DEV Community

Waqar Mohammad
Waqar Mohammad

Posted on

Favourite VSCode Plug-ins

đź‘‹ guys,

I know emmett is avail on other Code editors too but it’s one that I like. Other than that I just have one that shows icons based on the file extension and autocomplete.

For those that use VS Code, what are your fav plug ins?

Top comments (10)

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

I'm partial to the Emacs keybindings (old habits die hard) and this little crates.io helper that points out outdated version numbers in your Cargo.toml for a Rust project.

Aside from that, I have been thrilled at how well-featured the "defaults" for each language I use are. When I open a file in a language I haven't used in VS code, generally searching the language name and installing the top extension is absolutely everything I need to do. It's almost embarrassing how long I used to spend tweaking configs to get closer to what VS Code does out of the box.

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Thanks Ben, I would agree VSC is amazing out of their box.

Collapse
 
codevault profile image
Sergiu MureĹźan • Edited

The IDE is so complete that I barely need any plugins to use it for work (aside from the usual language extension for C# and linters for web development).

Having Emmet by default in the IDE is absolutely amazing! :D

Collapse
 
joelnet profile image
JavaScript Joel • Edited

By far it's Quokka. I even paid for the PRO version.

Quokka VS Code Plugin

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Thanks buddy, looks amazing - will be giving it a try.

Collapse
 
catturner profile image
C Turner
Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

Nice, I’m still working through learning git commands, I’m sure this will come in handy. Thanks!

Collapse
 
theredspy15 profile image
Hunter Drum • Edited

I find "Git History" to be rather useful for quickly reverted to a previous commit

And is basically my only extension aside from 'Go' and something others for themes

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

will check out Go and Git history, both sound extremely useful

Collapse
 
waqardm profile image
Waqar Mohammad

👍🏽 thanks. Will check it out