DEV Community

Cover image for Wanted: JavaScript Book Recommendations
James Thomson
James Thomson

Posted on

Wanted: JavaScript Book Recommendations

I consider myself to have a pretty decent knowledge of JavaScript, but I know there's ALWAYS more to learn. I'm looking for some paperback book recommendations to take my knowledge to the next level, really get into the intricacies of JS - and boy are there many!

So, what are your must read JavaScript book recommendations?

Edit: Thanks all for the recommendations, looks like I have some reading to do!

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
justalever profile image
Andy Leverenz

A few that come to mind:

Collapse
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

Thanks for the suggestions. Eloquent Javascript keeps popping up, so I may have to take that as a sign and grab a copy, also the YDKJS series.

Collapse
 
chrisrhymes profile image
C.S. Rhymes

I second the “you don’t know JS” series. I got it on kindle a couple of years ago.

Collapse
 
jacobmgevans profile image
Jacob Evans

GREAT LIST.

I would even throw in the free version of "JavaScript Grammar" dont know where to find it free though... lots of people have PDFs

Collapse
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

Looks like the author will give you a free copy if you give him a Tweet: javascriptgrammar.com/

Thread Thread
 
jacobmgevans profile image
Jacob Evans

There you go then 😁😁😆

Collapse
 
juanrodriguezarc profile image
Juan Rodríguez

Composing Software
An Exploration of Functional Programming and Object Composition in JavaScript
Eric Elliott

This book is for sale at leanpub.com/composingsoftware

Collapse
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

This looks excellent. Definitely going to grab a copy! Thanks for the suggestion

Collapse
 
gypsydave5 profile image
David Wickes
Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy • Edited

This book was my transition point towards confidence and competence, to a much greater degree than any other singular resource.

Collapse
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

For anyone interested in functional programming, I've stumbled across JavaScript Allongé, the "Six" Edition which has peaked my interested. Sadly there's no paperback, but it looks great.

Collapse
 
gypsydave5 profile image
David Wickes

I regard it as one of the most beautiful books about programming ever written. A good example of "show don't say".

I also think it's very good for JavaScript developers, as it makes you think about functions - really forces you to understand what can be achieved with them. It changed the way I program.

Collapse
 
nibi profile image
Patrik

I recommend secrets of the JavaScript ninja. It's a difficult read but I learned the most from this
amazon.com/gp/aw/d/1617292850/ref=...

Collapse
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

I actually just stumbled across this last night myself as well. Looks like a solid read!

Collapse
 
nibi profile image
Patrik

Give it a read if you can, it's really good. By tinkering with examples from the book you can learn and understand heaps of js concepts

Collapse
 
hth_dev profile image
Talha Manzoor

Need Book for Algorithems?

Collapse
 
jamesthomson profile image
James Thomson

I'm not sure yet, but suggestions are most welcome :)

Collapse
 
friebe profile image
Jan Friebe • Edited

A good resource to learn JavaScript. No matter what type of learner you are, you will find your medium. github.com/micromata/awesome-javas...

Collapse
 
ganonbit profile image
Andrew Reese

Rediscovering Javascript was a good read last year. Currently reading Javascript Grammar but looks like someone else already mentioned that one.

Collapse
 
ogzhanolguncu profile image
Oğuzhan Olguncu

Great recommendations. Thanks for sharing.