DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

👋👋👋👋

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small 🎉

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy 😄

cool-dog

Happy Friday!

Top comments (66)

Collapse
 
sibi profile image
sibi

Landing a new job 🎉

Collapse
 
genzouw profile image
genzouw

Congrats!

Collapse
 
sibi profile image
sibi

Thanks @genzouw

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe • Edited

That's great! Congratulations!! 🎉

Collapse
 
sibi profile image
sibi • Edited

Thanks @vaibhavkhulbe 🙏🏼

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦 • Edited

Built my own open-source markdown editor in a couple of days, and increased my productivity by 500%. no big whoop 🙃

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I decreased the likelihood that one of our admins accidentally submits a dangerous site config option...

Add additional safeguards for config write access #6064

What type of PR is this? (check all applicable)

  • [ ] Refactor
  • [x] Feature
  • [ ] Bug Fix
  • [ ] Optimization
  • [ ] Documentation Update

Description

This related to this issue: #6049

I wouldn't want to say it fully closes it, but is a step in safeguarding this area.

This pull request adds extra safeguards for the /internal/config area of the site. This area contains values which could cause big problems if accidentally changed. It makes sense to restrict them even more thoroughly than other parts of the internal experience.

It now makes it so that anyone with admin, super_admin or single_resource_admin Config can view this area, but only users with the role single_resource_admin Config can write to it. And they need to submit this phrase when making a change as confirmation:

My username is @your_username and this action is 100% safe and appropriate.

The details here really should not change very often, so I think this is all pretty reasonable.

Added a message to make it clear:

Screen Shot 2020-02-13 at 1 22 20 PM

Screen Shot 2020-02-13 at 1 21 52 PM

Screen Shot 2020-02-13 at 1 30 45 PM

Also made a small tweak to /internal/permissions to make it clearer which exact permissions folks have.

Screen Shot 2020-02-13 at 1 22 51 PM

Thanks to @vaidehijoshi for being the catalyst on this.

Collapse
 
tcgumus profile image
Tuna Çağlar Gümüş

My son born on valentines day. I think we can call it a win.

Collapse
 
jastuccio profile image
jastuccio

...and with one fell swoop Tuna covered this year's valentines day gifts and all future valentines day gifts like a boss 😂

seriously Congratulations Dad!

Collapse
 
tcgumus profile image
Tuna Çağlar Gümüş

😂 i need to step up my dad jokes this year. So I'm posting this from the upstairs computer. (image a dad laugh here)

Collapse
 
itz_giddy profile image
Audiophile

I was able to fix an issue I'd been having with a Reacstrap(bootstrap + react) component, by actually going to the GH repo and reading the source code.

It was nowhere to be found in the official docs.

I'm usually scared of diving deep into a repo for a package to see its source code because it literally hurts my brain most times, especially if it's written in TypeScript(and I don't know TS yet).

I'm proud because I overcame my fear, solved the issue I was having and didn't procrastinate about writing an article about it. This is a win for me.

Collapse
 
peoray profile image
Emmanuel Raymond

The "especially if it's written with TypeScript" is my situation also. I don't even waste my time whenever I see the library is written with it. it's becoming unpleasant these days. perhaps, it's a sign to learn it ;)

Collapse
 
itz_giddy profile image
Audiophile

Maybe it is :)

Collapse
 
shiftyp profile image
Ryan Kahn (he/him)

Woot! Congrats, I know the fear! TypeScript can be scary, but it has no teeth...only error messages. 😜

Collapse
 
itz_giddy profile image
Audiophile

Haha thanks Ryan! I already plan to learn it (and fall in love with it) in the coming month, the confidence I've gained since solving that issue has increased!

Thread Thread
 
shiftyp profile image
Ryan Kahn (he/him)

I would say if you solved an issue in code using Typescript, you are well on you way!

Thread Thread
 
shiftyp profile image
Ryan Kahn (he/him) • Edited

I have a resource for you actually (one of mine)! It's a "game of life" clone you can edit 🏝️.fm

Collapse
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad • Edited

Launched my website debugg.me and posted about it. Got a very good response and have 16 people subscribed to my email list. Now working on getting my beta ready

Collapse
 
nflamel profile image
Fran C.

I managed to post 3 times!!!

Collapse
 
roelofjanelsinga profile image
Roelof Jan Elsinga

Finally set up my personal cloud at home! No longer depending on the big cloud storage providers is very freeing and I'll be doing a lot more with it in the future I'm sure!

Also, I was able to refactor some very complicated code into something that's simple and easy to understand. As an added bonus, everything is covered by unit testw, so I know it won't break soon.

Collapse
 
carlosguzman profile image
Carlos Guzmán

I want to setup a personal cloud too but I have not decided yet which tools I should use for this, what do you use in your case?

Collapse
 
roelofjanelsinga profile image
Roelof Jan Elsinga

I use a raspberry pi 4 4gb, an external hard drive and NextCloud as the software. So far it works really well! My latest post on here goes into more detail, so maybe that helps you as well.

Thread Thread
 
carlosguzman profile image
Carlos Guzmán

I was thinking about using OwnCloud or Syncthing, but I will take a look to NextCloud too. Thanks for sharing the post, I would like to see a post about how you expose your cloud to the internet too :)

Thread Thread
 
roelofjanelsinga profile image
Roelof Jan Elsinga • Edited

My next post will have a section about that, it should be on dev on Thursday :)

Edit: The post is right here! dev.to/roelofjanelsinga/how-to-set...

Collapse
 
djtai profile image
David Taitingfong

I finally started a personal blog. As a dev I was spending way too much time tryna decide if I wanted to build it from the ground up, use Wordpress, etc...eventually I just told myself to quit messing around and START. So I did! 🥳

Collapse
 
ekafyi profile image
Eka

LOL this is me, permanently stuck halfway in the attempt to build my personal site! Congrats for getting out of the indecision black hole!

Collapse
 
djtai profile image
David Taitingfong

Thank you! Honestly I still want to build my own site, but as of right now I know that getting my ideas out is what I need to do. Hopefully I can find some down time to get my own site up and running.

Good luck to you though! Just remember: progress is progress.

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

I gave my first ever tech talk!! I feel sooo happy to overcome my public speaking fear🐨🐨🎉

The talk was about web performance, here's an animated version of the talk: visconf.netlify.com/saurabhdaware/...

Collapse
 
jastuccio profile image
jastuccio • Edited

I refactored a FISH script to mute Spotify temporarily from the command line. The commercials were killing my concentration. I listen to instrumental tracks when I am coding. It used to turn the Macbooks volume off. Now it only turns Spotify's volume off in case I am watching a tut.

It started out using an NPM package, but I could not get it working that way so I went to sleep. I woke up with a new idea. I learned the osascript commands I needed by reading through the npm package Github repo.

Now my script gets the current volume, mutes Spotify, then raises the volume back to the original level after a while. 6 lines of code and no packages required 😄

Collapse
 
jess profile image
Jess Lee

Neat!

Collapse
 
jastuccio profile image
jastuccio

Thanks Jess 😊

Collapse
 
bendmyers profile image
Ben Myers • Edited

I finally got another accessibility blogpost (and the Dev.to link) out, after weeks of starting and shelving drafts!

Collapse
 
memitaru profile image
Ami Scott (they/them)

I had my first week with my new project team. Basically my current job is leading a group of web dev students through building a product or adding on to a product from a former team. I'm with each team for two months as the team lead and it was so hard to say goodbye to my last team as they moved on to study computer science...

I met my new team and started working with them this week and they are all so awesome and I'm so excited to see what we come up with over the next two months!

Collapse
 
javierx2010 profile image
Javier Escobar

I think that's very interesting! Students learn to program before learning computer science! 10 years ago, I had to study PCs architecture, operating systems, and so on before learning how to code in C++ or Java.

Good luck with your new team!

Collapse
 
memitaru profile image
Ami Scott (they/them)

We start with learning HTML/CSS/JS and then jump into learning React. Once we do a section on Node/Express and backend fundamentals we get into the section I'm leading now which is about product development.

I agree it's interesting but it does help you get some relevant job skills more quickly which is nice 😊 I think it also helps lower the barrier of entry a lot.

Collapse
 
amaelftah profile image
Ahmed Mohamed Abd El Ftah

wrote my first post on dev.to 😁 Notable Features In Laravel 7

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

I just moved to Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica this week!

Things took a little longer than originally expected. My comment from a previous What was your win... thread:

I visited Puerto Viejo, Costa Rica... and found a house to rent that we're moving into in November! So happy DEV is supportive of remote working!! 😀

Pura vida!