DEV Community

Cover image for What was your win this week?
Jess Lee
Jess Lee

Posted on

What was your win this week?

πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹πŸ‘‹

Looking back on your week -- what was something you're proud of?

All wins count -- big or small πŸŽ‰

Examples of 'wins' include:

  • Getting a promotion!
  • Starting a new project
  • Fixing a tricky bug
  • Cleaning your house...or whatever else that may spark joy πŸ˜„

happy-donkey

Happy Friday!

Top comments (43)

Collapse
 
zubairmohsin33 profile image
Zubair Mohsin • Edited

It has been an amazing week for me related to writing articles on DEV.

  • More than 700 followers overall πŸ™
  • more than 3000 views πŸ‘€
  • Approximately 200 reactions 😍
  • My latest article was shared on LaravelDaily Twitter account 😱

It's been so overwhelming.

Couldn't be more thankful to DEV community πŸ™πŸ™

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

congrats on the great success! It feels good when you get featured in specialized accounts like that.

The DEV Community is ✨Amazing

Collapse
 
zubairmohsin33 profile image
Zubair Mohsin

Yaas! πŸ₯³πŸ˜

Collapse
 
cjbrooks12 profile image
Casey Brooks • Edited

My wife and I bought our first house!!! 🏠

Also, I released a new major version of Orchid: 0.19.0

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

πŸ‘ͺ Life-changing week in the Brooks house!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Cool!!

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

I gave my first meet up talk!

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

yay congratulationsπŸŽ‰ What was the talk about? how did it go? how was the overall experience? This is huge🐨🌻

Collapse
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

Aw thank you! It was titled "Becoming an accessibility-focused developer". And it went so well! I was nervous in the run up but people were really nice and asked lots of good questions after 😁

The video will be released soon but I have the slides up on bit.ly/a11y-focused-developer in case you're interested

Thread Thread
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

This is amazing! Thank you for sharing the slides I will check them out. I gave my first talk 2 weeks back and I had a similar experience, people were super nice!

Thread Thread
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

Oh awesome! What did you speak about? Do you think you'll do more?

Thread Thread
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

It was titled "Web Performance Hacks 😎" I talked about HTML Parsing and Rendering in the beginning and then I talked about how we can get the first paint as quickly as possible.

And yes I loved the overall experience so I'm totally looking to do more!

Here are my slides for web performance hacks talk

Thread Thread
 
s_aitchison profile image
Suzanne Aitchison

That sounds so interesting! I'll definitely check out the slides 😁

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

Woot Woot πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad

Launched the beta of my startup debugg.me and had 3 users sign up on the first day! It's not much but it's honest work :)

Collapse
 
dansilcox profile image
Dan Silcox

Nice job! Nice meme reference too ;)
Honest work meme

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

That is an awesome looking landing page

Collapse
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad

Thanks! It means a lot. The landing page is one of the things I'm most proud of

Collapse
 
victorhazbun profile image
Victor Hazbun

NICE! πŸŽ‰

Collapse
 
markoshiva profile image
Marko Shiva

I made my first Android app, at least something that I can actually call a functional app. Its a game.

Also I done full backend of one of my projects in flask so it stayed to finish when I have time the part that is frontend related. It will be Vue.js.
Also I worked on one more of my projects and done quite a lot on the level on improving my organisation and notes talking and prioritisation.

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

I learned about publishto.dev/ and queued up a number of articles.

I kicked off a new series with my article what-is-kedro. The next one will be out on Monday.

what-is-kedro

Collapse
 
yechielk profile image
Yechiel Kalmenson
Collapse
 
chechenev profile image
Maxim Chechenev

Wrote my first article here and it’s quite nice feeling, it makes me want to write and share more :)

Collapse
 
waylonwalker profile image
Waylon Walker

The DEV community seems to have that effect on many of us! Please share a link. This is a place you are welcome to plug your work shamelessly.

Collapse
 
chechenev profile image
Maxim Chechenev
Collapse
 
pandafy profile image
Gagan Deep

I fixed a bug on a Django web application. The development server used to crash while converting HTML to PDF using WeasyPrint with Segmentation Fault. I found the reason to be wrong external URL which was making it to fail. It took a whole week to find this out. I wish I was a better developer.

Collapse
 
integerman profile image
Matt Eland

I posted my first lesson to YouTube, had a [redacted] and will be [redacted]!

Collapse
 
alvaromontoro profile image
Alvaro Montoro

After writing a couple of web-relared arricles, I got the CSS badge on DEV.

At work, the whole team had a great sprint, we had a release of our component library, and got closer to our end of March deadline πŸ™‚

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

I did a lot of productive work on a side project that I've been thinking about for a long time! It is going to be an API based on #Laravel. I like how it is turning out so far, but there's still a lot of work to be done.

I just released my landing page though: quizapi.io

Collapse
 
johndinhtech profile image
John Dinh

My wins this week were...

  • Taking the initiative of turning web development as a hobby to web development as a career.

  • Taught myself Docker so I could transition deploying my apps from Heroku to DigitalOcean (Saving a bunch of money each month)

  • Attended a coding meetup where I actually engage with other members

  • Created my portfolio design from scratch and deployed a pixel-perfect copy that was mobile responsive.

  • Sent out my first resume

Thank you so much for this post to help me reflect on this hectic week. I wasn't confident if making the decision to turn my hobby into a career was the right choice in my life, but I definitely feel like I am moving towards... well, something :)

Collapse
 
saurabhdaware profile image
Saurabh Daware 🌻

Lately, I was finding it a little difficult to write but this month I ended up writing 3 articles!

Also, I made GUI for DEV.to widget 🌻:
dev-widget.netlify.com/create

Collapse
 
botanical profile image
Jennifer Tran

I successfully managed to trim my cat's nails this week for the first time ever 😺