DEV Community

Cover image for What Would You Do If You Knew You Could Not Fail?
dev.to staff for The DEV Team

Posted on

What Would You Do If You Knew You Could Not Fail?

Our psychological barriers often hinder our commitment due to fear. Once this is removed from the equation, what significant steps would you choose to pursue? Share your thoughts on what you'd do if you weren't afraid of failure! πŸ’ͺ🏽 Follow the DEVteam for more discussions and online camaraderie!

Top comments (15)

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal • Edited

Both success and failure are two sides of the same coin. One cannot exist without the other.

It took me just five years or more to finally come to a point where I'm not afraid of failing. I've failed so many times and ended up in serious situations.
Trust me, it is extremely hard to not be afraid of failing.

Freedom to fail is the best thing you can have :D
I won't give up. NO MATTER WHAT.

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy πŸŽ–οΈ • Edited

What you would do if you weren't afraid of failure, and what you would do knowing you could not fail are two entirely different things. Which one are you actually asking?

Collapse
 
anmolbaranwal profile image
Anmol Baranwal

Share your thoughts on what you'd do if you weren't afraid of failure!

It's the first one from what I can understand from the context.

Collapse
 
jonrandy profile image
Jon Randy πŸŽ–οΈ • Edited

The post title contradicts it! 🀷

Collapse
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich

Failure is the fun part. Failure is how we learn. Succeeding all the time would get really boring.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Y'know those wingsuits? I'd probably take one of those out for a spin through a really beautiful place out in nature.

A person flying in a wing suit through red looking canyons. The camera is attached to their helmet and facing them so it's an odd perspective where we see a close up of their face and their body looks proportionately smaller.

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

If I had unlimited funds I'd start up a company to make silly mobile games.
I know there are much better uses for such resources, but that's too high pressure for me.
In the land of no consequences I'd want to help people have fun.

Collapse
 
anitaolsen profile image
Anita Olsen πŸ’œ • Edited

You can raise the funds needed to start up a company to make "silly" mobile games. Actually, you might not even need to spend a single dime to make that happen.

It does not have to cost anything to help people have fun (or to have fun). I have come over so many big city people who claim that it costs money to have fun. The first 8 years of my life, I lived in a village, and later I have been living for years in small towns. I know it is possible to have fun without spending any money. I find people who claim that having fun costs money to have a severe lack of imagination.

I advise you so not be held back by anything, not even money. Where there is a will, there is a way. Make silly mobile games and help people have fun! ✨

Collapse
 
mellen profile image
Matt Ellen

Thank you for the positivity

Collapse
 
bugmagnet profile image
Bruce Axtens

Wake up!

Collapse
 
dumebii profile image
Dumebi Okolo

If I were 100% convinced that if I did this, it will work, I will apply to/for my dream job at my dream company. πŸ˜…

Collapse
 
yatesdev profile image
Chris Yates

I'd do my damndest to get back into university. I failed so hard my first time and tanked my GPA, and now I can't qualify for financial aid. I think theres a part of me that is scared of going back too.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This is such an existential question!

Collapse
 
sozako profile image
Adam

Success does not have sense without failure.

Collapse
 
imjoseangel profile image
Jose Angel Munoz

Failure is the mother of learning and the food for thought

Image description