DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v10

Hey there! Welcome to dev.to!

A penguin waves and says, "Hello!"

Welcome!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Go, go, go! 🐧

Top comments (228)

Collapse
 
whoisryosuke profile image
Ryosuke • Edited

Hello fellow devnauts,

Just signed up. I've been a dev for over a decade now! I've recently been looking for communities to connect with other likeminded people. Happy to see how kind everyone has been with the likes and unicorns and whatnot 🤘😁

If you like cannabis and you code, hit me up! ✌️😚💨 I'd love to see what kind of dank code you're creating.

Pressing face against the glass

Collapse
 
r17x profile image
r17x

Cannabis Code Coffe - Good Job sir

Collapse
 
iamcoderisk profile image
Prince E. Darlington
Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Excited to have you here! We write with Markdown around here. Here's a cheatsheet.

Also, here's one of my favorite articles so far:

Collapse
 
daniordonez profile image
Daniel Ordonez

A great point to start and strive to become a better developer •﹏• Thnx

Collapse
 
alexfogaca96 profile image
Álex Fogaça

Thanks for the tips and the article recommendation!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome welcome welcome!

All are welcome to contribute. Giving a ❤️ or 🦄 to encourage the stuff you like is a great way to do so if you're not sure what kind of post or comment you might want to leave.

Please treat comments like you might in a face-to-face setting like at a conference. Show respect, be constructive, and asking follow up questions to the author or others is always appreciated. It's a great way for us to all learn.

Collapse
 
trumanone1 profile image
Momen Hesham

Yes it's a great way for us to all learn :D

Collapse
 
daniordonez profile image
Daniel Ordonez

⊙﹏⊙ Hi! I'm Daniel.
I have some background on cs and coding is one of my favorite activities.( ´_ゝ`) My weakest points include the lack of experience and self-discipline.(˘︶˘)I'm always looking for new friends.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Welcome! Lots of friendly people around here. :)

Collapse
 
lkreimann profile image
Lea Reimann 🦄 • Edited

I lack discipline a lot too 😅 but I want to learn so much! Luckily I have lots of ideas for projects I would like to do at the moment :) What are you "working" on? 😁

Collapse
 
daniordonez profile image
Daniel Ordonez

Aside of my many unfinished projects, I might be completing some freeCodeCamp challenges 🤔. What about you? 😀

Thread Thread
 
lkreimann profile image
Lea Reimann 🦄 • Edited

I want to write an app with React Native but I need to do more in C++ first (I need it for school). But I think I will start building the app soon :) Will be something more private I guess but who knows what lies ahead?! :D
I wish you a lot of fun with your projects and of course at freeCodeCamp! I enjoyed learning there about web technoliges a bit too :) (not finished though - ha I'm such a slug)

Thread Thread
 
daniordonez profile image
Daniel Ordonez

Yeah! me too 😋 I also wanted to make Native app in the near future, but since I feel more comfortable using Vue, probably will use NativeScript 🤝

Bests coding ;)

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
benshine profile image
Benji Shine

Hi Lee! I am in San Francisco and I’m an experienced dev. I’m interested in talking to a Holberton school student and seeing what life is like there. Let’s connect!

Collapse
 
eightlimbed profile image
Lee Gaines

Awesome! What’s the best way to contact you?

Collapse
 
veliyevyasin profile image
Yasin Veliyev

Hello Lee How are you

Collapse
 
eightlimbed profile image
Lee Gaines

Good :) how’s it going Yasin?

Collapse
 
buzduganalex1 profile image
Buzdugan Alexandru

Hello Lee,

Nice to see you here and good luck (y)

Collapse
 
gameguy43 profile image
Parker Phinney

Hi, I'm Parker! I like to write about coding interviews, tech careers, impostor syndrome, and not giving up.

Collapse
 
lkreimann profile image
Lea Reimann 🦄

Hey Parker,
thanks for doing that! Hope I'll read a lot of your stuff, definitely need that :)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Awesome to have you

Collapse
 
f0rsakenc0der profile image
f0rsakenc0der

Yo!
My name is George,
Just another big dreamer - little doer here.

Was in the IT field back in my high school, and didn't like code at all!
I've tried bunch of stuff, artistic mostly but left them half-way through.
Then I wanted to try and study something in the field of nature and forestry.. but being honest with myself, i can't even stand reading biology, geography and so on ^
Plus i was/am poor af, if you pardon my language. But that's another story.

So I decided to give code a chance after watching YT videos, reading articles, understanding that its probably the most wanted profession out there right now, etc.

Now I realize that, basically code IS Art.. tell that to someone that doesn't know a bit about it, and they will be afraid of it and tell you it's a bunch of lines-of-ultimate-frustration.
That's what i thought back in school too.

Nevertheless, gladly i got hooked with it ^ So from now on i want to make a turn in my life and finally develop a skill, so that i can too, contribute out to the real world and not be a little doer any more. (Tired of being a senseless waiter too.)

I am still in the "tutorial" part though, Web development is what i chose, after trying Java and Android as well.
I know it's a hard and long way to go, but then again... what isn't?

Looking forward exploring code with you guys, and i wish to all of us, to never lose hope and keep trying!
Stephen Hawking despite his hardships, found the courage and the motivation to become great!

Thanks _^

Collapse
 
tgransden profile image
Tom Gransden

Hello, I'm Tom. I have a PhD in Computer Science and have been working at a cyber security company making mobile apps for a couple of years. I have been a long time reader of the site but never actually signed up but it seems like an awesome community!

Collapse
 
seanballais profile image
Sean Francis N. Ballais

Cool! Kind of considering taking up a PhD in CS. Is it worth it?

Collapse
 
edwardmuturi profile image
Edward Muturi • Edited

Hello Everyone,
I am Edward. A friend shared a post that I liked and related with it, read it and loved it :). I'm currently learning Android, I love linux and had an obsession for everything low level ;) ( C++). This is a community I have been searching for all my programming years :(. Now I found it ♡:)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome Edward!

Collapse
 
edwardmuturi profile image
Edward Muturi

thank you

Collapse
 
dhirajdasindia profile image
Dhiraj Das

Hi,

I'm Dhiraj, founder of a resource blog called begindot.com and I have also stated some popular blogs in the past such as sourcewp.com.

We have been creating content around the resources for developers, WordPress related resources, fonts, logos etc. You can find some resources for your next design at begindot.com.

This looks like a great place to learn a lot of things :)

Collapse
 
kentaro_koga profile image
kentaro koga@fukuoka

Hi guys:) I’m Kentaro from Japan.
I’m front-end developer n interested in new dev tools, React, Vue, Webpack, Express, Heroku n stuff like that.
I’m really keen on learning new things n pumped up to build things:)
My background n my uni degree ain’t about computer science or sth related to Web development but I started learning web development n I’d love to build more skills on this area:)

So glad to be part of this community.

Collapse
 
benshine profile image
Benji Shine

Hi! Do you live in Japan? 一人で日本語を勉強します。

Collapse
 
alexxnorton profile image
Alex Norton

Originally from Ireland, living in the UK. I love snooker, running and rainy days. I'm a web developer and affiliate marketing intermediate who's having trouble building profitable campaigns. I have had conversions in different verticals but I have not generated any sort of ROI. Would love to learn more from my fellow marketers here and grow with you.

Collapse
 
trumanone1 profile image
Momen Hesham

I am Momen, anyone can call me Mo, i am front-end developer, i am interested in many fields, i am in high school, i love computer science and learning so much so that i can set all the day work if i am learning new thing or useful thing, but if it trash i will hate the time i waste in it, i will can't write more about my self :D

Collapse
 
trumanone1 profile image
Momen Hesham

I forgot to answer about what brought me here, I see my friend share a question here on facebook, so i entire to here and discover, in the first I don't like it, but with more browsing I like it so much, people write posts 'Explain something to me like I am five' or similar things, it's so cool benefit from you and I like all discuss here it's so useful.

Collapse
 
apotheon profile image
Chad Perrin

Hi. I'm new here, but not to coding. I believe I'm better than average, but I'm still only a mediocre programmer. I like Occam's razor, not only when seeking explanations, but also when building things; simplicity makes code, documentation, and licensing better. On that note, I think I'm done.

Collapse
 
shywim profile image
Matthieu Harlé

Heyo! I'm Matthieu but Matt should be easier to spell. 😃

I'm into programming since ~10 years but I'm new in the market (still 1 year of study and off we go!)

I found this site through hacker news and after looking at what was posted here I decided I should join the discussions! 😊

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.