DEV Community

Cover image for What's the Typical Tech Industry Job Tenure?
Sloan the DEV Moderator for CodeNewbie

Posted on

What's the Typical Tech Industry Job Tenure?

Get a glimpse into the daily experiences, work routines, and unique perspectives of tech professionals, both novice and experienced alike, in "A Day in the Life."

Have you ever wondered: how long do folks in tech typically stay in their roles? How long have you been in your current position and how long do you plan to stay?

Follow the CodeNewbie Org and #codenewbie for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

So I often get 'that look' because I've been in my current day job for over 12 years. OK, I admit that I'm not one that likes to change and shuffle the paperwork just to stay on the curve, but I also found a tight group of people that feel more like family than co-workers.

I know I'm the exception.

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

What is "that look" ? and what does it mean in words ?
show us a pic lol that could give a good example of how people look you.
Plus tell us more bout what you do.
I been finding your posts and i like how short they are but they always leave me asking more questions lol.
Or maybe that is the trick!!

Collapse
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

"That look", that says something like. Why have you not changed every few years like a lot of people do in the tech industry. For some reason, staying at the same company for more than five years seems to be something unusual in the technology field, and this has never made sense to me.

If you find what makes you happy, it should not have an expiration date in my opinion.

I wish I had a trick by the way :) I'd use it more often LOL

I'm just one person trying to help move myself and everyone else forward to do better and make a difference while we can. I find a lot of the time I want to contribute but never find the time for more lengthy in-depth discussions. I'm trying to fix that with my Podcast and the interviews (Compile Swift Podcast).

I'm a mobile app engineering manager just trying to make things better and useful for folks.

I appreciate you asking and your kind words.

Thread Thread
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

you are an awesome person and inspiring.
And I do not think you are doing anything wrong just because everyone else does not understand.
Doing what makes you happy is good for the mind. Good for the heart and good for the soul. And when it is also contributing to society in a positive and or constructive way then its worth every minute and every second.
And if it also pays the bills well.
Then what is there to worry about ?

Thread Thread
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

We are all awesome, thanks :)

Collapse
 
theaccordance profile image
Joe Mainwaring

So this is purely speculative on my part but I would wager the average tenure is between 2 and 5 years.

I’m nearing a decade in my current role which is an outlier comparing myself against my network.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yeah, this is probably true. Most people try to stick it out at a place for at least a year if they can, and it's probably relatively uncommon to stay so long as to pull the average way over 5.

I'd say that "typical" probably is something which needs to be examined beyond "average" though.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Mostly 2-3 years on the same role. I know folks that every 2 years change company and either try to get a higher-level role or move to a different area.

Collapse
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

Is that really healthy ? and as for the cv is that also healthy ?
Back in the days people would be appreciated for stating at a company longer. These days is the opposite.

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Yeah, back in the days to what was the case. But I remember even before 2020 the running joke was that people outgrew their roles in half the time. The average tenure was 8 years and then 4 and then 2, etc.

I know the stories of several friends and classmates who got better roles and almost doubled their salary by changing companies.

Thread Thread
 
overflow profile image
overFlow

Yeah I kind of realise that !!! That is the trend!!! Because the next company has to make it worth your while to join them!!!
But I'm from the old Old school people were rewarded for hard work and loyalty and experience. Not for changing oles in less than two years!!!
If you ask me personally i feel that 2 years is till to little experience for any role.
You nee 4 to 5 years at least till you can change to the next level.

Thread Thread
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

I honestly miss those days. Even if I never got to experience them.
But yeah, I agree. 2 years is too little for a role.
People now be changing roles more often than they change partners.
It's a sad reality tbh.

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

I feel like that’s a question with different answers based on the age of the person answering. The juniors at my current job (early 20’s) can’t fathom that my (late 40’s) “shortest” dev job was the better part of a decade…and I left that and solo’ed for 20. I’ve only been with my current employer for a year, but I have no plans to leave…meanwhile, at least one of them is already looking to springboard…

As an aside, they think it’s hilarious that I started working in dev while most of their parents were still in high school…it’s hard being the “old man” surrounded by a bunch of “kids”… 😂

Collapse
 
nehamaity profile image
Neha

I'm 3 years in at a company and I feel like I'm done, I have been for a while. Unfortunately the tech industry 2020-2023 has been crappy so I haven't been able to jump ship just yet

Collapse
 
mrjohnsmith profile image
John Smith

Hmmm, for me 2 to 3 years if company growing with new trends may be than 4 years