DEV Community

Cover image for I Just Hit 10000+ Followers on Dev.To
Scofield Idehen
Scofield Idehen

Posted on

I Just Hit 10000+ Followers on Dev.To

I just hit 10000 followers on dev.to, thanks to the amazing followers who made the journey exciting and to all the critical comments that helped shaped my writing better.

I am grateful for your time and effort.

To many more exciting post in the future.

Top comments (18)

Collapse
 
jacktt profile image
Jack

I have realized that the new users will automatically follow us.

Collapse
 
jacktt profile image
Jack • Edited

I apologize for any confusion caused by the term "incorrect" in the phrase "automatically follow" in this sentence.

In reality, when you create a new account, dev.to will present you with a list of suggested users that you will automatically follow, along with a button to deselect all. However, due to this onboarding process, I believe that most users will end up following the default selected users.

This is how your follower count continues to increase day by day.

Collapse
 
mohitsinghchauhan profile image
MohitSinghChauhan

Ok now it make more sense. Thanks for the info!

Thread Thread
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

yes it does, i was amazed at the numbers i do sometimes and i really needed this clarification

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

This makes more sense now

Collapse
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra πŸ’«

I have kind of realized that as well, why do you think that is? Part of the system?πŸ€”

Collapse
 
jacktt profile image
Jack

I think it's a good growth hack idea.

I have also noticed many other "features" on dev.to that have increased my loyalty to this platform.

Thread Thread
 
sarahokolo profile image
sahra πŸ’«

I always just thought it's users that connects with our posts from other social platforms, which brings them here🀷then they just create a new account and follow.

Thread Thread
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Care to share, I would think this would be a great subject for an article.

Thread Thread
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Now I am very curious.

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

πŸ€”

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Really!

Do you have any data to back this up?

I would be interested in reading about it.

Collapse
 
jacktt profile image
Jack

Check your notification center; you can see someone's new posts there. When you click on their posts, the author will be indicated as someone you're following. I have never followed any users on dev.to, but after clicking, I noticed that my account is now following so many users.

Thread Thread
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

i do not think that is true, i look at different writeup mostly from my notificstion bar, but i do not automatically follow them.

i am only following just one one person and that has remain same.

Collapse
 
godot profile image
Godot

I'm interested as well. But I am unsure if it's automatic? I do know that many other platforms often "recommends" pre-existing profiles on new users based on the interest that they type during onboarding process.

As for Dev.to, they recommend profiles as well. Try to browse in a private tab and you'll see some authors get the spots!

Collapse
 
soumyadeepdey profile image
Soumyadeep Dey β˜‘οΈ

@ben Whats Do You think about dev.to followers count feature?

Collapse
 
scofieldidehen profile image
Scofield Idehen

Are they really digital number because then I should be following people as well.

What do you think?

Collapse
 
godot profile image
Godot

Congrats for the milestone πŸŽ‰ I wish I could reach that point as well one day πŸ˜‚