DEV Community

Cover image for Creating content but getting no engagement? 😭 A community that can help! 💪
GrahamTheDev
GrahamTheDev

Posted on

Creating content but getting no engagement? 😭 A community that can help! 💪

Have you ever created an article that was excellent, fine tuned it to perfection, released it...and got 100 views (or less!). If so stick around as @francescoxx is trying to help fix that!

Francesco's Discord Server

Francesco has done quite well on Twitter (40k followers!), on DEV not as well.

I have done quite well on DEV, on Twitter, not so well (55 followers 🤣)!

So Francesco came up with the idea of repurposing his discord server as a space for content creators to collaborate.

The idea being that we would support each other, comment on articles and videos, share them (if appropriate to your channels) etc.

At the same time looking for opportunities to collaborate on content so we can "share the load" and give each other a boost.

That way I can like and comment on Francesco's content and share it, he can do the same with mine and for the sake of 30 seconds of out time we can boost each other massively!

The idea is to have hundreds of people doing the same building a mini "content promotion" and support network.

If you are hoping to make content creation a part of your process for finding a job, or maybe even make it your whole career, this may be the boost you have been looking for!

With over 300 members already it should become quite lively once a few of us start interacting there!

How does it help?

Take DEV as an example.

If your article gets a few early likes and shares it will get noticed in the feed.

So more people will read it and end up sharing it. So it gets more views and likes etc.

Once you get to about 100 interactions you are high enough up the week feed to get noticed after the initial 18-20 hours in the main feed so you get more views etc.

So the idea is to help you start the snowball effect!

Plus it helps to have multiple channels to promote content on, so linking with people who use social media channels that you don't use is a massive bonus (as you can't manage every social media channel option if you still want a life!).

What do you have to do to join?

At the moment, just create content and be active in helping others promote their content.

You don't need a big following (in fact that is Francesco's whole idea, to help those of us with a tiny following (like me!) build up our follower count!), but great content that is well written / well produced is obviously a must!

Ideal for people who have put the ground work in, refined their message and or production style and are producing great content, but just want to get a more engaged audience and a bigger reach.

Want an invite?

It isn't my server so I can't really set any rules, but from a personal perspective I will happily invite you if:

  • you have written / produced content consistently for at least a few weeks.
  • The content is well formatted / well produced.
  • That is it!

Whether it be videos, twitter threads, on other platforms etc. It doesn't matter. As long as it is decent quality come join us!

Leave a comment below with a link (or links if on multiple platforms) to your stuff.

Be quick

Francesco doesn't hang around, I have seen his follower count sky rocket over just a few short weeks (after putting the hard graft in at the beginning I might add, something he is trying to help us to avoid!).

At this point the server is quiet and it will be easy to get noticed, take advantage while you can and come say hi!

I am inviting some people who's work I enjoy, including:
@afif
@alvaromontoro
@madsstoumann
@sidcraftscode
@siddharthshyniben
...max number of mentions in an article, there are a few more of you!

There are a few of you who are "in the back pocket" as well where I am just waiting to see if you post regularly and consistently ( @posandu I am looking at you!).

But at the same time I am sure there are loads of people who write who I have never interacted with...so shout up in the comments!

I look forward to seeing if we can build a community that cross promotes, collaborates and helps each other! See you all there!

Top comments (103)

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Please reply under this comment if you want to join.

Just drop a link to your articles / videos and how best to send you an invite / your discord handle!

Collapse
 
deleteman123 profile image
Fernando Doglio

I'd love an invite if this is still an option, I've always struggle to grow an audience, so any help would be greatly appreciated and of course, helping others wherever I can!

My work: deleteman123.medium.com/
My discord ID: Fernando Doglio#5010

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Sure, liked the article on "The biggest lie in Open Source"!

Can you open your chat on DEV temporarily so I can send invite? Settings > Extensions > Connect Settings.

Thread Thread
 
deleteman123 profile image
Fernando Doglio

Thanks, glad you liked it!

I think I openned my chat on dev (I didn't now that was a thing!)

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Yeah i stumbled across it a while back, it doesn't make sense being in "Extensions" 🤣

Invite sent!

Collapse
 
codingdodo profile image
Coding Dodo

Hi, i’m very interested but i write about niche technology stack (Odoo) here and mainly on:

codingdodo.com

My Discord ID PhilDL#0540

PS: no hard feeling if my content doesn’t fit in that project 😉 i will still enjoy your content 😁

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Holy crap I love the style of that site, just reading some of your stuff now!

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Yeah, well written, perfect. invite in chat in next minute!

Quite a few people from DEV there so come say hi now if you can

Collapse
 
coderjab profile image
JustABeginning

At first, I would like your appreciate this effort in extending a necessary helping hand towards others in need 👏. I have created an article here. Please do give a read 😊.

Collapse
 
theodorusclarence profile image
Theodorus Clarence

Hello! I’m very interested to join the discord server. I write a series called Back to Basic, and some other posts.

You can read it here:
theodorusclarence.com

Here is my discord ID theodorusclarence#2558

Appreciate it!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Love the mental model of flexbox article. Check chat for link!

Collapse
 
abhirajb profile image
Abhiraj Bhowmick

Hey there, I am Abhiraj and I am interested to join this community. I am here to learn and improve myself along my journey

My portfolio
My blog

My discord ID: RainboeStrykr#9620

Collapse
 
muthuannamalai12 profile image
Muthu Annamalai Venkatachalam

I would love to be in this community. You can read my articles here 👇

Article Link: muthuannamalai.tech/

I have posted all my articles in hashnode recently started to cross post on dev.to too

My Discord Id: Muthu#7251

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

You have some great articles in there but also a lot of the "pandering ones", love to have you but do you plan on doing more of the "What is Buy me a Coffee ☕️: Step by Step Procedure on How to Start a Page" type articles as those are awesome!

I am only worried you might not get the shares as we are trying to avoid the listicle trap and it turning into another DEV where you just see the same stuff every week.

Hopefully that doesn't come off wrong, I hope you know what I mean!

If you do have some of those types of tutorial / long form type posts planned then let me know as we would love to have you!

Thread Thread
 
muthuannamalai12 profile image
Muthu Annamalai Venkatachalam

Awesome to hear that but I do not have those long posts in my mind thank you for taking your time to reply me

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

No probs, if you do switch back to those types of posts just shout (don't even have to join the server, happy to share great content anyway!)

Thread Thread
 
muthuannamalai12 profile image
Muthu Annamalai Venkatachalam

Sure 😀

Collapse
 
jasontanpc profile image
Jason Tan

I'm interested. I write and do podcast interview on the subjects like data science, machine learning and analytics.

LinkedIn posts and The Analytics Show podcast

I have 8k plus followers on LinkedIn and I can help pushing the contents there.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

There isn't anything for podcasts, but it might be a great place to pick up guests for you, ideas etc!

Plus some of the longer form LinkedIn stuff would be great for sharing! I will drop invite on LinkedIn as your chat is closed on DEV.

Collapse
 
eternal_dev profile image
Eternal Dev

Hi, I am interested. I write about GraphQL, Go, and started with Svelte. Would love to be in a community full of other creators

Here is a link to my blog - eternaldev.com

And I cross post in Dev.to

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Some great stuff in there, invite in your chat

Collapse
 
anishkumar profile image
Anish Kumar

Hey! Interested in joining this community. You can check out my articles here:

stackfull.dev

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Looks good so far, do you want to drop me a message (my chat is open to all here on DEV) once you have written a couple more articles.

The standard of your writing is great (loving those images of trees as part of your explanations), just want to see that you can keep it up so we know you will be active!

Thread Thread
 
anishkumar profile image
Anish Kumar

Sure! Reaching out to see if now would be a good time!

Collapse
 
posandu profile image
Posandu

HI ! I would like to join.
Here's my website tronic247.com/projects/
(I post content there and dev.to)
But, I'm not sure if am good enough for joining the server

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

You didn’t read the article did you, I said you were on my hit list once you had posted for a bit longer?🤣

Defo good enough, just want to see you keep up the content creation consistency like you have been doing. 😜

I will message you later with an invite though as I am sure you will keep it up. ❤️

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Sent the invite to chat!

Collapse
 
lakatos88 profile image
Alex Lakatos 🥑

I write about JS, DevTools and DevRel at alexlakatos.com/

My discord is laka#0560. I'd love to join!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Like the site! invite in DEV chat!

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

This sounds pretty cool! Count me in!

blog.bobby.sh

Discord: Bobby Iliev#6026

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Open your chat Settings > extensions so can send you link, looks like you have been writing for a while with all those posts!

Thread Thread
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Thanks! Should be open now!

Collapse
 
elijahtrillionz profile image
Elijah Trillionz

Hi, am Elijah and am interested. I write on web development on my blog (webdeverguide.com/) and on dev.to

Discord id: elijahtrillionz#0370

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Checks out, be great to have you! Link in your chat!

Collapse
 
christyjacob4 profile image
Christy Jacob

My blog posts : dev.to/christyjacob4
Discord Handle: christyjacob4#8950
😀

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Open your chat on dev (settings > extensions > connect settings) so I can send you an invite.

Do you plan on writing about things other than AppWrite - it doesn't matter this is a just a personal question! 🤣

Thread Thread
 
christyjacob4 profile image
Christy Jacob

Thank you 😀 I have opened the chat

I love writing in general, but at the moment I'm really involved with the Appwrite Project. But I'm definitely gonna write about other topics as well! 😀

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Link is in your chat, come say Hi!

Collapse
 
karanpratapsingh profile image
Karan Pratap Singh

This is an interesting idea, I write about React, TS, Go and cloud (k8 etc soon)

portfolio
blog

Discord: karan_6864#6601

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Sent you an invite to your email on your profile, couldn't use chat! See you there, loving the Docker series BTW!

Thread Thread
 
karanpratapsingh profile image
Karan Pratap Singh

thanks for checking it out

Collapse
 
ivan_jrmc profile image
Ivan Jeremic

crudfunc#0981

Collapse
 
cleancodestudio profile image
Clean Code Studio

Great post @inhuofficial , I'd definitely love to check out the community!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Your video stuff will probably do great in the YouTube section as well as your long form articles like the PHP ones in writing so invite is on the way.

Thread Thread
 
cleancodestudio profile image
Clean Code Studio

Awesome, excited to check it out!

Collapse
 
pottekkat profile image
Navendu Pottekkat

I just started to use my own blog to write stuff. It is pretty new but here it is: navendu.me

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Sounds pretty cool. I would like to take part in this if I can, I might not post as often but I will help out as much as posible!

Articles here
Discord: nombrekeff#6034

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

Post are nicely formatted and from a scan of the flutter ones (I know nothing about flutter!) they are well written as it started to make sense lol!

You Invite is in the DEV chat!

Also a nice way to be introduced to your stuff as I don't think I have read any of it before!

Thread Thread
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Thanks a lot! There are many more Flutter posts coming if you fancy learning some :P

Collapse
 
imiahazel profile image
Imia Hazel

I would like to join as well. I have no twitter follower at all :(
If possible then what's next.
Thanks in advance.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Do you have a blog other than the 3 articles on here? I have enjoyed your stuff I have read I just want to check out some more if you have it!

Thread Thread
 
imiahazel profile image
Imia Hazel

I am currently working on DevBeep and HTMLCSSFreebies.

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Ok I love DevBeep, articles are great (which is expected given the articles I have read).

Invite is in chat!

If there is anything you want promoting check out the #articles text channel!

Thread Thread
 
imiahazel profile image
Imia Hazel

Thanks

Collapse
 
thormeier profile image
Pascal Thormeier

Sounds like an interesting idea! Articles can be found here: dev.to/thormeier
Discord handle: thormeier#3760
Looking forward to collaborating :)

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

You were one of the other people on my list I just ran out of @mentions in the post (didn't know there was a limit), invite on the way.

p.s. it reminded my to follow you on Twitter! Done that now 😋

Collapse
 
siddharthshyniben profile image
Siddharth

I'm in!

Articles on DEV. I'm working on a personal site.
Discord: SiddharthShyniben#7017

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Invite on the way, you were on my list!

Collapse
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla
Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Some great articles in your feed! Invite sent in chat!

Thread Thread
 
gillarohith profile image
Rohith Gilla

Yay!
Thanks

Collapse
 
mastermind profile image
MasterMind

Is this just for blogs, or are programmers also welcome? 🙂

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

It’s for people who create content around development and tech. Can be video, articles, infographics etc.

Do you write or make vids?

Collapse
 
mastermind profile image
MasterMind

I don't. I am trying to learn stuff and grow my skill set at the moment

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

Cool, for now then not the right place, but if you follow a few people in this comments section who write about the stuff that interests you that is a great way to find some content to consume!

Obviously we hope at some point you do start writing about your journey and what you learn, if you do then drop me a message (my chat is open to all on DEV) and I will invite you once you have gotten into a groove!

If there is every anything you are struggling to find info on also reach out and I will see if there is anything relevant in the network for you!

Thread Thread
 
mastermind profile image
MasterMind

sure!! thank you so much :))

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

While I like the idea of a place to chat that's more fast-paced and cross-device than DEV's own "connect" solution, I don't like discord very much and I don't care enough about promoting myself. I have no aspirations of being popular :)

I've enjoyed various communities' IRC channels over the years. They usually last longer than the forum they came from!

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Actually let me add something more constructive:

Sometimes, here, I get the urge to ask the community something small. If I asked in a post, it'd get lost or maybe have one or two answers. If I asked on a chat service I could ask again a few hours later if people were idle or the conversation drifted, and I wouldn't feel spammy. I would also be happy if the conversation drifted to something else, where on a post I'd like to remain on topic.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Well, I normally enjoy your articles when I read them, so if you do change your mind you are more than welcome.

And if you don't want to become popular you can always share other people's stuff and give them a boost 😉

Collapse
 
terabytetiger profile image
Tyler V. (he/him)

This sounds a little too similar to Instagram's "Engagement Pods" - which try to game the algorithm by artificially inflating early interaction on a post.

This could potentially cause flags on accounts for quickly gaining a following on Twitter and feels against the spirit of DEV to me.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev • Edited

Hey, sorry for late reply, hectic week as it was a bank holiday on Monday so 4 day work week!

I can see why you would think that from my explanation of why it helps here on DEV but it is more focused on collaboration.

We have a list of articles we would like to be promoted, but it is a pick and choose list where you share stuff that you think is interesting with no pressure to do so. I think of it as a useful tool to fill my curated content list from.

I don't think it is against the DEV spirit, there are people I follow on here, I see their articles and I may only skim read them before liking as I know they will be high quality and it is my way of helping a fellow content creator.

It is a consequence of the DEV algorithm that early likes help you reach more people, nothing worse than writing a master piece and getting 300 views! So a little push from your friends, I believe, is fair (especially if you don't write a GitHub, VS Code or React article!)

Collapse
 
doekenorg profile image
Doeke Norg

Ah this sounds great. I'm trying to stick to quality, but it feels like fluff pieces get all the attention. You can find my stuff here on dev.to/doekenorg. And the rest on doeken.org. I'm cross posting here for reach.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Love it, that is the point we are trying to get some eyeballs on the quality content.

You will have to follow me on here so I can send you an invite but we would love to have you!

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Interesting I'm interested as well to know more content creators with a niche or high quality content.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Do you have some content to look at, the idea is to get stuff that isn't just JS and beginners out there and build our audiences so if that fits your stuff then we would love to have you!

Collapse
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao • Edited

Most of my articles are quite niche and may not be JS related.

Types of API Authentication in Django REST Framework, "The Phoenix Project" Must Read For Developers or Startup Books for Developers for more you can look at my own blog or my dev.to profile that contains the articles that I had published in Dev.to

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

That is the point, we want some variation! Your longer stuff would work well, especially as you pick out some nice imagery!

You need to follow me so I can send you a link in chat (or open your chat in settings > extensions > connect settings and set your inbox to "open"), then I will send invite!

Thread Thread
 
steelwolf180 profile image
Max Ong Zong Bao

Sure I had done that.

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Sent, see you on the server!

Collapse
 
primerlabs profile image
Siddharth Kanungo (primerlabs.io)

I launched primerlabs.io recently. It's a conversational learning medium for learning computer science topics. I have not marketed it much, but it's useful for a lot of self-learners intending to learn computer science. You can take a look at the rationale behind Primer at this comic. primerlabs.io/comics/introducing-p...

I have released Python-1 course for free. You can take a look at the course content here. primerlabs.io/books/python-i/

Would love to join your community.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

That is impressive! I love the funky way you do quotes on the site and I am in awe of the python posts, invitation will be in chat in the next 30 seconds!

Collapse
 
saxenamansi profile image
Mansi Saxena

Hello, I am interested. I like writing about what I learn in Machine Learning. Though, I am just a beginnet at blogging, I want to develop a habit of blogging weekly and thus would love to join your community to get more reach. Looking forward to your reply!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Articles look good, invite sent!

Collapse
 
ayaanp profile image
Ayaan Panda

Hey! I am interested in joining the server! I make content on YouTube and my channel primarily focuses on all things related to Python development.

To send Discord invite, just email ayaan.panda1@gmail.com!

By the way, I really like your and Francesco's content :D

Collapse
 
tiu profile image
paolotiu

Hey, I'm Paolo Tiu! I would love to be part of this community.

My Blog

My Discord ID: PaoloTiu17#0017

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Emailed invite to the email in your profile

Collapse
 
tiu profile image
paolotiu

Got it, thanks!

Collapse
 
madsstoumann profile image
Mads Stoumann

Thanks! I thought Discord was a gamer-chat platform only! 😁 My son use it while playing Minecraft.

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Haha, hey it is a brave new world, I am just finding my feet on Discord (I keep sending invites to the wrong part of the server...grandpa and his social media goofs continue!)

You got time / want in? It is fine if not I just always enjoy your posts and it seems like it could work if we get the right group together!

Collapse
 
madsstoumann profile image
Mads Stoumann

Lol! 😂 I’m in, it’s stoumann#2997

Thread Thread
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Sent an invite via chat, fingers crossed got that right this time!

Collapse
 
geeky01adarsh profile image
Adarsh Navneet Sinha

Hi, The idea is great, I would love to be a part of this community. Here is mine article link:-
dev.to/geeky01adarsh/i-can-t-solve...
My discord id is Adarsh#7101.
Thanks for sharing this.

Collapse
 
rahulbanerjee99 profile image
Rahul Banerjee

This seems interesting.
dev.to : dev.to/rahulbanerjee99

Wordpress: realpythonproject.com

Discord: slayer1299

Thanks!

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

The longer stuff would be great for sharing, (like the intro flask type articles!)

Can you open your chat on DEV temporarily so I can send invite? Settings > Extensions > Connect Settings.

Collapse
 
link2twenty profile image
Andrew Bone

😢

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

Oh my, how did I forget you and Mike Talbot! You in?

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

You can count me in if you like, I only write here (and perhaps on Hacker Noon).

Collapse
 
grahamthedev profile image
GrahamTheDev

It was my mistake to not have asked you in the first place! Invite in chat!