DEV Community

Cover image for January 27th, 2022: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

January 27th, 2022: What did you learn this week?

It's that time of the week again. So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

![Yoda wooping someone's butt](https://media.giphy.com/media/yDYAHbqe5DfyM/giphy.gif)

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

Top comments (30)

Collapse
 
annetawamono profile image
Anneta Wamono

I did a technical test at the end of last week that, in my opinion, didn't go very well. From that experience, I learned how long it takes for me to tackle programming tasks. It'll help me gauge my timing for whenever the next test rolls around.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

The More You Know NBC TV campaign video capture

Collapse
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F • Edited

I have decided to create a new portfolio using Gatsby. I've never used Gatsby (or any SSG) before this week, but have some experience with React. Having a great experience so far!

What did you learn this week, Nick?

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice

Collapse
 
abhimanyut0800 profile image
Abi

Just started my coding basics

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Let's go!

A kid twirling in a cowboy outfit firing pistols that are their fingers

Collapse
 
babafemijk profile image
babafemij-k

I dipped my hand into React and I learnt about the very basics. Like the difference between imperative and declarative programming, JSX, components and the virtual DOM.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Amy Poehler and Seth Green high fiving on News Update

Collapse
 
ezeanamichael profile image
EzeanaMichael

I learned how to use python for data science ill probably be diving into machine learning soon

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Hot Rod saying Cool beans!

Collapse
 
bekahhw profile image
BekahHW

I learned about End to End Deep Neural Networks. A little bit of a deep dive into convolutional neural networks and recurrent neural networks. My brain is still recovering. lol

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Actor from Game of Thrones saying Nice!

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

I decided to hop back on mobile app development again after 3 years. 🥺

So I started with Android. First I did the basics of Kotlin language, then I make a very basic app and now I am learning advanced topics like networking. storage etc.!

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

you can do anything vaibhav, just start it

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Hehe yes already started, lots to come! Thanks.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

BB-8 giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

Learned and created a single page responsive product landing page

take a look, share your ideas and suggestions to improve the look and feel!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Yeah!

A T-Rex saying Yeah!

Collapse
 
thepineapple profile image
Toke Malaolu

Hello everyone, #beginner here...
This week I learned about Internal & External CSS on Scrimba

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

keep it up toke,

All the best for next steps

you can ask your all questions and issues related to web

We(DEV) will love to help you :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Actor Zach Galifianakis giving a thumbs up in a convertible car

Collapse
 
mrsharm profile image
Mukund Raghav Sharma (Moko) • Edited
  • Revised DFS + BFS for both adjacency matrix and list, Recursive tree algorithms, binary search, linked lists.
  • Dived deep into the implicit malloc implementation based on this.
  • Read and re-read the Garbage Collection Design doc from the Book of the Runtime from here.
  • Learnt about how the Pinned Object Heap is tuned from here.
  • Started the .NET Memory Expert course from here.
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome!

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
highcenburg profile image
Vicente G. Reyes

Started learning InfoSec on freeCodeCamp

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome!

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
andrewbrown profile image
Andrew Brown 🇨🇦

I thought I learned K8s until I tired to run my own cluster LOL.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Processing data via an animated gif

Collapse
 
posandu profile image
Posandu

Learned that Nick Taylor loves GIF's 😂

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

It's True - Dwight Shrute

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Kirk and Bones nodding to each other in Star Trek