DEV Community

Cover image for A New Way to Watch
elizabeth-delor
elizabeth-delor

Posted on

A New Way to Watch

Time = Money, but what if it didn't?

The idea of money and time limits a lot of individuals when it comes to creating something. Most of the time an idea is created and instantly we think on how to market it and make it profitable. If money and time were no concern, what would I do with the skills I have obtained and my life from that point?

The Current Situation

Over the past year I know most of us have relied on streaming services such as Netflix, Hulu, and Disney+ to stay sane. I know I have and in the beginning utilized web extensions such as NetflixParty [now TeleParty] to watch shows with friends. This however is no longer useful as we are slowly getting back into our normal routines and do not have the same amount of free time as we did before to watch shows together.

The Idea

An application/extension that would allow for individuals to connect over their favorite shows and movies on streaming platforms. Think of it like an expansion on Netflix Party, but individuals can make their own profiles and rate shows they have seen and even have a recommendations section.

Multiple times I have had friends who are getting into new genres and be lost on where to start. Having this would allow for them to have a good stepping stone if they have friends who are fans of that specific genre. In addition, they could look at most popular shows for each genre to get a starting point.

Features

The key features that were mention prior were having a profile, making & seeing recommendations, and looking at most popular shows based on genre. One feature I feel would be beneficial is for the user to have the ability to enable spoilers before episodes.

I personally know a few individuals who want to watch psychological thrillers/dramas but tend to avoid them because they get stressed not knowing what is going to happen. For example, when Squid Games was big my friend spoiled the show before watching due to her getting extremely anxious. By being able to enable something that just gives warnings of possible triggers or character deaths it allows for people like this to enjoy the show as they know what to expect.

Why This?

Since streaming is such a big part of our society now, this allows for a better watching experience. I know on multiple occasions I have wanted to watch something but did not know what so either I watch nothing or re-watch something I have already seen.
This would enable users to have an easier time finding shows based on a recommendation by genre, or even what their friends are watching so they can talk about the shows together.
I think it is important to give people the chance to watch shows they may not have thought to watch before and get the chance to experience new things comfortably.

Top comments (0)