DEV Community

Cover image for Side Project Sunday! Hacking on anything?
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Side Project Sunday! Hacking on anything?

Give a quick description of what you're up to and what some recent challenges have been.

Top comments (93)

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Making electronic music in Python!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Wow, neat!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Super cool! Have you been using Sonic Pi? EDIT: Nevermind, I read down thread and saw what libraries ya are using!

Anyway, if you put any tunes together that you'd like to share please come over to my post and drop them in the thread if you would!

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

Thanks! I will!

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Nice, what libraries are you using? I did a bit with JS some years back and was kinda cool

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea

nice! im using python for this, the libraries are just numpy and scipy.io
the github repo is here just in case u want to check it out

Collapse
 
etienneburdet profile image
Etienne Burdet

Raising an 18 month old. Quite some languages to learn, lot of hesitation on the tech stack. Should be done in 20 years.

(Seriously, I wish I add time for a side project, but... Life 😅)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Should be done in 20 years.

20 years to prototype that software side project in a notepad. 😋

Collapse
 
essanousy profile image
mohamed es-sanousy

Same here, can never find time for anything else, good luck with your project it's worth it ;)

Collapse
 
gulshanaggarwal profile image
Gulshan Aggarwal

Working on Cover Builder so that we can all generate cover image for our dev. to blogs. Would you like to join ?

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Ooh super cool !

Collapse
 
calebdre profile image
Caleb Lewis

Yes, please!

Collapse
 
gulshanaggarwal profile image
Gulshan Aggarwal • Edited

Oh, nice. Let's connect over Discord and make some fun😎
Discord Id - Gulshanaggarwal#5950

Collapse
 
pandademic profile image
Pandademic

I've been working on quite a lot , actually.
Here are few(the one's I've worked on most recently):

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Neat!

Collapse
 
pandademic profile image
Pandademic

Thanks. Btw , I released the dotfile manager to 0.1 earlier , like I planed!

Collapse
 
s1hofmann profile image
Simon Hofmann

Investigating weird behaviour of macOS for my desktop automation framework nut.js.

Once that's done I'll dabble on some UI prototype for a new project I'm thinking of.

Collapse
 
pavelkeyzik profile image
Pavel Keyzik

I'm building my personal Expense Tracking App and I was building a form with custom select, date picker and I wanted to be able do everything by using keyboard, so I had some issues with events, when you hit Enter while selecting something, and your form is submitted. The cool thing I've learned is form.requestSubmit().

Collapse
 
jaysonjphillips profile image
Jayson J. Phillips

Switching my site from Gatsby and hosted on Netlify to Remix and hosted on vercel.

Also working on programming NFC tags for an app idea

Collapse
 
nikitakoselev profile image
Nikita Koselev

I've made devlake.apache.org/docs/Plugins/re... run locally. Next is to watch few hours more of the amazing "intro to Gradle" by the amazing Ken Kousen. Hopefully that will get me in shape to checkout the main Gradle project and start contributing.

Collapse
 
baransel profile image
Baransel

New feeds for Just Five News

justfive.news/

Collapse
 
luccabiagi profile image
Lucca Biagi

Working in some geolocation projects for my portifolio (and of course for some dev posts 🤩🚀)

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato • Edited

worked on things I made before!

  • svelte-vertical-timeline

Svelte components for creating a vertical timeline⏳⏳

github.com/K-Sato1995/svelte-verti...

  • react-toc

Light weight react component for creating a table of contents from the given markdown text⚡⚡

github.com/K-Sato1995/react-toc

  • focus-sound

Productivity site built with svelte-kit. You can listen to ambient sounds to help u focus👨‍💻👨‍💻

github.com/K-Sato1995/focus-sounds

Collapse
 
njmsaikat profile image
Saikat Roy • Edited

Loved your focus-sound project. That feels wondeful.

Collapse
 
k_penguin_sato profile image
K-Sato

Thank you ! appreciate it!

Collapse
 
bacloud22 profile image
aben

From CommonJS to ESM!

Collapse
 
maddy profile image
Maddy

Writing an article for my blog

techwithmaddy.com/

Collapse
 
calebdre profile image
Caleb Lewis

What's the article about?

Collapse
 
maddy profile image
Maddy

How to replace a JPA Entity with a DTO in Spring Boot. Coming out tomorrow. 😁

Thread Thread
 
calebdre profile image
Caleb Lewis

Good luck!

Thread Thread
 
mephi profile image
mephi

What do you mean by replace? The topics sounds very interesting, I'm looking forward for the article.

Thread Thread
 
maddy profile image
Maddy

Here's the link to the article: techwithmaddy.com/replace-persiste...

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

Currently I am not working on a Side Project, but I am interested to work on something together with somebody else. It should not be something big or does not have to be finished, it would be more about developing and discussing together to become better.

Collapse
 
djhemath profile image
DjHemath

Shall we work together? I'm about to start something that's not gonna add high value. But it'll come in handy for persons who wanna automate and track every little day-to-day things.

Let's get connected over twitter. I live @djhemath in twitter.

Collapse
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

Please keep in mind, that I am currently looking for some kind of possibility for talking or writing about coding stuff. I do not have the time to invest into any kind of "side project" at the moment (do not want to disappoint people, when I would have to stop contributing). If you feel like any kind of exchange would help you and you would enjoy it, then I am interested. This is also for everybody else reading this. Also can anybody recommend any online tool for this kind of collaboration, like writing or calling should be possible and easiest would be with browser?

Thread Thread
 
djhemath profile image
DjHemath

Ammm, my comment was about to be a root comment. But somehow it ended up as a reply to your comment. And I didn't notice. :-|

Thread Thread
 
curiousdev profile image
CuriousDev

Ok, no worries!

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Another week playing with my "OS" in the browser. daedalOS

Latest bug was my wallpaper stopped working for Astronomy Picture of the Day and I eventually figured out that "Picture" of the day can sometimes actually be a video. My decision for when this happens was to load the YouTube thumbnail as the wallpaper.

github.com/DustinBrett/daedalOS/co...