DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v32

Hey there! Welcome to dev.to!

Pusheen Hi
Leave a comment below to introduce yourself to the community! ✌️

Here are some ideas to get you started:

  1. You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment and say hello or ask them a question. 👋

  3. Or answer this question: How did you get into programming, and what would you recommend to a newcomer today?

Top comments (292)

Collapse
 
sjbodzo profile image
Jess Bodzo

Hi! Dev.to started popping up on a lot of the aggregators I read to keep current. It also seems to be suffering less from the immense degradation over on Medium 0_0 (Anybody else remember how high quality the writing was on Medium when it was new??)

Anyways, I've seen some of the folks on here posting in the Fediverse and I am happy to be here!

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

We're happy you're here, too!

Collapse
 
sjbodzo profile image
Jess Bodzo

Thank you Jesse.

Collapse
 
elievangu profile image
Elie Vangu

Fait Divers and not fediverse ! Don't deprecate my french please...
Welcome to Dev.to

Collapse
 
sjbodzo profile image
Jess Bodzo

I'm not entirely sure what you mean in the first part of your post. I support the Fediverse :)

Thanks for the warm welcome!

Thread Thread
 
elievangu profile image
Elie Vangu

Oh sorry i was thinking it was such kind of buzz words taked from french that it’s hype to use

Thread Thread
 
heyitsols profile image
Oliver Leaver-Smith

fediverse = federated universe (i.e. mastodon/GNU Social)
But really interesting that fait divers means “news” in French 🤔

Collapse
 
yagoazedias profile image
Yago Azedias

I have a good felling about dev.to, I still am a new user, but my first impression is the it's better of good if compared to Medium

Collapse
 
sjbodzo profile image
Jess Bodzo

Well I hope you enjoy your time here! There is definitely a lot of talented folks posting on this site :)

Collapse
 
mahmudqosim profile image
Qosim Mahmud Folaranmi

Hello

Collapse
 
zeecnla profile image
Cesar Melchor

Hi everyone. I'm Cesar. I was first introduced to code in my summer job in high school. I worked for a nonprofit and we had to build a website. So that was my first introduction to html/css, but I wouldn't get my first computer until my first year of college. That's when I began working with Java and other programming languages.

I work with C#, java, sql, javascript. I am currently falling in love with working on the front end. I am looking into animations and React.

Aside from tech, I like to play basketball, play video games, and go hiking.

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

Welcome! I’m a fellow video game fan and React lover. Glad to have you. :)

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I love your name!

Collapse
 
pelumiadebayo profile image
Pelumi Adebayo

Oh my,oh my....you are a lot of things.

Collapse
 
mothralady profile image
Juliya Gannon

Hello everyone, I'm Juliya.

I'm a self-taught developer dwelling within Texas.
I started dabbling at the tender age of 12 playing Neopets (of course), eventually progressing onto creating MySpace Profiles as a young teenager.
I've done a whole lot of freelance client/contract work throughout the years but thankfully last year I began gearing up for a much needed change professionally. These days, I am up to my eyeballs in Warhammer 40,000 Miniature Commissions and am starting an organization that will provide digital services and solutions to local metal bands free of charge.
I randomly stumbled upon the site but liked it immediately, mostly for the design. I'm sick of most sites looking the same XD

Collapse
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

OH MY! I was crazy about Neopets. I was a bit older, thou :P like, 19 or something. hahahahaha :)

Collapse
 
abrandao profile image
Anderson Brandão

Nice to see you here!

Collapse
 
dwayne profile image
Dwayne Crooks

Hey everyone. I'm Dwayne :). After reading a couple good articles from dev.to and hearing nice things about the community I decided to give the site a try.

I'm currently (as of April 2019) learning how to design and implement programming languages using the book "Essentials of Programming Languages by Friedman and Wand (3rd Edition)". It's difficult but rewarding learning from the masters.

My day job is as a full stack web developer for a Point of Sale software company. On a day to day basis I work with Ruby, PostgreSQL and JavaScript (React/Redux) among other tech. I dream of the day I get paid to work with Elm or Haskell or Rust.

Aside from that I enjoy playing basketball, running, cycling, swimming, hiking (I'm pretty active) and living a plant-based lifestyle.

Collapse
 
faddaful profile image
Biodun Olayanju

You're welcome, Dwayne. Plant-based lifestyle? Can you please explain that?
I love your profile.

Collapse
 
dwayne profile image
Dwayne Crooks

Sure Biodun.

With respect to my diet, I don't consume any animal products. Learn more here.

With respect to everything else, if there is a plant-based alternative I'd gravitate toward that option because it's usually better for the animals, the environment or us humans.

Collapse
 
tinntinnabulate78 profile image
Mat Herron

Hi everybody! My name is Mat, and I'm from Lexington, Ky. I'm currently working to earn my React certification from Codecademy and eager to contribute to open source projects. Before this, I ran a record label for 10 years and worked as a freelance journalist for more than 15 years. I have a soft spot for nonprofits, and am passionate about and LGBTQ rights. Married to a great guy and bossed around by a rambunctious mini-Schnauzer!

Collapse
 
lucaskardo profile image
lucas kardonski

Hey Matt, Any cool open source project you recommend?

You can check my project github.com/gkpty/almost_cms

Its an open source and free, serverless CMS and SSG. Its changes the way you make static sites

Built with ReactJS, Amplify, GraphQl, DynamoDB, Lambda, Amazon SDK.

let me know your thoughts

Collapse
 
svedova profile image
Savas Vedova

Hey this is actually pretty cool. I am building something similar, maybe we can chat about ways to collaborate? Check this out: stormkit.io, basically it’s a serverless hosting targeting modern web apps with server side functionality. It has built in support for ssr. Right now it could be used together with headless cms like prismic and contenful to build modern e-commerce/news websites. Was also thinking to add more features around this use case based on the demand. I’d love to hear your feedback

Thread Thread
 
lucaskardo profile image
lucas kardonski

Hey Savas, Thanks for reaching out. Checked you project out, it seems very cool too!

Our project is fully open source, you can check our code
github.com/gkpty/torus_cms

Any ideas on how we could collaborate?

Thread Thread
 
svedova profile image
Savas Vedova

i will come up with some suggestions tomorrow :) its late here and im using the mobile phone so i could only read the readme file :) I will write you back once i can check more in detail. Peace!

Collapse
 
tinntinnabulate78 profile image
Mat Herron

Hi Lucas! Just getting started so I dont have any recommendations quite yet! Will check out your project!

Thread Thread
 
lucaskardo profile image
lucas kardonski

Thanks Mat, appreciate it

Collapse
 
maptastik profile image
Ryan Cooper

Welcome Matt! I lived in Lexington from 2011 to 2017. I was just dipping my toes into learning how to code at that time otherwise we might have crossed paths! Have you taken any of the classes or workshops at Awesome Inc.?

Collapse
 
tinntinnabulate78 profile image
Mat Herron

Nice to meet you Ryan!
I was running a record label during that time, but I have just completed a React course through Codecademy. I haven't taken courses at Awesome Inc., but know of their program and respect what they do. Excited to start contributing to the React and JS community!

Collapse
 
tinntinnabulate78 profile image
Mat Herron

Hi Ryan!

I've posted some repositories on my Github page. Take a look when you have a moment. Any and all feedback appreciated!

Collapse
 
karno profile image
Karno

Hi, I'm Karno from Nagoya, Japan. I am working as a researcher about security auditing and communication, and I am not a software engineer now, but I've being interested into software engineering since childhood and I have the degree of information engineering. I am really desired to become a software engineer and I hope this place would be a first step of my new career.
I am learning English language but this language is very difficult for me and I am still repeating trials and errors. Please let me know if you have any information about a good linter for English. Thank you.

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

You’re doing a fantastic job already in your language skills. I wish I could be multilingual. And I wish you the best of luck in your pursuit of a career In software. You’ve chosen an excellent place to learn. Welcome!

Collapse
 
nathani51199211 profile image
Nathaniel

Thanks

Collapse
 
nathani51199211 profile image
Nathaniel

Pm me some apps to stop a spy on my friends phone and spy on the messenger spy

Collapse
 
erikaheidi profile image
Erika Heidi

Hello folks!

I'm Erika, I've worked as software engineer for most of my career, been focusing on devOps last couple years and now working as technical writer at DigitalOcean. I love writing! I came here because I was looking for a place where I could share some of my personal ideas related to our field, basically something to replace Medium because frankly, they're the worst.

happy to be here :)

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

Super happy to have you here!

Collapse
 
tsimpson profile image
Travis Simpson

Hello! I'm Travis. I came across Dev.to while doing some self-study on Vue some time back, and I really liked the layout and the information passed through here. I've been creeping for a while and figured it's probably time to step out of the bushes! I *officially got in to software development at the end of 2017, with Lambda School, which I completed in June of last year. After that, I went on a 5 month hiatus journeying in to a Congressional Campaign as a tech consultant. I took December as a "vacation" because...campaign life was a killer to say the least! Since then I've been rebuilding what I learned and actively looking for my first dev role. Obviously took a wrong turn somewhere, heading in to May with no luck so far, so I hope to learn a lot from the community here and hopefully land my first official dev role very, very soon!

Collapse
 
timvogt profile image
Tim Vogt • Edited

Hi My name is Tim Vogt and I tech Kids to code. Because I want to stay on top of new development and to get more development skills myself. So I can get a remote job in between gigs. Fun fact I have Dyslexia.

I got into programming after a gig wich was an large AWS project on sending newsletters and consulting for a large shop/intranet/companywebsite min php. So I decided to do more Django and Python projects because this made more sense 😁.

I recommend python and study python classes and try to make sense of them.

Collapse
 
cubiclebuddha profile image
Cubicle Buddha

That’s wonderful. I would love to teach hands on coding. For now I’ll have to get my teaching itch scratched by posting articles on here. But if I may ask, how did you get involved in teaching? Do you do it at a school or a college? Or at some kind of volunteer club?

Collapse
 
timvogt profile image
Tim Vogt

Sorry for late reply, I teach kids in the local library and now online. We work with microbit scratch an Python turtle. And I give some private lessons. At day job I’m a lead dev of team of 9.

Collapse
 
ashokpatel457 profile image
ashok patel

Hi Everyone Myself Ashok I'm a Front End Developer having knowledge of Java script, JQuery,HTML,CSS, AJAX, Bootstrap,CSS3.
having great command on Programming languages include C/Java/C#, ASP.NET, VBScript, T-SQL, JQuery,XML, PHP.

Collapse
 
andy profile image
Andy Zhao (he/him)

I recently finished a contract position, and wasn't really sure what to do with my life. I heard from some people that programming might be a good thing to learn, so I went and did it for six months. I think it was good to try it on my own, and would recommend the same for anyone interested in programming.

Collapse
 
nbentoneves profile image
Nuno Neves

My passion for technology has grown quickly since I was young, even before high school. As such, the curiosity about "how computers work" pushed me to this new technology world.
By being autodidactic and dedicated, I ended up experimenting different types of programming languages such as PHP, javascript, Java, C+ and C#...but I quickly realized my fascination about Java, which defined my professional path.

But technology isn't my only passion. I love travelling and Crossfit.

Why travelling? I love to travel because it allows you to meet new cultures, taste new foods and learn to respect the differences, which I believe opens new horizons in my personal growth.

Why Crossfit? It is a very challenging sport that allows me to prove that I can exceed my self and conquer my fears and new challenges.

Collapse
 
stacy_cash profile image
Stacy Cashmore

Hey All,

I've been in development since the mid-nineties - at school it was something that interested me and it seemed that I could make a living doing it (and was better than the alternatives given to me by my careers advice teacher). Due to major anxiety issues, however, I have always tried to keep my head down and stay invisible.

Well, I've still got those issues but decided it's never too late to push yourself to try new things!

I've recently started to talk at conferences about the human side of development. Both the ways that I have gotten through challenges in my career, and the mistakes that I and my team have made - and what we have learnt from them! And, thought that maybe these would make blog posts as well!

So now all I have to do is get the courage to write the first one :)

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

It's such an important topic, and I can't wait to read your first article! Welcome to the community.

Collapse
 
stacy_cash profile image
Stacy Cashmore

Thank you, Jesse!

Just trying to figure out how to split it up (or in my anxiety terms: procrastinating because of fear :)) and it'll be written and posted!

Collapse
 
chamumutezva profile image
☪️♓🅰️♏⛎🇿🇼Mutezva

Hi. I am a learning FrontEnd web developer and excited to be on this awesome platform. As the saying goes "If you want to go fast, go alone. If you want to go far, go together.", I really want to go far.
Thank you.

Collapse
 
engmms profile image
engmms

Hi All,
I am Mahrous , I am old developer
programming language for me as my Girls
I change them from time to time :))
I start with C++ in 96
then php,MySQL,Asp,VB6.VB.net,JavaScript,Java
now, I fall in love with Kotlin,Python,Kivy and last one Flutter,Dart
my old dream was the flight
but now I am just a programmer