DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v25

Hey there! Welcome to dev.to!

Happy New Year!

Leave a comment below to introduce yourself to the community!✌️

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment and say hello or ask them a question. 👋

  3. Or answer this question: what's one thing you want to start learning?

Top comments (138)

Collapse
 
r4h33m profile image
Raheem

Happy New Year, everyone! May your 2019 be filled with met deadlines, fixed bugs and smooth product releases. I'm currently taking my first steps into mobile development with Flutter, and damn, it's such a fun framework.

Hoping to release my first app this year!

Collapse
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

Hi Raheem,

I look forward to reading your thoughts on Flutter, it seems to be a rising force.

Collapse
 
r4h33m profile image
Raheem • Edited

I'll write some proper posts about Flutter here soon, but my first impression after using it for around a week is: "app development the way it should be".

The thing is, I have no experience making apps any other way, but everything just seems to work perfectly with Flutter. It is certainly has it's cons, but they are undoubtedly worth it for the speed and simplicity you get with Flutter. It's the best framework I've ever used, period.

(Not that I've used that many though...)

Thread Thread
 
peterwitham profile image
Peter Witham

Thanks for the follow up, looking forward to the posts. Happy investigations :)

Collapse
 
victorinspace profile image
Victor Velasquez

Woah, this is neat!

Thanks for adding this to my "what to look out for" list!

It's impressive to have so much power with their custom widgets, and interesting architecture using Dart (also something I've not heard of)! Count me as also being excited about your Flutter post!

Collapse
 
basebandit profile image
basebandit

Hi Raheem.Flutter is indeed such a fun filled.Makes building apps a breeze.Am also learning built two simple apps so far.Looking forward to reading your thoughts here on your experience with it.

Collapse
 
basebandit profile image
basebandit

Hi Raheem,
Flutter is indeed such a fun filled.Makes building apps a breeze.Am also learning built two simple apps so far.Looking forward to reading your thoughts here on your experience with it.

Collapse
 
markpalfreeman profile image
Mark Palfreeman

Hey Dev.to!

I'm Mark, a UI engineer / frontend developer in the Seattle area. I love connecting with people and forming communities, and I'm interested in learning more about progressive web apps (PWA) in 2019!

Collapse
 
dannydore profile image
Danny Dore

Nice to meet you Mark! As someone who wants to learn more about using React for building web applications, what are some of your personal favorite advantages about React that other web frameworks do not offer?

Collapse
 
markpalfreeman profile image
Mark Palfreeman

Hey Danny! Starting off with Angular 1 (granted, quite a bit's changed since then), there were a few significant advantages when I learned React:

  • React as a pure UI layer that mimics good JS practices
  • Community/documentation/use cases are widespread
  • Job opportunities

Take it with a grain of salt, because I haven't looked at Angular in 2 years, and I haven't used Vue at all.

Thread Thread
 
dannydore profile image
Danny Dore • Edited

Thanks for the response and your comments on the advantages about React!

I think those are all very good points and I feel similar regarding what React offers versus Angular and Vue. I have learned about so many people on Twitter who get really good at developing with React over a very short period of time, and they end up creating beautiful and interesting web applications and land amazing job opportunities.

Collapse
 
victorinspace profile image
Victor Velasquez

Hey Mark!

I also consider myself a UI / frontend developer! I liked your points on using React in this comment thread. I currently live in Las Vegas, but I'm curious about React opportunities in Seattle?

Collapse
 
markpalfreeman profile image
Mark Palfreeman

There are tons! Seattle is a thriving market for web/JS opportunities. Amazon, Microsoft, Facebook are all using React (and growing), and there are plenty of medium sized companies around too.

Downside: we're becoming the next San Francisco and it's getting really expensive to live in/afford this area.

Collapse
 
olaishola05 profile image
Oladipupo Ishola

Hi, I'm absolute beginner at programming aiming to become a frontend developer, started coding couple of weeks ago. Currently learning JS, found myself here when stuck with swapping array in deconstructing assignment but thanks to Sarah post I was able to solve the challenge. Its great to be here.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you, beginners welcome!

Collapse
 
olaishola05 profile image
Oladipupo Ishola

Thanks

Collapse
 
iameddieyayaya profile image
Eddie Gomez

Hey there, Hopes it going well! I'm also on the same path of learning to become a frontend developer. Goodluck my friend!

Collapse
 
olaishola05 profile image
Oladipupo Ishola

Yea going on great thanks and u? Learning JS atm but kinda taking forever. Mind sharing resources you are using to learn programming??

Thread Thread
 
iameddieyayaya profile image
Eddie Gomez • Edited

Good too, haha yeah it feels like that but, hey one day at a time.

I'm currently doing the Web Development course on
theodinproject.com/

And also started; freecodecamp.org a few day's ago.

I've been also trying to practice doing some; codewars.com/
challenges when i'm at work.

Also, started reading this yesterday.
github.com/getify/You-Dont-Know-JS

Hope that helps, I'd also check out the codeNewbie podcast and Learnwithme podcast.

Thread Thread
 
olaishola05 profile image
Oladipupo Ishola • Edited

Yes it does, been using freecodecamp since I started coding, once came across theodinproject but was thinking of finishing he freecodecamp curriculum before starting odinproject. Honestly admire your learning style ability to combine multiple resources at a time. I hope one day I'll get to your level lol. Thanks for sharing and sorry for late reply.

Thread Thread
 
iameddieyayaya profile image
Eddie Gomez

Well I started with theodinproject and back in September. I feel like i'm going through it pretty slowly. I recently felt I was starting to forget the HTML/CSS stuff so I figured i'd review it going thru the freecodecamp course. And I try to listen to podcast on my commute and try to do extra coding stuff while I'm at work. There's a lot of hurry up and wait at my current job. Just try to fill in the gaps in your day to supplement you current learning. Anyway, Hope its going well! :)

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
olaishola05 profile image
Oladipupo Ishola

OK thanks.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Hello all! I want to start learning how to build desktop apps. I think Electron is going to be the easiest way, but maybe I'll learn how to make native apps.

Collapse
 
mandaputtra profile image
Manda Putra

Happy learning seems electron had a best now on desktop app. Back then memory management with electron is very hard to do. To make application like discord or vscode (big apps but use small memory on your machine) is hard. But now i thinks electron apps are growing and more faster. Good luck

Collapse
 
ahmedmkamal profile image
Ahmed Kamal
Collapse
 
b0g0n profile image
B0g0n

Hello there!
I'm Asa, a firmware engineer in Shanghai.I hope the English below is not so broken 😌
I was firstly surprised at the amazing loading speed of this site (Good job, I'm sure you have already heard this appreciation many times😁), and then many posts are informative and of high quality, like it!
I work for a server vendor thus my primary experience are in computer architecture and low level programming. I'm also interested in the general topics of computer science and software engineering.
Nice to meet you and I am happy to be here.😌

Collapse
 
derekedelaney profile image
Derek Delaney

Hello everyone, Happy New Year!

What brought me here? I just recently bought a house and ran into one of the "2 unit tests. 0 integration tests." situation gifs that @ThePraticalDev posts. I saw a fancy dev.to link in the Twitter bio and short URLs intrigue me (easily amused I guess). After reading the about page I figured I'd give it a try.

I'm a frontend developer working in the Portland area. I started learning flutter and dart. It's a really exciting language/framework. Happy to keep learning!

Collapse
 
vibhaas profile image
Vibhaas

Hi Everyone! I'm Vibhaas and I found dev.to quite by accident, and it's awesome - I can't believe I never heard of it before!

I am currently learning MongoDB and React, having fun with NodeJS and working on FreeCodeCamp along with some side projects. I absolutely love the Python language and have some difficulty in shifting to Python 3. JavaScript is also one of my favourite languages though I'm sure I'll be passionate about something else entirely a few years later!

Check out my profile if you want to, though it's not very interesting currently.

I also am thinking of blogging here on dev.to, though I am new to it and quite nervous, so advice will be appreciated!

ONE FUN FACT ABOUT ME: I started coding when I was only seven - I wish I had taken it more seriously then, though!

Happy New Year Everyone!

Collapse
 
derekedelaney profile image
Derek Delaney

Thanks! The best tip is to find an interesting project to work on. I think it's ok to start with a framework like react or angular and work your way back to the basics. Too many times I've started with the basics and lost interest. Here's a free book to get started with github.com/getify/You-Dont-Know-JS

Collapse
 
dannydore profile image
Danny Dore • Edited

Hi all! I am a data analyst & student at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. I am also a fan of Seattle sports and support the Visual Snow Initiative! I am studying Economics, and enjoy data analysis and software development.

One thing I would like to start learning is React Native, as I want to be able to design cross-platform applications, and React Native is the most interesting tool to me that allows me to do cross-platform development.

Collapse
 
robfuncken profile image
Rob Funcken

Hello! I'm Rob, a fulltime photographer with a graphic design background. I have a big interest in web development, so I am currently learning JavaScript and refreshing my css skills. This looks like a nice community!

Collapse
 
joshikeno profile image
Josh Ike • Edited

Hello! Am learning and working as a front-end software developer, Learning more about programming and algorithms in general.
I'm stuck at a place where I'm trying to reignite the fire, that same fire that keeps me up for two days straight of coding, or well Learning.
Am searching here for that fire.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Collapse
 
Sloan, the sloth mascot
Comment deleted
Collapse
 
eiselems profile image
Marcus Eisele

Hi everybody!

Want to learn how to market myself as a developer and also technical things which will be on my plate for 2019.

Hope there is some quality getting started content for Android (Kotlin) Development

Collapse
 
hdaugherty profile image
Holden

Hello everyone!

  • I swore I wrote a welcome post once but I can't seem to find it!!

Anyways!!

  • I'm Holden;
  • aspiring developer, father, fiance, son, maker, and Network/Service Technician for a local school district.
  • I began Python development in a college class almost two years ago, but I just didn't stick with it. I had to much going on at the time to continue coding, but now I am back into it and determined to stick with it this time.
  • I am going to document my journey through Python and programming in general on my website that I am going to build with Python. I will provide some links to that as soon as I have it set up, it is currently in the works.
  • I found the site while listening to a Free Code Camp podcast with Ali Spittel and thought I would like to give it a try as my site is likely to be a blog/portfolio/CV website.
  • I'm glad to be here and hope to meet some amazing new people and tell you all about my journey, I hope that at least helps one person in their travels!
Thanks for having me!
Collapse
 
iamsurya profile image
Surya Vijayaraghavan

Hi All! I am Surya and I work as a Software Developer in the Bay Area.

Twitter brought me here to dev.to. I am not sure what I plan to learn this year, but some topics I am interested in, are distributed systems and microservices architectures. Looking forward to learn more this year! And wishing all a Happy 2019!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.