DEV Community

Phil Nash
Phil Nash

Posted on

What developer podcasts do you listen to or watch?

I've never really gotten into podcasts, but I feel like now is the time.

I'd really love to hear your recommendations for podcasts that you listen to or watch. I mainly program in JavaScript or Ruby, so things in that space are good, but I'm interested in general too.

Thanks!

Top comments (29)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

I'm a consistent listener to The Bike Shed. Here's the last episode

And Software Engineering Daily, here's one from recently I liked:

And Changelog, really liked this one:

P.S. You can put these players from podcasts on dev.to in posts like such:


{% podcast bikeshed/135-a-series-of-unfortunate-examples %}

...but I'm not 100% sure yet that it won't be buggy. πŸ™ƒ

Collapse
 
mattstratton profile image
Matty Stratton

FYI, I don’t know if it’s a mobile issue, but when I tried the podcast markdown trick in Safari for iOS, i just got the moving icon in the page that made it look like it was β€œthinking”.

Collapse
 
philnash profile image
Phil Nash

Thanks for the tips! Is there anything particular about those series that attracts you or keeps you coming back?

Also, the embedding in comments looks good, but the site notification and email notification are a bit broken.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Oh, good to know. Could you forward the email to yo@dev.to?

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

You said "watch" as well, so I'll shamelessly promote my programming stream :)

I do mainly hands-on work in Fuse, or algorithm and complexity using Leaf.

Collapse
 
philnash profile image
Phil Nash

Ah cool, I've followed you on Twitch. I used to do some streaming and might start that up again in 2018 too.

Collapse
 
aspittel profile image
Ali Spittel

I mostly listen to CodeNewbie and BaseCS! I have been programming for a while and I always learn so much from the podcasts.

Collapse
 
philnash profile image
Phil Nash

I keep hearing such good things about BaseCS, so I better give it a listen. And I really should have thought about CodeNewbie, I love Saron's work!

Thanks for the suggestions!

Collapse
 
shenril profile image
Shenril

I would greatly recommend CodingBlocks
codingblocks.net/

Great trio with a good balance, interesting topics and always the passion :)

Collapse
 
jamesdengel profile image
James dengel

I would agree here I listen on my lunches :)

Collapse
 
chiangs profile image
Stephen Chiang

I enjoy Adventures in Angular and JavaScript Jabber....if you go to their main site, they also have a Ruby podcast

devchat.tv

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Ruby Rogues was the first dev podcast I got into. Still like it but don't listen as much any more. It's still pretty good but it definitely had a glory day a few years ago.

Collapse
 
philnash profile image
Phil Nash

I had a Twitter recommendation for JSJabber too, so I'm definitely checking that out. Thanks for the suggestion :)

Collapse
 
ripsup profile image
Richard Orelup

The 2 I listen to regularly are

Hanselminutes - hanselminutes.com/

Stack Overflow Podcast - stackoverflow.blog/podcasts/

Hanselminutes I enjoy because the guests come from lots of different areas and levels of expertise so it's interesting to hear what they are doing and some of the story behind it.

Stack Overflow Podcast I think is just fun dev humor and with a little bit of shop talk in the middle.

Collapse
 
eduardort profile image
Eduardo Reyes

Cool! I didn't know SO had a podcast.

Collapse
 
philnash profile image
Phil Nash

Thanks for the suggestions! And wow, I'm on Stack Overflow almost every day and I didn't know they had a podcast!

Collapse
 
justinctlam profile image
Justin Lam
Collapse
Collapse
 
thiagoarrais profile image
Thiago Arrais

My favourites are Hanselminutes, Greater Than Code and Code Newbies.

All of those are language-agnostic, but Code Newbies and Greater Than Code have deep roots in the Ruby community. You may like that.

Hanselminutes has been around for a long time and covers a lot of topics. One week you may listen about embedded systems and the next there may be an episode about frontend web development and machine learning. The host always manages to keep the conversation very pragmatic.

Greater Than Code has a very diverse panel and receives a guest every week. They focus mostly on the social implications of technology. The conversation is one step above rote code but always very practical.

Code Newbies has a slight focus on career advice and brings interviewees from all kinds of backgrounds.

These ones are also worth a look:

  • The Bike Shed
  • Developer on Fire
  • Security Now
Collapse
 
mattstratton profile image
Matty Stratton

Not to be all self-promotional, but I’m kind of fond of Arrested DevOps

I would also suggest Go Time and Software Defined Talk

Collapse
 
rbanffy profile image
Ricardo BΓ‘nffy

I don't listen as often as I used to, but the itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/errant... is a favorite. It's more high level and talks about the industry as a whole but, the most important thing, it's shorter than my morning commute.

I rarely finish podcasts that last for more than 30 minutes unless they are incredibly interesting.

Collapse
 
eduardort profile image
Eduardo Reyes
Collapse
 
saidarab profile image
Said Arab • Edited

I highly recommend developer tea, it's a great non technical podcast that talk about burnouts and productivity and many other problems that devs encounter in the non technical area

Collapse
 
blackbird profile image
Omkar Ajnadkar • Edited
Collapse
 
kaustly profile image
k e | | y

Front End Happy Hour!