DEV Community

Maciej Sawicki
Maciej Sawicki

Posted on

[Game of Purpose] Day 24

Today I made my drone animate propeller rotation when it's flying. Well, for now it's rotating only 1 of 4, because I didn't figure out how to efficiently trigger events for all of Child Actors of specific type.

Below you can see my pain point. Too many nodes just to trigger event to one propeller, and I have 3 more. There must be a better way.
Image description

Anyway, I cut the propeller from the drone mesh to make a blueprint, which would make it constantly rotate. I needed to use Blender, because a propeller extracted using Modeling Mode in Unreal had a broken pivot point (not in the center) and Blender did the work. Then I moved 4 instances of that Propeller blueprint and will make them rotate.

Image description

Top comments (0)