is now on my to-do list to get on Spotify by February 1!

Collapse
 
paqman85 profile image
Glenn Paquette

Chillhop lowfi - it's fairly ambient music, little to no lyrics. I find it the perfect music to block out distractions and focus on work.

Collapse
 
gypsydave5 profile image
David Wickes

Yeesh.

  • J. S. Bach, 48 Preludes and Fugues aka Das Wohltemperierte Clavier. I like the JandΓ³ recording on Naxos for the piano, and I'm a fan of Esafani on the harpsichord. This is thinking music.

  • Wagner, Der Ring Des Nibelungen. All of it, obviously, if I need to program for sixteen hours straight. I notice a lot of metal fans here so I highly recommend Siegfried.

  • Telemann, 12 Fantasias for Solo Flute. I like the recordings by Frans BrΓΌggen.

  • Donnacha Dennehy, Tessellatum, a piece for viola, gamba and electronics. It's mad, you should listen to it.

  • Bop. A lot of bop. Bird and Diz stuff from New York. The Dial recordings would be a good bet.

  • The Passion of Reason by Dutch recorder trio Sour Cream. This is an odd album that goes from the late medieval to the Baroque, but really draws out the mad experiments with rhythm and pitch that went on. Oh and mixes it with bird song because why not.

That'll do.

Collapse
 
ianh profile image
ian h

The John Wick soundtrack can be quite excellent as well.

Collapse
 
highasthedn profile image
highasthedn

Yeah for sure. Here some of my favourites at the moment:
Uada (USA), Gaerea (Portugal), Negator (Germany), The Spirit (Germany), Night Crowned (Sweden). If you are also into Death Metal, maybe you want to give my band Malicious Curse a try (malicious-curse.de)
Hope you like some of the stuff, let me know 🀘

Collapse
 
highasthedn profile image
highasthedn

I love listening to Black Metal or podcasts when I'm working

Collapse
 
noxens profile image
Noxens

I really like ambiant stuff :
loscil ( youtu.be/OxIlV2iOCyc )
How To Disappear Completely ( youtu.be/vRbamSB35eg )
Brian Eno ( youtu.be/S16pPTtR0As )

And more rythmic stuff :
Aphex Twin ( youtu.be/Aloryfd5ipw )
Ricardo Villalobos ( youtu.be/w82WpAd1xsU )

Collapse
 
aarone4 profile image
Aaron Reese

Any of the Skyrim tracks on YouTube by getkeypur and Jeremy Soule. Keep my left brain busy so my right brain can concentrate

Collapse
 
audioboxer217 profile image
Scott Eppler

I like a lot of these, but one I didn't see listed is Stranger Things Vol 2

Collapse
 
ashutoshdash profile image
Ashutosh Dash

thats great too, I forgot why I forgot to add that