DEV Community

Cover image for What do you call your folder where you keep your code?
Nočnica Mellifera for Heroku

Posted on

What do you call your folder where you keep your code?

On each new PC I make a folder named after some version of the afterlife: 'xibalba,' 'elysium,' 'outerdark.' And that's where I keep all my code. I assume everyone does this? And I'm curious where you keep your code on your own PC.

Top comments (55)

Collapse
 
c_v_ya profile image
Constantine

That's interesting 😄

Mine is simple ~/projects for all my.. well, projects. And inside are dirs by technology for personal stuff, e.g. python/, react/, etc. And %company_name%/ for full-time job projects.

Collapse
 
thecodepixi profile image
Emmy | Pixi

I'm boring/lazy. Mines literally just "Code" and it's a top level directory so I can just cd code and find what I need haha

Collapse
 
nocnica profile image
Nočnica Mellifera

This makes more sense than the people calling it “github”

Collapse
 
thecodepixi profile image
Emmy | Pixi

Is that a thing people do!?

Thread Thread
 
nocnica profile image
Nočnica Mellifera

on here and on Twitter it is, I think, the most common answer

Collapse
 
chakrihacker profile image
Subramanya Chakravarthy

Me too

Collapse
 
din0s profile image
dinos

Same here!

Collapse
 
cmanique profile image
Carlos Manique Silva • Edited

I use variants of ~/_git/repo_domain/repo_group/repo_name depending on the hosting.
Allows me to quickly browse stuff that is either local, github, gitlab, etc...

Anything related to software tools I keep in ~/work/tools, organised in concept, vendor, tool, version (ie: ide/jetbrains/intellij/20201).

Project related stuff like documents, assets I keep in variants of ~/work/projects/customer_name/initiative/project

Many people place code together with projects, but having separate folders is useful to avoid long paths, and I get a clear ideia of what's transient and versioned or not.

Collapse
 
ashkanmohammadi profile image
Amohammadi2

Nice 👍

Collapse
 
ekafyi profile image
Eka

I'm a bit obsessive-compulsive when it comes to organizing my files (either it has be consistent OR I'd leave it completely messy). After trying complex structures, now under the default Mac OS Documents, I just have:

  • _Work --> has subdirectories for Day Job and each paid side project
  • Foo --> all non-paid/personal coding projects go here
  • Bar
  • Baz

Last two directories will be for non-code personal projects but currently they are empty. I recently changed laptop (~3 months ago); my old projects are in my external HDD.

Collapse
 
alaindet profile image
Alain D'Ettorre
.
|---dev
    |---projects
        |---my-cool-website
        |---a-fun-side-project
        |---my-company-stuff
    |---learn
        |---react
        |---angular
        |---whatever-youre-learning
Enter fullscreen mode Exit fullscreen mode
Collapse
 
itsasine profile image
ItsASine (Kayla)

Echoing love for ~/dev. It's short enough that it's easy to get to my files, though I am liking some of the organizing in this thread. ~/dev is a mix of Github, GitLab, and local on my Mac which is a tad unwieldy, especially when most of those haven't been touched in ages. My current Chromebook's ~/dev at least is pretty clean since it's new.

Collapse
 
jakesweb profile image
Jacob Colborn

I keep all my projects in ~/code/, breaking down each project into its own directory. I don't have my first customer yet, but when I do I'll have a directory in the code directory called customers and store that data in each customers own directory.

I save creative names for my hostnames. Each host in my network is named after a Norse god.

Collapse
 
sergix profile image
Peyton McGinnis

~/dev/<language>/<project> for local projects,

~/dev/git/<project> for projects on GitHub

Collapse
 
leonlafa profile image
Leon Lafayette

Be prepared to be underwhelmed.

I name my folder... dev/ 😀

Collapse
 
jsn1nj4 profile image
Elliot Derhay

On my work laptop, it's on a secondary storage drive. So it's like this:

Z:\projects\<project-name>

Of course I'm on Windows and need them accessible via stuff like FileZilla and Explorer, otherwise I'd probably have them all in WSL directly. 🤷‍♂️

Collapse
 
christianguevara profile image
Christian Guevara • Edited

I call it Developer, so I get a nice icon :) Developer folder

The internal structure is:

~/Developer/%company%/%project%/

If the project is not part of a company or just for fun, it goes directly to ~/Developer root.

Collapse
 
phortx profile image
Ben Klein

workspaces

Then I have a workspace for the projects of my job (i22), one for hobby projects (personal), one for experiments (lab) and one when cloning foreign open source projects (external).

Collapse
 
nikoheikkila profile image
Niko Heikkilä

Mine follows this pattern:

~/src/<gitserver>/<owner>/<repository>

Example:

~/src/github.com/nikoheikkila/cv

Mostly I use z to jump to correct directory by repo name which is neatly supported by this.

Collapse
 
nirlanka profile image
Nir Lanka ニル

~/Dev
It matches other folder names in ~.

Collapse
 
nejos97 profile image
Nenba Jonathan

i use this pattern
~/workspace/<project>/src