DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Michael Tharrington for The DEV Team

Posted on

What was your win this week?

Hey folks 👋

Hope y'all enjoy your weekends!

Looking back on this past week, what was something you were proud of accomplishing?

All wins count — big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Enjoying nature 🍃

A sasquatch wearing sunglasses and a beanie is chilling in the woods, leaning against a tree stump and drinking coffee, the words "relax" "read" and "chill" pop up separately on the pic

Top comments (63)

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

My first article on freeCodeCamp got published! 🥰

It's one of my big wins because freeCodeCamp helped me a lot at the beginning of my webdev learning journey. So it feels good to give back to the community. ✨️

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Way to go! 🥳

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thank you, @dumebii! 😄

Collapse
 
ranggakd profile image
Retiago Drago

Can you share on how to publish your first article on freecodecamp?

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati • Edited

First, I had to apply to become a writer at freeCodeCamp. After got accepted, then I wrote the draft of the article. Then they reviewed and published the article.

Collapse
 
barrymichaeldoyle profile image
Barry Michael Doyle

Whoop whoop! Congratulations!

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thanks, Barry! 😄

Collapse
 
ewenikeemmanue4 profile image
Ewenike Chukwuemeka Emmanuel👨‍💻

Amazing, freeCodeCamp helped me too

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Wooohoo! That is seriously awesome, Ayu. Major congrats! 🙌

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

Thank you, Michael! 😄

Collapse
 
andypiper profile image
Andy Piper • Edited

Wrote about and made some code contributions to Postmarks, social bookmarks for the Fediverse! And then, we went camping 🌿 🏕️

a blue tent lit from within, in a field at night

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Loving the setup! Hope ya enjoy the great outdoors, Andy. 🏕🚙

Also, excellent #fediverse post — love the idea of postmarks and being able to share bookmarks. 🙌

This reminds me that I previously relayed a feature request for adding a similar mechanic to DEV in this GitHub discussion called Allow folks to share reading lists. I think I may have to go back to this one and advocate for it. 🙂

It would offer a brand new way for folks to be able to interact with content... build a link list of posts you like and share it. Plus, it would jive well with our current reading list. It's a win-win... the person building the list can organize their reads and hopefully get some cred for sharing a cool list + the authors of the posts in the list get to have their posts shared in a collection and seen by more folks.

Collapse
 
youngfra profile image
Fraser Young

Nice!

Collapse
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo • Edited

I created the react-state-factory node module, which helps to make the useReducer great again. You can read more about it here:

react-state-factory

Collapse
 
youngfra profile image
Fraser Young

Cool!

Collapse
 
pengeszikra profile image
Peter Vivo • Edited

Thx, the version 0.0.7 is works with require too. Need to fixing the package.json and vite.config.ts for that.

Collapse
 
srbhr profile image
Saurabh Rai
Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Me - 1 september in the last thread What was your win this week?
[...]
Have MOOOOORE plants 🌱🥰

Got mooore plants 🌱😆

Collapse
 
avanichols profile image
Ava Nichols

Took most of the week off!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Ooooo nice! I just got back from some time off recently too. Had last Friday + Monday and Tuesday off... I went to the Outer Banks (the beach) and it was so refreshing! 😌

Collapse
 
barrymichaeldoyle profile image
Barry Michael Doyle

Did you find any treasures there? ;)

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Haha!! Not this time around. Saw a lotta metal detectors out there sweeping the coastline though. 🙂

Thread Thread
 
barrymichaeldoyle profile image
Barry Michael Doyle

I guess you better go back again then ;)

Collapse
 
ranggakd profile image
Retiago Drago

From this

my wish

Into this

my trending post

Also, I started learning Dart and Flutter this week! Hope to ship my own SaaS one day!

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Congratulations!! 🥳

Collapse
 
ranggakd profile image
Retiago Drago

Thank you 😉

Collapse
 
michaelpb profile image
michaelb

I finally am getting attention on a side project I have been working on for years! I haven't been very good about promoting it, granted, but it's still good to start seeing other people using it.

Collapse
 
freezernick profile image
Nick

The project looks interesting, I hope to play around with it soon!

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh that's awesome to hear, Michael!

modulo.js sounds really cool btw, glad it's getting some well-deserved attention. 🙌

Collapse
 
dvddpl profile image
Davide de Paolis

definitely speaking at the AWS Community Day in Munich!!! speaking at a conference was one of my early goals ✅
and even beside being a speaker, just being there and getting to know great people was a win for itself!
Image description

Collapse
 
vulcanwm profile image
Medea • Edited

I've got another brilliant idea for a project and made a poster.
I've also launched a waitlist for the project so anyone interested can join!

poster
Waitlist

Collapse
 
svemaraju profile image
Srikanth
  • Took a half day on Friday, just to slow down and relax.
  • Refactored a messy piece of code that was giving me stress. Mainly due to the said messy code was written by me. I was trying to follow my own advice., and it was a good choice.
  • Resumed my learning journey with Go
Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

I finished a whole 6-week program and even though I didn't complete the project, I submitted the weekly updates made it all the way to demo day (which is tomorrow Sept 16).

Also, I'm not totally sick after all that odyssey!

Collapse
 
ksolomon profile image
Keith Solomon

Bashed together a shell script (see what I did there? 😂) to automate some of the manual processes that were tripping up the juniors when starting a new project. It’s not done yet (still have a few more actions to integrate), but as a 1.0, it totally works.

Collapse
 
snaka profile image
Shinji NAKAMATSU

Joined DEV's Discord for moderators!

Image description

I solved a problem related to SSR in Next.js and published an article based on it.

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

Yaaay!

Collapse
 
respect17 profile image
Kudzai Murimi

I received a swag from Offerzen
Image description

Image description

Collapse
 
barrymichaeldoyle profile image
Barry Michael Doyle

Ah yes! You too are collecting OfferZen T-shirts ;) My wife is starting to get sick of seeing only OfferZen shirts in my cupboards, but I proceed to wear all the swag anyway!

Collapse
 
respect17 profile image
Kudzai Murimi

Yah l like those tshrts!