DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v80

yo orange

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. πŸ‘‹

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (278)

Collapse
 
miketalbot profile image
Mike Talbot ⭐

Hi Melissa - just remember it's the ideas behind programming that are more important than the syntax of the language or the parameters of a function. You have to get the idea, find a way to "see" what is happening, you can Google the rest (at least that's what I do... oh shit, now I have impostor syndrome!)

Collapse
 
apstone profile image
Aaron Stone

+1 Mike!

Collapse
 
javascriptjerk profile image
javascriptjerk

Sound advice

Collapse
 
faenor profile image
faenor

Hey there. I'm a frontend engineer mostly working with react an its ecosystem. In my free-time I read plenty of articles or experiment with typescript/graphql/node on the dark (backend) side ;)

Although I'm here for some time (some years already), I never wrote any posts and was mostly lurking around. But somehow I would love to change that and contribute some content back to this nice community. Any tips/topics on how to get started writing articles? Never had the courage to publish something :/

Collapse
 
ruannawrites profile image
Ruanna

Hey! I totally connect with lurking around but feeling barriers to contributing content. I've been trying to get over this as well, but it's certainly challenging! I try to remind myself that wherever you are is where you are supposed to be, and in the perfect place to begin. Try to not overthink or get attached to perfection, and just get something out there! The more you do it, the easier it becomes. You can do it! :)

Collapse
 
stlnick profile image
Nick

Hello! I've been interested in React for some time and will be diving into it soon. I'll be on the lookout for your articles. I think the only advice I can throw out there for getting started writing articles is just pick one topic/feature/interesting thing you know a good amount about and start writing. Articles don't have to be perfect and you'll get a better idea of what your style is and how you want it to present as you write more.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
aakriti_1012 profile image
Aakriti

Hello everyone, Aakriti here.
Currently working on Linux and writing about it.

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Multiple TV and movie characters giving a thumbs up

Collapse
 
aakriti_1012 profile image
Aakriti

Thank you Nick

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern • Edited

Great to have you Aakriti, and awesome to see you're already writing!

Collapse
 
aakriti_1012 profile image
Aakriti

Yeah, thanks.
That was the whole reason of coming to dev.to

Collapse
 
sunisha6801 profile image
sunisha6801

Hey! I'm Sunisha. I'm a student who actually dose not know about DEV and how to use this.
Just hoping for BEST.

: )

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

hey Sunisha! Welcome to DEV. Here, you can share your progress, projects, views or any idea in form of blog posts. It's a great community for developers. Just make sure to learn Markdown if you want to have some formatting in your comments/posts. Cheers!

Collapse
 
dinumathewjohn profile image
dinumathewjohn

Hello! My name is Mathew. I'm looking to learn coding (from scratch as I have no knowledge on this. My previous jobs were in analytics (basic excels) and want to explore more in analytics domain. Also I am interested in IOT and looking forward to see what I can learn to automate my work ;-)

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington

Heyo! πŸ‘‹

Hope you dig it here, Mathew!

Collapse
 
chirangee98 profile image
chirangee98 • Edited

Hello guys my self chiranji recently join this and dont no how to use for improv my programing so anyone can suggest

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Welcome on DEV !

Depends to what you want to develop. If you want develop a website, check MDN Web Docs by Mozilla and contributors.

Collapse
 
chirangee98 profile image
chirangee98

Want to learn mern stack development

Collapse
 
chirangee98 profile image
chirangee98

Thnks

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Hello news DEVs here, and welcome ! πŸ‘‹πŸΌ

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV! πŸ‘‹

Whale hello there!

Collapse
 
attraverso_dev profile image
attraverso

πŸ€£πŸ’›

Collapse
 
zunamidev profile image
zunami

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
nav_devl profile image
Naveen Honest Raj

Hey there! I am Naveen Honest. I'm a backend engineer mostly play around Python and Ruby. I joined dev.to a year ago and rarely involved with the community. But now since, the community started to help me build a lot of skills, it is time for me to give back what I can do. Good luck and a happy journey in the world of development, y'all!

You can always find me on twitter tweeting random stuffs at @nav_devl

Collapse
 
pradeepcep profile image
Pradeep CE

Found ya here too! :P

Collapse
 
nav_devl profile image
Naveen Honest Raj

Haha! You wrote a bot or something? πŸ˜‚

Thread Thread
 
pradeepcep profile image
Pradeep CE

Wherever I go on the web these days, you are there πŸ˜‚

Thread Thread
 
nav_devl profile image
Naveen Honest Raj

I should be saying that. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
apstone profile image
Aaron Stone

Get involved in an open source project!

Collapse
 
nat_snacks profile image
Nat

Hi! I'm Natalie, worked in marketing before COVID and got laid off in March. I've been wanting to pursue my dream in coding for years, but I kept saying 'someday'. Being stuck at home for a few months has allowed me to actually begin my journey as a web developer! I'm so ready to work hard at this, which is why I joined this community!

Collapse
 
adawolfs profile image
Alvin Estrada • Edited

Hola from Guatemala!

I like to play with technology, I've created projects with things like tensorflow lite with Flutter, Fronted Applications with Vue + Laravel, Python Rest API, Go plugins for k8s, Kubernetes deployments and CI/CD pipelines. I'm not an expert but I've watched a lot of youtube videos!

I have experience in electronics working with boards like Arduino and raspberry and some robotic components. I'm organizer and speaker at Kubernetes Guatemala a CNCF official meetup.

And I'm here because I want to share content and learn from the community!!

Collapse
 
juanfrank77 profile image
Juan F Gonzalez

Hola Alvin!

You've done a lot of cool stuff! and also participating in meetups is a great thing to do.

Great to have you here. 😁

Collapse
 
justincast profile image
JustinCast

Hello! My name is Justin Castillo and I'm from Costa Rica. Currently I'm specializing in Blockchain (EOSIO specifically) but I have background on Nodejs, Angular, postgresql, graphql and react. I've always wanted a space like this to learn, contribute and share ideas. I also speak Spanish (obviously πŸ˜„).
I hope I can help with something to the community πŸ˜„πŸ™

Collapse
 
ruannawrites profile image
Ruanna

Hi everyone! My name is Ruanna, and I work in developer relations at TomTom. I am also taking a basic HTML/CSS course and am certainly a newbie in that regard! With that being said, I like browsing the forums on here and sharing tutorials from our developer blog on all things mapping. Feel free to reach out and connect!

Collapse
 
vaibhavkhulbe profile image
Vaibhav Khulbe

Welcome, Melissa! Wow, you've had some career shift.

Make sure you're consistent in your learnings when it comes to coding, and always believe in yourself. You'll do good!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.