DEV Community

Cover image for Side Project Sunday! What do you have going on?
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Side Project Sunday! What do you have going on?

Give a quick description of what you're up to and what some recent learnings have been. This series has been great so far, keep it up!

Top comments (43)

Collapse
 
djtai profile image
David Taitingfong

I'm a daily user of spotify-tui & there are a few bugs I'd like to try and fix, so I've been trying to learn Rust via "the book". It's a bit too in-depth for me right now so I may switch to the "Rust by Example" and go back to "the book" later.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That's awesome. Really great reason to learn Rust πŸ˜†

Collapse
 
canolcer profile image
Can Olcer • Edited

This weekend I have been working on adding a new feature to Mapzy, an open-source and self-hostable store finder (there's also a hosted version). Specifically, I'm building a feature we call "Sync API" - once done, it will allow users to host their locations on their own database and synchronize with Mapzy by calling this new API endpoint.

This is useful if you already keep a database of your locations, and don't want to manually enter and update them on Mapzy, but still take advantage of the embedded Mapzy map on your website without building your own Mapbox integration.

I'm not finished yet, but figured out most unknowns, so it should be a smooth ride from here.

Collapse
 
bradtaniguchi profile image
Brad

Updating my github "template" repo with bug fixes.

Ya know so I can "do stuff faster" and make more incomplete projects, rather than finish what I already have!

Collapse
 
ekqt profile image
Hector Sosa

Hahaha that's a good one. That's 90% the story of our lives. Incomplete projects.

Collapse
 
achie72 profile image
TΓ³th BΓ©la

Added a new blog post to my Ko-fi page about everything I did for my hobby retro platformer game! It has a lot more details there, but here is a quick rundown:

Did some bug fixes and basically created a camera system which let's you move inside a buffer zone without dragging the camera along, helping with motion sickness and just the general feel of the game.

Also did everything to wire in the the Power-Ups, the Dash and the Fireball, into the game so now you can pick up the corresponding items and expand your toolkit to beat the maps!

Image description

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard

I had to write quite a few GitHub Actions workflow in YAML in the last years,
and I find that the service itself is amazing,
but that "programming in YAML" part sucks a lot.

Why not using a real programming language? I wonder

Well someone had the same idea as I have and we have a working solution for writing GitHub workflows in a type-safe programming language, which then outputs a 100% correct YAML workflow.
Pretty excited about this and wanted to write about it, on the other hand procrastination also has a strong opposite effect :)

Collapse
 
abm_dev profile image
Auroiah Morgan

Bruh... I cannot wait.. lol

Collapse
 
manu_tech profile image
Emmanuel Larbi

Working on an API project and I'm all 😡.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I just learned how to do dynamic github matrix actions to build every version of markata into a docker image.

Collapse
 
abdulbasit313 profile image
Abdul Basit

Improving my problem solving skills, working on react native project.
Published a new article on my article site

Collapse
 
mickorbik profile image
Mick Orbik

I've been working on a cross-platform, cross-language API generation framework. The purpose is for reducing the amount of boilerplate glue code required to write and implement API services in one language, to be consumed from a different one. You can pick one of two implementation languages (Rust or C++), and a number of different consumer languages (C#, Java, C++, Rust, etc.), and generate all of the boilerplate code required, including Interfaces / Traits to implement the services in the language of your choice.

Think Djinni, but built with my own C ABI layer and DSL to fit my needs.

Collapse
 
dhruvgarg79 profile image
Dhruv garg

That sounds very interesting. I am curious to know, how you are implementing this. will you be posting some articles or code of your project?

Collapse
 
spiderpig86 profile image
Stanley Lim

Still working on my CSS framework, Cirrus, from time to time :)

Just launched Cirrus Start, a project to get any web project up and running in no time.

Collapse
 
chrisvasqm profile image
Christian Vasquez

Going through some of the codelabs in the Android Developer Training site to help me brush up on some topics I never sat down to learn. I'm a bit surprised how quick and easy some of the lessons are and earning badges adds some gamification to the process of learning that I personally enjoy a lot πŸ€“

Collapse
 
ingosteinke profile image
Ingo Steinke

As the past Sunday has seen one of biggest heatwaves hitting Germany so far, and as I' m lucky not needing to work on a paid project this week, it's not Side Project Sunday, but rather Side Project Monday for me. I have updated my series about learning in public with another story about hitting the wall trying to make a simple Symfony/Shopware plugin work according to the official tutorial.

This is dedicated to everyone struggling to learn: don't give up! Even as a senior developer, programming since the 1980's, I admit that sometimes it can be hard to learn something new or even fix a bug should have been easy and obvious but turned out that it was not: Obstacles at the end of the tunnel: trying to finish my tutorial plugin

Collapse
 
subbramanil profile image
Subbu Lakshmanan • Edited

Learning Material design 3 & Updated my side project app with day/night themes.

Day Theme

night theme

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff • Edited

I've been experimenting with segment and grid displays, creating custom number/character displays. Quite interesting.

I also was playing with logic in Minecraft, using redstone. I built a 4 bit Binary to Hex converter, which then sends the 4 bits (write) to a register which uses the registry value to display a number between 0-F in a 3x5 grid display. I also attached a binary counter to the system, which counts from 0000 to 1111, then starts again.

I've been having a lot of fun creating logic circuits in minecraft.

PD: I'm now trying to get serialized data working on Minecraft. Some complex stuff to implement in a block game :P I will keep hacking at it though!

Collapse
 
ekqt profile image
Hector Sosa

Guys, this weekend was hella fun for me. I experimented using two different databases: Did a little follow-along project with Prisma and PlanetScale that I'd really recommend (resource here), also experimented with User Authentication powered by Supabase (repo with demo here), and also made a demo on Intersection Observer API (repo and demo here) using React and Next.js.

Hope you all had a great weekend! Cheers!