DEV Community

Cover image for Dec. 6, 2019: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on • Updated on

Dec. 6, 2019: What did you learn this week?

Photo by Road Trip with Raj on Unsplash

It's that time of the week again. So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

Image of the brain

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

And remember, if something you learnt was a big win for you, then you know where to drop it as well.👇👇🏻👇🏼👇🏽👇🏾👇🏿

Winning!

Top comments (20)

Collapse
 
richardeschloss profile image
Richard Schloss • Edited
  • I learned how to pick myself up after getting knocked down a few times. Not as easy as it sounds sometimes.
  • As far as technical skills, I learned CSS grid because @mustapha was nice enough to write about it. I think that'll be exactly the thing I need for my next side project.
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

Great skill to know how to pick yourself back up.

Also, if you’re into CSS grid at the moment, @wesbos has an amazing free course that was sponsored by Mozilla. Check out cssgrid.io.

Collapse
 
jwp profile image
John Peters

I too have taken the deep dive into Grid. My thoughts are Bootstrap et. al. are now obsolete. But....the community is just now realizing that.

Collapse
 
orimdominic profile image
Orim Dominic Adah

I learnt Flutter and Dart this week.

On Dart, I learnt its syntax and data structures. I'm still learning it and plan to apply it to solving popular algorithm puzzles. Dart also compiles to JavaScript! The language, like my boss told me jokingly, is a combination of the best of JavaScript and Java

On Flutter.. Wow! I'm so excited about the framework. One UI toolkit for android, iOS and the web, and expectantly Fuschia too! I'm hooked!

Collapse
 
mrnaif2018 profile image
MrNaif2018

I've learned a lot about new different data structures and algorithms, including:
Segment tree, Deikstra algorithm, greedy algorithm, repeated and relearned DFS and BFS.
Prepraring for my coding competition tomorrow (:

Collapse
 
tacomanick profile image
Nick Shattuck

Not learned, but I feel pretty comfortable with version control basics:

  • Add
  • Commit
  • Push
  • Pull

Mind you I haven't needed to try its various other features but I feel pretty comfortable with the above!

Collapse
 
bolajahmad profile image
bolajahmad

So, I finally learnt all I think I need to know about react and react native to get going for my first full time reactjs project which y'all should expect in the coming weeks (even though we might end up building it together). I've not decided yet but I'm thinking of a weather app, a news search, or a calculator... I'm also open to suggestions but I think my mind is fixed on 2 of those if not all 3.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

Batman doing the weather

Collapse
 
nand0 profile image
NaNdo

This week I learned:

Any advice on what I should learn next is welcomed 😁

Collapse
 
metalmikester profile image
Michel Renaud

Just more JavaScript stuff related to handling returns from XMLHttpRequest. I wouldn't have learned it if whoever wrote the original code had written it correctly. :) (An optimistic bunch who assumes everything will go well, while I'm a fatalist who tries to handle potential errors that can be returned). It was frustrating not knowing what was going on, but very rewarding when I figured it out.

There's always some weird thing to learn in JavaScript. I'm still relatively new at web app development.

Collapse
 
ryansmith profile image
Ryan Smith • Edited

Learned a bit more about web components and Stencil through working on my personal website. Specifically about pre-rendering HTML then "hydrating" the app with JavaScript and offline caching. I'm liking this library so far!

I also learned some basics of Ruby/Rails and set up a practice project. Not much, but it is a start. I hope to learn enough to contribute to the DEV codebase.

Collapse
 
jinglescode profile image
Jingles (Hong Jing)

I learn about this cool machine learning architecture call UNet++, that aims to improve segmentation accuracy, with a series of nested, dense skip pathways.

Experiment it with PyTorch on my medical images dataset, it is small (usually medical dataset are small) yet it is able to perform.

Wrote about it in this article to help me digest the paper for future reference and for sharing with all of you!

Collapse
 
pachicodes profile image
Pachi 🥑

This week I learned what is Blockchain and a intro go GO language at a Women Who Code conference. Not my area (I am a front-ed gal) but it was fun to learn !

Collapse
 
louis profile image
Louis Augry

Some piano basics

Collapse
 
junlow profile image
jun • Edited

Understanding about Vue.js lifecycle hooks with created + activated for keep-alive components 🤓and new piano sonata

Collapse
 
puritanic profile image
Darkø Tasevski

Brightscript :|

Collapse
 
simonced profile image
simonced

Improving my Clojure skills with writing an application that connects to socket.io server for benchmarking purposes.

I worked in the repl all the week, and it's addicting!

Collapse
 
malwarebo profile image
Irfan

Rust