DEV Community

Cover image for May 19th, 2022: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on • Updated on

May 19th, 2022: What did you learn this week?

It's that time of the week again. So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

Michael Scott from The Office dancing and saying "Almost the weekend!"

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

Top comments (31)

Collapse
 
dhravya profile image
Dhravya

I realised that my React skills were slowly proving to be a bottleneck, so I learnt all the react concepts and the internal workings, now I feel pretty confident about react.
I also learnt what actual designing is, and how to really make good looking websites

I also re-learnt (went through the docs) of the amazing NextJS. I felt like I hadn't really grasped the concepts of datafetching (getServerSideProps, getStaticPaths, etc). This week, I was 1% better than the last.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Bobby Moynahan character from SNL saying awesome!

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

I learned that writing cover or motivation letter and tailoring resume are super hard 😅

Also, I learned about a React hooks useRef this week 😊

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

Nice

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

I learned that this is the 11th annual Global Accessibility Awareness Day. Pretty cool!

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Jake Peralta from Brooklyn Nine Nine saying Hella Fresh!

Collapse
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F

This week I learned about the ControlValueAccessor in Angular Forms. This comes in handy in the event you are creating an Angular Form and want to create a reusable component such as an input. I've always just inlined whatever I need, but this would definitely come in handy if you have a form heavy app and will reuse the same field. I'm also exploring the UX trends for signup and login pages. If you've got a link to a useful article, please share :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Dog from GoT with friend chicken

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Loki holding KFC

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

I learned on Codepen if you type a tag and them TAB it auto completes the tag.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Deadpool drawing a rainbow above his head with his hands

Collapse
 
jarvisscript profile image
Chris Jarvis

I wrote a TIL blog about ir dev.to/jarvisscript/codepen-shortc...

Collapse
 
diballesteros profile image
Diego (Relatable Code)

Learned about some more flags when using yarn. The --immutable flag which is used for aborting with an error exit code if the lockfile was to be modified.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

TIL!

Today I learned

Collapse
 
spencerbenson profile image
Spencer Benson Njuguna

Hi all. Happy to join. :)

Collapse
 
atulcodex profile image
🚩 Atul Prajapati 🇮🇳

I learned that "Today if i will west my time then tomorrow time will make me wastage" :|

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Tyler Durden in Fight Club saying We do not talk about Fight Club

Collapse
 
asheeshh profile image
ashish

learning to ask better questions in discussion posts :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

BB-8 giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
glenn_miller_860ba12ffbf7 profile image
Glenn A Miller

I learned my LLC was filed and approved in the state of PA.

It's been a nightmare.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Oof! Glad you got it filed.

Dog slipping ice and sliding on their belly

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I learned a lot about AWS Lambda from this exchange.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome!

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
spencerbenson profile image
Spencer Benson Njuguna

For the weeks ahead, I'm building booking.com app. Who'd like use to be each other's pace setters? :)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Best of luck!

A crab dancing

Collapse
 
nartvt profile image
tai tran

team work
Distributed lock

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

A kangaroo playing an electric guitar

Collapse
 
sherrydays profile image
Sherry Day

I've been diving into Vite

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Pam from The Office saying Nice!