DEV Community

Cover image for June 2nd, 2022: What did you learn this week?
Nick Taylor
Nick Taylor

Posted on

June 2nd, 2022: What did you learn this week?

It's that time of the week again. So wonderful devs, what did you learn this week? It could be programming tips, career advice etc.

Image of the brain

Feel free to comment with what you learnt and/or reference your TIL post to give it some more exposure.

#todayilearned

Summarize a concept that is new to you.

Photo by Joshua Dow on Unsplash

Top comments (46)

Collapse
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F

I've been playing around with Svelte/SvelteKit recently and I love it. I've learned so much. I'm currently playing with forms in Svelte and experimenting with different form and validation libraries. Where are the Svelte jobs? 😀 😀

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor • Edited

Nice!

A kangaroo playing an electric guitar

Maybe check out the Svelte Society for Svelte job postings? Maybe my coworker @brittneypostma has suggesrions for good places to look for Svelte job postings as she’s very active in the Svelte community.

Collapse
 
brittneypostma profile image
Brittney Postma

Of course! The Svelte discord has a jobs channel that is constantly getting new opportunities and there is a Svelte jobs newsletter.
svelte.dev/chat
sveltejobs.dev/jobs/dockyard-ux-de...

Thread Thread
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F

Thanks @brittneypostma !

Collapse
 
juniordevforlife profile image
Jason F

Awesome, thanks for that Nick!

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff • Edited

Working with types in your libraries/packages is difficult. I'm writing a json validation library for dart, and working with types is a pain xD Not using types, that's not that hard, but passing types around and expecting certain types and so on is quite difficult.

PD: Not difficult to do, difficult to do well

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Dog slipping ice and sliding on their belly

Collapse
 
nombrekeff profile image
Keff

Acurate xD

Collapse
 
declanpossnett profile image
Declan Possnett

This week I learned that I probably have ADHD. This is quite a bizarre concept for me, given that I am 30 years old. But suddenly everything makes sense. I also learned that a lot of fellow coders have ADHD, and that there are support communities out there. So yeah, not much in terms of technical skills this week but a massive and potentially life changing realization that I believe will help in my career and personal development alike.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

It doesn’t always have to be about the code. 😎

The More You Know NBC TV campaign video capture

Collapse
 
tinfoil_knight profile image
Kunal • Edited

Started learning Rust. Went through the first half of The Rust Programming Language.

Currently trying to build PNGme to get some hands-on experience.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

A crab dancing

Collapse
 
ghani91 profile image
Ghani91

hey folks, i have started dev in frontend with HTML/ CSS and of-course the great JS.
Last week, i have been trying Typography, Images, Semantic Elements and HTML Forms elements.
looking to connect with new friends in the web dev space and want to grow in the frontend dev space

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

That's awesome! 🔥

Yes, that's awesome!

Collapse
 
rajeshroyal profile image
Rajesh Royal

Learned testing on steroid - Cypress 😉

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

BB-8 giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
johnmunsch profile image
John Munsch

I learned from a friend that every Docker container can have its own health check built in (very handy) and I'm re-exploring using Firebase's authentication for my apps so I don't have to bother rolling my own.

Firebase's solution is free (other than phone authentication; which I don't really care that much about) and would provide a very simple solution that would scale well and should plug in easily. Once I've got it all smooth and easy I'll probably write up an article with a lovely clickbait title like, "Don't write your auth; let Firebase give it to you for free!" or something equally ridiculous.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Tommy Boy saying That was awesome!

Collapse
 
sudoehtisham profile image
Ehtisham-sudo

1:Linux for cyber security
2:Penetration Testing methodology and Standards
3:Basics Training in lab environment
4:How to defend against Cyber Attacks
5:Log analysis for cyber Attack and remediation
6:Wordpress Security Testing

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Stephen Colbert saying Awesome Sauce

Collapse
 
psypher1 profile image
James 'Dante' Midzi

After building my personal site with Eleventy ,watched a stream and learned about the things i need to work on to make it perform better..

Also: git add -p - this is my new favourite command

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Awesome!

Hackerman from Kung Fury putting on a Nintendo Power glove

Collapse
 
lksmrqrdt profile image
Lukas Marquardt • Edited

I've started Adrian Cantrill's course for the "AWS Certified Solutions Architect - Associate" certification.
So far, I'm very impressed with the depth of information. The course not only prepares me for the test but also for the job itself.

I also purchased the Book Rust by Rustaceans to improve my skills as a Software Engineer. I would also highly appreciate any additional learning resources.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Nice!

Nice

Collapse
 
marcelorafaelfeil profile image
Marcelo Rafael

I learned a new design pattern and started to read a book about it.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Sounds like it would make a great blog post! 😎

Bobby Moynahan character from SNL saying awesome!

Collapse
 
marcelorafaelfeil profile image
Marcelo Rafael

It's a good idea to fix the knowledge and contribute with the community. I hope to do it soon.

Collapse
 
analyze0 profile image
Analyze_

I was able to make a Decimal to Binary calculator (cpp). After I had finished this I tried to make a Binary to Decimal decoder, but it didn't work out and I had to use geeksforgeeks.org for help. I eventually figured it all out and I am pretty happy.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Yeah!

A T-Rex saying Yeah!

Collapse
 
kithminiii profile image
Kithmini

Learned about React Hooks.💫​

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Captain America saluting

Collapse
 
envoy_ profile image
Vedant Chainani
Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Kylo Ren on Undercover Boss giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
adiatiayu profile image
Ayu Adiati

I learned about useContext in React.
Still need to wrap my head around it though 😄

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Pam from The Office saying Nice!