DEV Community

Cover image for Beyond Work, What Are Your Goals for the Next 5 Years?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

Beyond Work, What Are Your Goals for the Next 5 Years?

Get a glimpse into the daily experiences, work routines, and unique perspectives of tech professionals, both novice and experienced alike, in "A Day in the Life."

What's a non-work-related goal you'd like to accomplish in the next five years?

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (13)

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard • Edited

I gave up on having goals
Now I try to live not in Tomorrows but in Today
Today is the best day of the week, give it a try !
Life is a Picture, But You Live in a Pixel β€” Wait But Why

Collapse
 
khairunnisaas profile image
Khairunnisaas

most realistic comment so far! people busy planning their future and forgot to have fun... remember YOLO!

Collapse
 
jmfayard profile image
Jean-Michel πŸ•΅πŸ»β€β™‚οΈ Fayard • Edited

I think that planning is good
but you should spend less time planning for the future
and more time planning today and this week !

Collapse
 
danbailey profile image
Dan Bailey

European vacation (starts Thursday).
Go snowboarding in Japan.
Get married (pending).
Buy a new house (also pending).
Win the Master's state road race championship for my age group (cycling).
Ride/finish Paris-Brest-Paris (cycling).
Finish the novel I'm writing (underway).
Retire? (Big maybe on that.)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I'm getting into golf. I'm a bit too new to have a great sense of what I should shoot for within 5 years, but I think I could shoot for something pretty ambitious.

Collapse
 
renancferro profile image
Renan Ferro

Many things, such as being more active in the community, improves my skills, creating new friendships around the world and a big dream that I have that one day I will achieve with programming, but I will keep this a secret πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
steffennielse20 profile image
Steffen Nielsen

Since i became a father earlier this year, i have not tought about goals or the future. The time i was used to have is now gone, but i love everyday of my life. Of course i would love to better at what im doing, but being a dad is the biggest acheivement in my life and nothing can ever beat that.

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai

In the far distant future, I want to create video games. At the moment, I don't know how. It's just that I want to.

Collapse
 
bradydavies profile image
BradyDavies • Edited

Great topic! In the next 5 years, I'm aiming to tick off some big bucket list items. Skydiving, exploring a new continent, and finally learning to play the guitar! Of course, career goals are in there too, but adventures and personal growth are high on my list.

Collapse
 
randellbrianknight profile image
Randell Brian Knight

I'm hoping to retire in 5 years, but it might take a bit longer. 😎

Collapse
 
jimmymcbride profile image
Jimmy McBride

Build my personal brand. Get better at writing and creating better content that people with similar interests as me have. Linux, servers, security, applications, tools and more!

Collapse
 
annaofcryptosphere profile image
Anna

Higher Good & Happiness (Both are interlinked, though)
And Happiness begins with living in the moment, carrying out steps that lead you to your every next goal!

Collapse
 
salted_fish2023 profile image
emarc Dave abellera

create personal Ai Assistant