DEV Community

Cover image for What new software libraries and tools etc. are you excited about?
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

What new software libraries and tools etc. are you excited about?

What's newly released or coming soon in terms of new things, new versions with new features, etc. are you most excited about or looking forward to?

Top comments (40)

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

Tauri: A framework for building tiny, blazing fast binaries for all major desktop platforms. Tauri apps currently leverages Cocoa/WebKit on macOS, gtk-webkit2 on Linux and MSHTML (IE10/11) or Webkit via Edge on Windows.

Think electron but lighter.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Cooool!

Collapse
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee

Interesting. I'm always keeping an eye on Electron alternatives, but this one either slipped by me or I forgot about it.

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

They changed the name of the project, maybe you knew them with the old name (which I don't remember). I think the idea of using the "native webview" of the operating system is not new but the things they want to put on top make it look quite nice.

Thread Thread
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee

I remember one along those lines a few years ago that went nowhere.

Thread Thread
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee • Edited

As someone who builds apps targeting web, mobile, and desktop from the same codebase using React Native, the webview portion is a much simpler (not necessarily better) answer than desktop primitives (e.g. nodegui). If Tauri is light enough without bugginess (I seem to recall some issues with gtk-webkit2 before), then the performance difference between native and webview might be miniscule enough to make this viable.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

I'm really interested in trying out Svelte, seen lot of positive comments about it. Though I already have a lot on my plate but it be interesting to toy around with it now that I have to change frameworks at work.

Collapse
 
wulymammoth profile image
David

It's just a view library -- almost vanilla JS. Easy to start with a single small component even in an existing application that uses another framework

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Ohhh nice! so you're saying is a library like React but is simple enough to get it progressively added to an existing application. That's even more exciting.

Thread Thread
 
wulymammoth profile image
David

Yeah, I think that they’ll just be different extensions with an added config in Webpack to transpile it and added to your bundle if you’re already using React or Vue. Svelte currently has configurations for Webpack and Rollup

Collapse
 
ajkerrigan profile image
AJ Kerrigan

VisiData 2.0. Feels a bit out of place among some of the other responses here, I'm a sucker for a solid command line tool though. While at a glance it looks like a data science tool, it's more of a quick interactive tabular interface over whatever data you happen to be working with. Big CSV, nested JSON API response, tab-delimited output piped in from another tool... with an escape hatch to raw Python. Whee :).

Collapse
 
andrewpmiller profile image
Andrew Miller

This is wild!

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I have been really wanting to check it out, just haven't taken the time.

Collapse
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee • Edited

React Router v6, for universal web and mobile (and desktop). Much lighter than v5, more SSR/SSG friendly, soon to be easier to animate, with Reach's accessibility gains on the web.

React Navigation is an amazing project, but I think RR is the better universal solution (and far less kitchen sink) even if it's not the one officially sanctioned by React Native or Expo.

Collapse
 
seanmclem profile image
Seanmclem • Edited

But react navigation works with web now.

Collapse
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee

Ish. And it's a very kitchen sink solution precisely because it's an entire navigation library, rather than just a router.

Collapse
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee • Edited

One more, and I'll shut up. RXDB*, not only as an offline-first, syncing NoSQL solution, but as (at least a major part of) an always-synced state management solution which hides much of the complexity of RXJS while offering the benefits of observables.

*Even without other current adapters in addition to the now-split-out PouchDB adapter, you aren't forced to use a CouchDB backend. Either by using a LevelDown adapter, or leveraging its alternative GraphQL replication, you can use a DBaaS backend or any other DB you can connect (Hasura recently shared how to use it with a Postgres backend).

Collapse
 
pedrobuzzi profile image
Pedro Buzzi Filho

Flutter!
I have a background as Frontend Developer using Angular and Backend Developer using Python and NodeJs, but know Flutter is becoming my new passion and all my experience with the others languages and frameworks is speeding up the learning process.

Collapse
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee

I'm glad Flutter is driving cross-platform forward, but the biggest nonstarter for me is having to worry about finding Dart developers for small, bootstrapping startups.

I love the amount of innovation it's driving so quickly, though.

Collapse
 
tylerlwsmith profile image
Tyler Smith

Vue 3 looks incredible.

Also, while not new, XState has been fun to play with recently. It's more verbose than I'd like, but it's the only state management thing I've used that has a not-hacky answer for asynchronous data, and that alone is worth it.

I'm not converting all of my code to XState yet, but I'm never doing a multipart form in React without it again.

Collapse
 
pj profile image
Paul Johnson

Not really new, but I'm pretty excited about learning F# computation expressions. Basically a way of building custom syntax into a language, think monad syntax but more powerful: fsharpforfunandprofit.com/series/c....

Collapse
 
wulymammoth profile image
David

Phoenix LiveView in the Elixir community... is, in a way, bringing back isomorphism the way that the JavaScript community promised but never really got to - we live in a world where Moore's Law no longer applies and having your cake and eating it, too, may have once seemed like a pipe-dream, but perhaps, no more :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Chow Yun-fat giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
abhishekamralkar profile image
Abhishek Anand Amralkar

Rust, Go, Clojure and Kubernetes.

Collapse
 
stereoplegic profile image
Mike Bybee

At one point I would have said React Spring for the same reason as React Router, but I feel like it's so much more focused on web than mobile that it's hard to truly call universal, and 9.0 development seems to have stalled.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

kedro

Kedro is an open-source Python framework that applies software engineering best practices to data and machine-learning pipelines. You can use it, for example, to optimise the process of taking a machine learning model into a production environment. You can use Kedro to organise a single-user project running on a local environment, or collaborate in a team on an enterprise-level project.

I love how easy it is to hack and customize it to what I need it to do. I don't write any buggy read/write code that "works on my machine". I just toss a bunch of python functions into a big pile. It gives me a great API to slice into the pipeline and run everything in the right order.

Collapse
 
briankephart profile image
Brian Kephart

I’m excited/frustrated waiting for new versions of Stimulus and Turbolinks. There’s supposed to be all manner of goodness regarding partial rendering.

I also think StimulusReflex looks really cool.

Collapse
 
brandonskerritt profile image
Autumn

I've been using Rust a lot, and I LOVE it! :D

Collapse
 
jalal246 profile image
Jalal πŸš€

i am planning to learn Rust but not sure if it is the right decision comparing to Go

Collapse
 
brandonskerritt profile image
Autumn

Go seems cool, but at the end of the day Go is a high level programming language and Rust is a low level one. It's like comparing C++ with Python :)

I'm building somethings that require raw speed, so Rust is the right one for me :D

Thread Thread
 
jalal246 profile image
Jalal πŸš€ • Edited

i actually googled "is go high-level programming language" and i am not sure why it's considered so. what i know, development in rust is slower comparing to go and there isn't any proven benchmark says rust is faster :D

Edit: Ciphey looks amazing project

Collapse
 
explorer14 profile image
Aman Agrawal

Blazor seems cool! been playing around with it a bit and so far I am liking what I am seeing. It may not the new thing but it certainly deserves some attention I feel.