DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v8

Lisa and Bart Simpson saying hi

Welcome!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Let's go!

Top comments (193)

Collapse
 
mraza007 profile image
Muhammad • Edited

Hi Guys My name is Muhammad
I am currently studying CS and living in NY
My stack is Python C++ and JavaScript
I have worked with MEAN stack in the past
My hobbies included cycling, photography or learning something
I am currently working on Image Recognition App and Teaching Full Stack Web Development
I am actively looking for summer internships
I love to use dev.to for me its great place to ask questions and I found dev.to using twitter

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Woot

Collapse
 
eflouise2017 profile image
Louise

Hi, my name is louise. I am new in programming field. Recently, I have been delving into micro:bit programming. I want to learn more while sharing my micro:bit program with you. Hope you will like me!

Collapse
 
melissacodes profile image
Melissa Timmons

Hi all - I'm Melissa and I really love the web! I get excited about CSS and web animation and all the things frontend! I'm working currently at as a frontend dev at an agency in right smack in the middle of the US. There aren't a ton of other devs out this way, so it's great to meet some new folks!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you Melissa!

Collapse
 
npchampion profile image
Mike Tobias

Hello! Name's Mike. Currently working in Finance and trying to escape into JavaScript development! Been learning for about 6 months in my spare time. Lots of python and html/CSS before that - Django and such. Now I'm thoroughly enjoying mongodb, express, react/redux, and docker. Dabbling a bit in react-native, but might hold off until I can add more to my portfolio.

Find me on github, check out my website (mctdev.org), give me some tips! I'm full steam ahead on improving and starting my career in development.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Welcome! Good luck with the career switch :)

Collapse
 
andreapontex profile image
Andrea Pontex

Hi everyone, my name is Andrea. I'm a psychology student from Lima, PerΓΊ. Yes, maybe my career it's not directly related to the programming field, but I consider it one of my new hobbies, just like graphic design. I hope this year I can learn so much about HTML, Java, Python and CSS.

I'll keep searching online courses! See you!

Collapse
 
chrisvasqm profile image
Christian Vasquez

Hola Andrea!

There are lots of people with all sorts of backgrounds in dev.to like you :)

I've taken a few online courses at Udacity for web Front End Development, Java and Android already and I found them to be quite fun. Even tho they offer paid courses, you can filter them in the Catalog section to only show you the Free ones so you can have a taste of how they teach.

Collapse
 
andreapontex profile image
Andrea Pontex

Thank you so much! (:

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

πŸ™Œ

Collapse
 
stargator profile image
Stargator

There's github.com/prakhar1989/awesome-cou..., which is not comprehensive, but might help you get going in fields you might be interested in.

Collapse
 
themobiledev profile image
Chris McKay

Hi everyone! My name is Chris McKay. I've been in the industry since 1999. I've been in my current full-time job for nearly seven years. For that work I currently work in Java, ColdFusion, Angular and a little React. It's fun and I enjoy working there.

In my spare time I'm managing my mobile business. I've been doing that since 2004. It would definitely be my passion project. Currently I'm working on major software updates for my Android, Windows and server-side components. Hopefully soon I'll be deploying to iOS and MacOS.

Outside of development I enjoy spending time with my family. I also love playing video games, reading and just being outside.

I've only recently found dev.to, but I'm enjoying most of the articles here. It's nice finding others who share some of the same passions I do.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Even though we're growing fast, we're pretty new. A lot of folks only recently found us.

Collapse
 
themobiledev profile image
Chris McKay

Well, you're doing good work so keep it up!

Collapse
 
geeksrock profile image
Michelle Edmondson

Howdy! Have been coding since 2000 and I've not grown bored yet. It's more than a hobby for me; it's how I earn my living. Aside from coding, my other hobbies include raising chickens, camping, fishing and kayaking.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I've not grown bored yet

Me neither!

Collapse
 
jokamjohn profile image
John Kagga

Hey all, I am John Kagga, I love backend development. I am a Python + PhP dev. Being developing a few Backend systems. I recently fellow in Love with ReactJs and I am liking it. I am from Kampala-Uganda. I almost forgot I am an Android dev too, I like mobile development with a passion. Lastly, I like writing. I have read a few articles from this site already, cannot wait to read more.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome welcome welcome. So great to have you all!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you!

Collapse
 
jessachandler profile image
Jess Chandler

Yay! I found dev.to from the CNC2018 first mission for the blog more track that I am on. I am surprised I hadn't found it before - what a great set of resources.

  • I live in Japan, just south of Tokyo
  • I am an indie developer with ongoing iOS app and web projects
  • My biggest project this year is a service for gifting - I am using react and redux for front end, node and mongodb for back end with a little help from about a million packages and services
  • I have a goal to publish 12 apps (broadly defined) in 12 months in 2018
Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good luck with the goal!

Collapse
 
ghost profile image
Ghost

12 apps in 12 months?!?! Wow - that's a great goal!
Best wishes :)

Collapse
 
jlepagewriter profile image
Jeff Lepage

12 apps in 12 months?? Excellent!! :)

That is almost like the #1GAM Challenge that I read about. You create 1 game in 30 days, and you keep going; so that would be 12 games a year. :)

Creating is such fun isn't it? :)

Collapse
 
jessachandler profile image
Jess Chandler

Creating is fun and maddening :)

Collapse
 
amansoni profile image
Aman Soni

Good luck with the goals. It's my first time on the site and it definitely looks interesting.

I'm working in react and redux as well. (Love your gh handled :D)

Collapse
 
big_black_fella profile image
Adetoro Samuel A • Edited

Hi. Briefly->
{
name: "Samuel A. Adetoro",
occupation: "Software developer",
languages: "Java, PHP, Javascript",
platforms: "Web, Android",
OS : "Windows, Linux"
animes: "Naruto, Bleach, Samurai X",
hobbies: "Long Walks(super speed)",
fields_of_interest: "Data Analytics, AI",
side_jobs: "Social Media Strategist"
social_media: {twitter: "@big_black_fella " }
extra: "Currently working with finnacial Institution"
}

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice

Collapse
 
omarkartmo profile image
omarkartmo

Welcome Adetoro, nice to meet you what great presentation, looking forward to learn from you so far.

Collapse
 
webwizo profile image
Asif Iqbal

What a style for introduction :)
Impressive!

Collapse
 
skyoumans profile image
Skylar Youmans

Howdy everyone! My name is Skylar! I hail from Atlanta GA and am a full stack developer with skill in:

React
Ruby/Ruby on Rails
Node
Express
SQL/NoSQL
and more!

I’m currently looking for a job with a company as a junior developer.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

Welcome!

Collapse
 
ludvigsv profile image
LudvigSv

Hi Dev.to community!

My name is Ludvig, I just started web dev bootcamp at Ironhack in Miami. At the moment I'm getting my hands dirty with HTML, CSS , and JavaScript. I'm an entrepreneur who wants to learn about the the tech side of building a business. I hope to collaborate with others here on cool things!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Collapse
 
ludvigsv profile image
LudvigSv

Thanks!

Collapse
 
manikmagar profile image
Manik Magar

Hey All!

I am Manik and my blood group is Java :). I've been working with Java and related technologies for 10+ years. I am also a MuleSoft Certified Solutions Architect working as ESB Consultant. I love to Integrate systems, REST APIs, Testing and some writing on my sites JavaStreets and UnitTesters. I am here to learn more and interact with other awesome developers around.

So, Good to see you all!
Manik