DEV Community

Cover image for Pick up a book
Bek Brace
Bek Brace

Posted on

Pick up a book

Hey!
Do you read ?
As a developer, engineer, CS student (I guess you do), programmer, data scientist, YouTuber (like myself) ... do you read ?
If you do, what do you read ?
Technical books ?
Novels ?
Autobiographies ?
Non-Fiction ?
Manga ?

I am currently reading:
1- Real World Haskell
2- La Horla - Guy De Maupassant
3- One Hundred Years of Solitude - Gabriel Garcia Marquez

Share with me :)
Don't forget to visit my YT Channel, you might find something interesting ;) search Bek Brace on YT, you'll find me !

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I tend to mostly read history/biography

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace

I love biography books too.
I am reading [Fyodor Dostoevsky: The Biography of the Greatest Russian Novelist] now as well, Dostoevsky for me is the one of the most important writers in history

Collapse
 
samejima profile image
Samejima

I recently graduated university in computer science.
I do read
Grokking Algorithms - Aditya Bhargava
Data Structures & Algorithms in Python - Michael Goodrich(and others)
The Art of Clean Code - Christian Mayer

and special bonus I read a manga called jujutsu kaisen :)))

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

I have a copy of Grokking Algorithms, by Aditya Bhargava. I liked the book!

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace

I love Jujutsu Kaisen :))

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel ๐Ÿ•ต๐Ÿปโ€โ™‚๏ธ Fayard

I'm in a French-Colombian couple so big kudos for the combo : Guy de Maupassant & Gabriel Garcia Marquez <3

For my part, I am reading Sublimes, a powerful world building fantasy, 750 pages - and that's just the first of three parts. Sublimes is written by Emma Schรผtz who is a dear friend publishing her first book and I'm both proud of her and delighted by her.

substack.jmfayard.dev/p/sublimes-c...

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace • Edited

Merci Jean-Michel :)
Je jetterai un coup d'oeuil sur "Sublimes" :) Merci pour la recommendation

Collapse
 
jd2r profile image
DR

I'm currently reading The Master Algorithm by Pedro Domingos, which I'm finding pretty technical but interesting nonetheless.

Earlier this week, I finished the Autobiography of Calvin Coolidge, which was a fantastic (though not coding-related) read.

I usually swing towards non-fiction for any recreational reading, but I have some favorite novels like The Twenty-One Balloons and Treasure Island as well :)

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace

I love Treasure Island :)

Collapse
 
amtzespinosa profile image
Alex Martรญnez

I am almost done with The Code Book: The Science of Secrecy from Ancient Egypt to Quantum Cryptography by Simon Singh.

Next I will read The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck by Mark Manson and Ghost in the wires by Kevin D. Mitnick.

I am not very into fiction!

Collapse
 
prsaya profile image
Prasad Saya

I have read Read World Haskell and One Hundred Years of Solitude . I have also read Awakening by Guy De Maupassant (liked it).

The Bookshop by Penelope Fitzgerald - I am currently reading. I just got a copy of Two Wheels Good by Jody Rosen (this one as I started bicycling nowadays after nearly 45 years!).

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen*ยฐโ€ข.ยธโ˜†

Of course I read! I am into non-fiction books. I have always had a thirst for knowledge. I like to learn about finance, business, philosophy and spirituality. I am currently reading Ikigai: The Japanese Secret to a Long and Happy Life by Hector Garcia and Francesc Miralles also I am about to pick up a book on business.

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace

wow!
I love everything related to Japanese culture, I have studied Hiragana and Katakana, I know around 140 Kanji characters as well, and speaking of Japanese culture, one of my all-time favorite books is 1Q48 by Haruki Murakami.
I like your picks, great to see some who don't only enrich their tech knowledge, but also in different aspects like philosophy and business!

Collapse
 
canro91 profile image
Cesar Aguirre

I tend to interleave between fiction and non-fiction. On my to-read list:

  • the programmer's brain
  • 7 Habits of Effective People
  • Designing data-intensive applications
Collapse
 
skyloft7 profile image
Mohammed

I just finished reading American Prometheus. I think there are some interesting parallels and lessons to learn about the power of technology in our hands as developers :)

Collapse
 
x64x2 profile image
Erik

The Stranger by Camus

Collapse
 
bekbrace profile image
Bek Brace

I love Albert Camus, studied some of his works in school

Collapse
 
uncommonnayana profile image
Nayana • Edited

I'm not into self-help but currently reading So good, they can't ignore you & finding it pretty interesting!