DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v66

wonka welcomes you!

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (458)

Collapse
 
hiimvcnguyen profile image
toidaidot

Hi, community.
I'm Cuong, currently, a developer at FPT software company, located in Viet Nam.
I suddenly read a blog post shared by my friend. And yeah, when I clicked the link, it brought me here.
Nice to meet you guys.
I hope we'll learn more about the tech industry by sharing our experience.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice to meet you too! 👋

Hope you dig it here. 😀

Collapse
 
haiderali2162 profile image
haiderali2162

nice to meet you.

Thread Thread
 
majja_dukka profile image
Maja Dukadinovska

hi

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Great to have you

Collapse
 
vishalsinghcse profile image
Moirangthem vishal singh

hi

Collapse
 
shalya21 profile image
Ayush Shalya

Glad to have you in the community.

Collapse
 
saltydogflow profile image
Salty-Dog-Flow

HI CUONG 🤙

Collapse
 
henrik_adams profile image
Henrik Adams

Nice to Meet you

Collapse
 
xavhan profile image
Xavier Haniquaut

hello!

Collapse
 
prwhoeatsnonstop profile image
Eunice

Hello =)

Collapse
 
majja_dukka profile image
Maja Dukadinovska

hi

Collapse
 
cynthia47337663 profile image
Cynthia Spence

Nice to meet you!!

Collapse
 
meeko70 profile image
meeko70

✌️

Collapse
 
th3cracked profile image
Th3CracKed

Nice to meet you!

Collapse
 
digitalmirakuru profile image
Mirakuru Digital Marketing Education

Hello!

Collapse
 
stuartpurvesferguson profile image
S-P-F

Hi! ✌️

Collapse
 
soniagm profile image
Sonia

NIce to meet you :)

Collapse
 
majja_dukka profile image
Maja Dukadinovska

hi

Collapse
 
tgeci profile image
Taulant Geci

Nice to meet you! :)

Collapse
 
optisolb profile image
Optisol Business

Hello, Nice to meet you

Collapse
 
nenlantea profile image
Leticia Naranjo

Hey! I'm learning Haskell and working as a technical recruiter for DreamITJobs.
I hope to be able to make my own little helper tools with Haskell in the next couple of years.
I also find people cool remote jobs :)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Nice! You might want to follow this tag - #haskell (or maybe write a post under it 🙂).

Similarly, consider checking out DEV Listings and scanning the Available for Hire section to see if there's any folks you might can reach out to about finding jobs. Or, maybe you even want to write your own listing!

Anyway, just to say, I hope you have a good time on DEV!

Collapse
 
nenlantea profile image
Leticia Naranjo

Awesome! I was disappointed that it wasn't in the welcome, choose your tags list and thought it wasn't available, thanks!!

Thread Thread
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Oh shoot! I think I understand what you mean... the suggestion to follow tags wasn't mentioned during onboarding? Might need to change that if so!

Thread Thread
 
nenlantea profile image
Leticia Naranjo

It was mentioned, I just thought the list displayed was all the available for some reason XD might have been distracted during onboarding

Collapse
 
destynova profile image
Oisín

Thanks! I was looking for it too on the onboarding page. Glad to have found it now :)

Collapse
 
thond1st profile image
thond1st

Hi Leticia,
Hoping you achieve your goals!

Collapse
 
nenlantea profile image
Leticia Naranjo

Thank you! Same to you!

Collapse
 
ivan_portilla profile image
Iván Portilla

Welcome Leticia, I also missed on that Haskell tag :(

Have a good time here :D

Collapse
 
snehasi75910603 profile image
Sneha Singh

Hey! Hope we will learn and grow together.

Collapse
 
mnayal profile image
Manmohan Nayal

Hi! can you share something nice for a beginner to start learning Haskell?

Collapse
 
nenlantea profile image
Leticia Naranjo

I'm learning using the Haskell from first principles book haskellbook.com/ It has plenty of exercises from the basic stuff, which I need because I'm new to programming :)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Here's a helpful post for folks new to DEV:

If you have any questions about anything, don't hesitate to ask!

Collapse
 
brandaogabriel7 profile image
Gabriel Silva Brandão

Thank you!

Collapse
 
prwhoeatsnonstop profile image
Eunice

Thank you

Collapse
 
nickbender profile image
Nick Bender

Thanks!

Collapse
 
johnkeers profile image
John Keers

Hi, I am a Software Development Manger living in the UK. 9 years ago I moved into management which has taken me away from what I love to do (Coding). I am now in a position to get back to being hands on and I'm very keen to learn as much as I can. My main skillset is C#, Architecture, Microservices and most recently JavaScript and React.

Collapse
 
bytehide profile image
ByteHide

Hello John, we love that you follow your passions, we are passionate about programming and we love it, especially in security.

Personally my name is like you, John, and I will upload c# security articles on this account (the company I work for) so I hope they can help you continue your passions, and on top of that, well protected! Haha Kind regards.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I'm finding that if you want to do both, smaller companies are the sweet spot! Welcome to the community, John! You said you're living in the UK. Is that where you grew up?

Collapse
 
johnkeers profile image
John Keers • Edited

Hi Jesse,

Thanks for the welcome, much appreciated.
I've worked for small, medium and large organisations and to be honest it's more about the culture that they adopt. You're 100% right that you get to do a bit of everything in smaller companies which is my aim.
I'm currently learning React with Maximilian (Udemy course) and while the course is over 40 hours it takes at least 3 to 4 times longer by the time you stop and start the video, write the code, go back over stuff, but it has to be done. I'm new to dev.to but I'm guessing its about the community sharing their articles, thoughts, challenges and expertise? I'll contribute when I feel comfortable (would love to write some articles) but in the meantime I'll use this time away from work to learn as much as I possibly can.
Oh and yes, I have always lived in the UK.

Cheers
John

Thread Thread
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

You’re in good hands with Max!

Collapse
 
jannuvamsi profile image
jannuvamsi

Hello, nice to :wave you all. I am a software data engineer from India working for a software solutions firm. I am passionate about data for which i took a de-route here. I am hoping to learn latest happenings in Data world as well as assisting the community whenever i can. Feel free to talk to me here or shoot an email to vamsics2@gmail.com

Collapse
 
iampranavai profile image
Pranav Verma

Hello

Collapse
 
asantiagot profile image
Antonio Santiago

hi!

Collapse
 
meekg33k profile image
Uduak 'Eren

Welcome to the community! Glad to have you here.

Collapse
 
justjay30a7i profile image
Jawdat Tayfour

I am jwdat (jey) young-dev 17 years old to be exact coded with : html , css , c++ , python , and now dart
I have no work experience still in the second year in the high school but I love coding
though I'm not that great person doing it
I live in Syria , Damascus
I hope we'll learn more about App-dev by having your help and my attitude

Collapse
 
creativ_bracket profile image
Jermaine

Welcome Jey! No worries if you don't see yourself that great right now, we all start from somewhere. The fact that you're already dabbling in multiple languages in high school is impressive. You will go very far and I got some tutorials to accelerate your Dart journey. Check them out on my page :)

Collapse
 
justjay30a7i profile image
Jawdat Tayfour

Thanks man , I'll Check em now
Appreciated !! <3

Collapse
 
youssefrabeiii profile image
Youssef Rabei

Hey Jey,
First welcome, I'm not new here but I didn't write anything here yet I'm gonna write tomorrow about my new projects. and It's okay to have no work experience yet and you gonna be great in no time.
just an advice document everything here even the smallest things because when you be great, people gonna want to know how you become like this and since you are here and learning these languages even if it's just the basics you already on your way of becoming great.

Collapse
 
sof9816 profile image
sof9816

Hope you reach for the level of experience that you want and deserve just keep learning and reading and programming :3

Collapse
 
justjay30a7i profile image
Jawdat Tayfour

Thanks , and I will :)

Collapse
 
shalya21 profile image
Ayush Shalya

Absolutely , Mr. Young dev.

Collapse
 
peterhychan profile image
Peter Chan

Welcome. I wish I knew as much as you at the age of 17. 😆

Collapse
 
nosseb profile image
Robinson Besson

Hi,
I'm a French engineering student (mostly mechanics and electric, but also a little touch of CS).
I'm here because I have a web app project and I found interesting articles here on many occasions.
The creation of this account made me discover what seems to be a very active and welcoming community.
I hope I will be able to give back to the community as much as you all.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Welcome to the community! I didn't think you were going to say web app. I thought maybe embedded software.

Collapse
 
nosseb profile image
Robinson Besson • Edited

Well, in the French education system, we have two years of broad education before the selection for the actual engineering school. So although I am mostly studying mecanical and electrical engineering at the moment, I will still be able to apply for schools that have CS majors.

The reason behind the web app is that I stumbled upon a management issue within a nonprofit. The solution need to connect to the internet and have an accessible GUI and be cross platform, thus the web app.

Edit : Oh, and thank you for your greetings.

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt ☕

Bienvenue à toi sur Dev.to ! 👋

Collapse
 
mfkl profile image
mfkl

Hi people,
Just signed up to this website to see what's up :-)
I'm responsible for dotnet things (LibVLCSharp) at VideoLAN, the makers of VLC. I'm working remotely and most of the code I write is opensource.
Looking forward to learn and share with the community.

Cheers!

Collapse
 
tunaxor profile image
Angel Daniel Munoz Gonzalez

Hey there! It's wonderful to see you here on these lands, I'm looking forward to see your blog posts, welcome and have a nice stay 👋

Collapse
 
bytehide profile image
ByteHide

Brilliant! Surely you have a lot of knowledge about dotnet, we look forward to your articles eagerly haha! Greetings

Collapse
 
poetryandshitt profile image
Izz • Edited

Hello DEV community!
I'm 23 years-old. I graduated with a degree in Business Administration (General) and was pursuing a career in Finance. I've recently grew interest in programming and I've decided to switch my career. One problem is that I can't stop thinking I'm TOO OLD or that I won't be able to comprehend the knowledge a CS graduate has or someone who started coding when they were like 17 or something.
I'm a perfectionist and being just good at what I do won't be enough for me. I need to be excellent which is why I'm here; I'm hesitant to start learning and end up exerting my time and efforts on something that I may never be good enough at or maybe mediocre (my greatest nightmare). I need advice and friends or maybe learning buddies. Is it really too late?

Collapse
 
blow1997 profile image
Bharath

Hello 👋

Collapse
 
nenlantea profile image
Leticia Naranjo

Hey!

Collapse
 
ovidon83 profile image
Ovidiu Donciu

Hello everyone!

I'm Ovidiu Donciu, QA Engineer from Romania.
I am very passionate about quality, I have several years experience in testing web apps, mobile apps both manually(functional, regression, api testing, load testing) and automated(selenium, cypress).
Looking forward to meet like-minded people and also open for any QA related projects that I can help on remotely based on my skills and experience!

Collapse
 
habin163 profile image
Habin Prasad

Likewise, great to find you

Collapse
 
slim4ni profile image
Mohamed Slimani

Hello Guys,
I'm new here !!
What's your opinion about this app?
Hope someone can give me an advice about should i learn advanced things in a lot of things, or is better to specialize in one language or one subject as mobile apps for example?

Collapse
 
piguicorn profile image
LogUI 🌈

Hi! New to this app too. If you wanna find a job, I think it's better to specialize. I have learnt a lot of frameworks and libraries for the last year and trust me, that doesn't work. Instead of spending 10 hours in mastering 1 technology, I wasted 1 hour in 10 different technologies. Now I know a little about a lot of things, but I am advanced in none.

Try to focus on one thing and once and only once you feel confident enough, change to another.

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I'm not here to agree or disagree, but I spent three years getting really good at only Angular, and now I am in my second year as a developer in a React shop. Learning one skill really well can be transferable to other skills. Likewise, it wouldn't have been nearly as easy to learn Angular after ten years of playing music instead of programming if I hadn't specialized in PHP/WordPress beforehand.

Now that I've specialized in a few areas, I find it much easier to pick up a new, albeit related, skill.

Also, welcome to the community!

Thread Thread
 
slim4ni profile image
Mohamed Slimani

Thank you so much, for your help

Collapse
 
slim4ni profile image
Mohamed Slimani

Really helpful answer, thank you so much

Collapse
 
thond1st profile image
thond1st

Hi Dev Community,
I am a programmer and system analyst back then when we are not yet called as full-stack developer, web developer, front-end developer, and others. :)
Thanks for having me here dev community!

Collapse
 
regisnut profile image
Regisnut

Hi,
Based in Paris, I'm doing an intership as front end react developer.
I'm starting to work on the app in my work, and I don't even succeed to open the project as it's in React Native 0.59.03 and I have made the last update.
Nice to meet you.

Collapse
 
chrisachard profile image
Chris Achard

Nice to meet you too 😀 - React Native can be tricky to get started with for sure - but once you get going, hopefully you come to like it :) Welcome!

Collapse
 
oliagozha profile image
Olia Gozha 🌿

Hi there,
I’m Olia from Lviv, Ukraine.
Initially, I’ve been an interface designer for a long time. A few years ago, I added HTML/CSS to my skillset and now it’s time to be more confident with JS. So now I'm improving my JS skills to help me close the full circle from design to development to be able to create my own products.
Looking forward to new friends among devs to learn and share the experience.
Nice to meet y'all 👋

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.