DEV Community

dev.to staff
dev.to staff

Posted on

Welcome Thread - v90

hi goat

Welcome to DEV!

  1. Leave a comment below to introduce yourself! You can talk about what brought you here, what you're learning, or just a fun fact about yourself.

  2. Reply to someone's comment, either with a question or just a hello. 👋

Great to have you in the community!

Top comments (210)

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu • Edited

Hi Everyone :)
I currently work as a film producer, and I started to study code during the quarantine and found myself completely fascinated with this world.
I still have a long way to go before I can call myself a developer, but I'm very determined and I expect to learn a lot from the community here on dev.to.
I'm doing all of my studying online (mainly on Codecademy PRO, and Udemy), and I plan to spend some months completely immersed in code to pursue a career in web development in the future.

Collapse
 
nirebu profile image
Nicolò Rebughini

Welcome :) I can totally feel you, I worked for 9 years in video and cinema, doing it all: grip, shooting, editing and eventually cinema mastering. After a transition time as a sysadmin now I'm happily hacking things together with Ruby (or perhaps breaking things apart) since two months.

Good luck!

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Wow, Nicolò! How did that happen?
I'm glad to know that I'm not the only one making this change!

Thank you :))

Thread Thread
 
nirebu profile image
Nicolò Rebughini

I longed to get into development for a long time, so after quitting I used what I knew about Linux system administration and started from there. I tried to soak up everything I could learn from work and online like a sponge. What helped me the most was building a little web app based on a pain point found during my sysadmin role: ugly code, but it worked. At least I learnt what I shouldn't have done 😅 After that I aimed to a Junior developer position, and finally got it. It's never too late to be a junior, it matters your willingness to learn and adapt

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

Welcome to DEV!

Spiderman swinging by to say hello

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Thanksss!

Collapse
 
dmiller72 profile image
David Miller

Well check that out! We may or may not be able to help each other (you may be helping me more than I can help you. lol) I am not just a coder, but a graphic designer and video editor as well. Currently jack of all trades master of none. I'm becoming efficient at Javascript and all aspects of editing.

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Hi there David!
Well, I'm in Brazil, but let me know if I can be of any help from abroad :)
Now, in regards to coding, you'll help me more than I help you. I still don't know anything about JS.

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini

Hey, Julia. Welcome to DEV!

I can relate to that, I dropped out of an Arts degree to pursue a career in web development and it worked quite well.

Let me know on Twitter if you need any help or tips 👋

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Hey Vitor!

I'm happy to hear you made that change and that it worked out for you, I'll definitely reach out for some tips :)

Thank you very much!

Collapse
 
claudiaraphael profile image
Clau

Welcome Julia! i also recently started learning to code and cant wait to be immersed in this. If you want some free good tools to learn code I recommend: Freecodecamp.org and Sololearn. I use both. They are good for starting with web dev and javascript. :)) lets coooode!

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Oieee!!
Vou dar uma olhada, com certeza <3

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Welcome!

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Thank you!!

Collapse
 
naresh profile image
Naresh Poonia

Film producer to a Developer, that'll be an amazing journey.
Do you plan to write about your journey here on Dev?

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Yes, I plan to! Its probably gonna be a tale of blood, sweat, and tears though.

Thread Thread
 
naresh profile image
Naresh Poonia

Wow, I'm looking forward to it then.

Collapse
 
ayushi1309 profile image
Ayushi Srivastava

Hey.. we are on the same page !

Collapse
 
jeantimothee profile image
JeanTimothee

Hi Julia, welcome !!

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Thanksssss!

Collapse
 
mafiews profile image
Matthieu

Welcome and good luck with your online classes!

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Thank you Matthieu :)

Collapse
 
mourad132 profile image
Mourad Sherif

I Am A Full Stack Developer if you need any help just message me

Collapse
 
dmiller72 profile image
David Miller

That's my goal. Trying to get proficient at JS now. I've been doing the exercises on Freecodecamp and Codeacademy. I'm on Promises now. ugghh..lol

Thread Thread
 
mourad132 profile image
Mourad Sherif

ok if you need any help just send me on Instagram @mouradsherif76

Thread Thread
 
dmiller72 profile image
David Miller

Alright. Thanks.

Collapse
 
jubileujulia profile image
Julia Jubileu

Thank you, Mourad! I'll definitely write to you with my doubts.

Thread Thread
 
mourad132 profile image
Mourad Sherif

ok here is my Instagram account @mouradsherif76

Collapse
 
rfindley profile image
Ryan

Hi all! I’m new to DEV as well as web development. I’m looking forward to growing my experience and knowledge as I pursue a new career.

I’ve got a lot of work in front of me but I’m loving every minute I spend working on development. Currently I’m working on simpler front end projects with a focus on HTML/CSS.

Collapse
 
vtrpldn profile image
Vitor Paladini

Hey, Ryan. Welcome!

You have a long road ahead of you and I'm sure it is going to be a joyful journey.

A solid understanding of HTML and CSS goes a long way so you're on the right track!

Collapse
 
pcanella profile image
Patrick Canella

Hi Ryan! Welcome to DEV! I'm new too, but am an experienced web dev (10+ years), so feel free to reach out to me if you need anything/get stuck on anything!

Collapse
 
rfindley profile image
Ryan

Hi Patrick, thanks for the offer! I just posted a solution to a problem I worked through on frontend-mentor. They offer some experience working through design documents and trying to layout a site/page and give the opportunity to post for feedback. I'm really working towards writing clean code and I'm sure I'll improve as I get experience. I'm open to suggestions on improvement, ideas on how to promote myself and anything else that can help me succeed. frontendmentor.io/solutions/single...

Collapse
 
kaplyak profile image
Kaplya

Hi!

I started taking C classes when I was 14, and have been coding my own fun/useful projects ever since. I worked in the digital marketing industry for some years, but I am now focused on my true passion, coding, learning full time.

In order to refresh knowledge I have enrolled in Harvard's CS50. At the same time, I am learning new stuff on The Odin Project and FreeCodeCamp. It's a lot of stuff, but I'm confident in myself.

My current goal is finding a job as soon as possible in a company where I can find myself comfortable while still learning and expanding my skills.

Collapse
 
rfindley profile image
Ryan

Hi Kaplyak,

I too am looking for that first opportunity. I really like how you worded that part of your post. I’ve struggled to put that into words myself. Good luck!

Collapse
 
kaplyak profile image
Kaplya

Thank you Ryan! Best of luck for you too!

Collapse
 
dayliter profile image
dayliter

I am happy for you. My ultimate goal would be an entry level job that continually challenges me And provides the opportunity to develop and enrich my skills.

Collapse
 
malhotramanik profile image
Manik Malhotra

Hello, I am Senior Android Dev from India.
Hi-5 to all the techies out there. It's been more than 5 years since I am part of the developer's team.

It feels like home to be here with people having the same thought process. Where I can shoot out my thoughts without giving a second thought that if people would understand me or not. :D

I am enthusiastic to learn, grow, inspire, and stay motivated with the tech community.

Currently, I am brushing up my DS and Algo skills, along with the latest Kotlin 1.4.0.

Would love to hear from all of you.
Stay Healthy.
Keep Coding.

Collapse
 
comfortcodes profile image
ComfortCodes

Hie everyone.
I am currently working in sales and marketing in the telecommunications sector. I started to study to code as a hobby three years ago. Though I have some knowledge of Javascript, HTML, and CSS I cannot really say am a developer.

I have recently embarked on a more serious approach to studying and I mainly use udemy for my online study. Am gearing myself towards full stack javascript and python. I also have an interest in data visualisation using Power BI, Tableu and D3.

Collapse
 
orlowdev profile image
Sergei Orlov

These days everyone on Earth can call themselves a developer, so can you. 😊

Collapse
 
comfortcodes profile image
ComfortCodes

Thanks Sergei for the encouragement. Maybe the best term would be apprentice developer!!!!

Thread Thread
 
orlowdev profile image
Sergei Orlov

I suggest you take a look at this website: amiarealdeveloper.com

It's the authority in the question of someone being a real developer. 😁

Collapse
 
acoh3n profile image
Arik

You've come to the right place to learn more about these technologies. Welcome!

Collapse
 
comfortcodes profile image
ComfortCodes

Thanks Arik willing to learn and absorb as much as I can

Collapse
 
comfortcodes profile image
ComfortCodes

Thanks Arik hope to learn and absorb as much as I can!!

Collapse
 
importhuman profile image
Ujjwal Goyal

Hello!

I'm a recent graduate in an unrelated area, but want to switch fields to coding. I've learnt a little bit of Python through online resources and courses, and will be taking up the #100DaysOfCode challenge soon.

Collapse
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair • Edited

I am going for my 2nd round of 100DaysOfCode. Have already completed one , let's connect on insta @iuxair

Collapse
 
importhuman profile image
Ujjwal Goyal

Hello! Does the time I spend researching for code count in the daily hour of coding?

Thread Thread
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair

Reading, watching tutorials, etc count as time for challenge. But it's preference as well,

Thread Thread
 
importhuman profile image
Ujjwal Goyal

Thanks!

Collapse
 
importhuman profile image
Ujjwal Goyal

Apologies, but I haven't set up my Instagram account yet. Would you be willing to connect via Twitter instead? @importhuman

Thread Thread
 
uzair004 profile image
Muhammad Uzair

I don't have a twitter account yet, START the challenge and will be here if you need me :)

Thread Thread
 
importhuman profile image
Ujjwal Goyal

That's alright, and thanks a lot!

Collapse
 
shivampurbia profile image
shivam purbia

Namaste everyone.
I am shivam here, A final year undergrad passionate about Data and Technology.
I have good experience in python and ML and am looking forward to learn react and integrate my models with react and learn some deployment.

When not on laptop I roam around places and eat and play video games.

Collapse
 
hamza4916 profile image
Hamza Muhammed

Hello guys, I'm currently a leather artisan who focuses on making leather bags and wallets. I started learning about how websites and apps work after coming across an udemy ad on Facebook and people were arguing about how programming is hard and some even said its impossible to learn, others say it's a continuous process, but then I got so confused about what these guys are even arguing about and decided to follow up the link on the ad which landed me on the udemy website and it was a course on web development, after watching a preview, I decided to enroll and it's been fun since then, I mean I'm still a beginner, but I just love the problem solving aspect of it which makes me come back to it even when I get frustrated...anyways I'm aspiring to become a well experienced web developer in the quickest time possible and I know I could get a lot of help and inspirations from you guys here on dev.to THANK YOU GUYS🙂🙂

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Love this story! Welcome to the DEV community, Hamza 🙂

Collapse
 
hamza4916 profile image
Hamza Muhammed

Thank you Gracie Gregory

Collapse
 
faridhuseynov profile image
Farid Huseynov

Hi Everyone! I'm drilling engineer with 6 years of experience, who has been studying for the last 2 years coding. Preparing myself for the change of the career. Mainly build asp.net core projects and have done a lot of mistakes by going too long through sets of training and courses, looks like finally understood that the practice is the main one.

Collapse
 
orlowdev profile image
Sergei Orlov

Hello,

I used to be a teacher of English as second language before switching careers for development. It happened some time ago and now I work as a software architect at a quite big company.

I came here to share my experience and thoughts. I'll mostly write about software/solutions architecture, javascript and typescript, and probably something else.

I hope someone will find my writings helpful. 🙂

Collapse
 
jo1432 profile image
Jo Martinez

Hello Great Developers, my name is Josie I am a week away from graduating from Bethel School of Technology, I feel I barely know anything about coding, I have a desire to learn more of React.js, Javascript, mysql to start. Am honored to part of this group.

Collapse
 
graciegregory profile image
Gracie Gregory (she/her)

Happy you're here!

Collapse
 
ggarnhart profile image
Greg Garnhart

Hi Friends!

Excited to be here :) I have used Medium for the past few years, but as the founders of Dev know all too well, they are not friendly with their paywalls. Excited to get to know some of you!

I work as a Software Developer at SAP through their SVNT rotational program. It's been a quick few months since I've started and certainly feel like I am learning a lot. In my downtime, I've recently been exploring serverless frameworks such as Vercel.

Have a good one ✌️

Collapse
 
alekseiberezkin profile image
Aleksei Berezkin

Hi! Recently joined Dev.to, and couple days ago made my first contribution. I'm fullstack dev (Java, TypeScript, JavaScript, React) at a large IT company in Eastern Europe. In love with TypeScript, working on some personal projects available on GitHub; from time to time contribute to other open source. Cheers!

Collapse
 
rahulmansharamani profile image
Rahul Mansharamani

Hello Everyone !
I am a 2nd year Computer Science Student and I started my Web development career since starting of this year. I'm always happy to learn new technology stacks and currently learning reactjs.
I hope I can gain a lot from this community and can share my experience too :)

Collapse
 
sarahloo profile image
Sarah Allen • Edited

Hello everyone! My name is Sarah and I am new to web development. I recently quit my job as a proposal writer so that I could deep-dive into this world as it's something I've been interested in for a long time. I'm currently at Mayden Academy in Bath studying their intensive 16 week full stack web developer course. 2 weeks in and we have learnt a lot about front end technologies and built our own portfolio site. I'm looking forward to getting stuck into the back end world next :)

Collapse
 
yjdoc2 profile image
YJDoc2

Hello !
Welcome to Web Development ! Having done bit of backend development, I think it's quite fun, and hope you will find it interesting as well 😃

Collapse
 
sarahloo profile image
Sarah Allen

Thanks! We have started on PHP this week and JavaScript is comig up soon. I can't wait to master these powerful programs and build awesome applications with them!

Some comments may only be visible to logged-in visitors. Sign in to view all comments.