DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

A Moment of gratitude for the community

Seeing this tweet warmed my heart so much, and it just reminded me how amazing this big community we have is.

The replies to the tweet seemed to be in agreement. It's been a great ride so far. Let's keep up the great work. 😊

Top comments (29)

Collapse
 
nickytonline profile image
Nick Taylor

One thing I'd like to do is give a shout out to all those helping moderate the content on the site led by @michaeltharrington. It's a community effort and it's definitely helping, but like any community that gets bigger, reinforcements are needed. 😉 If you're interested in helping moderate content on the site that'd be awesome.

Collapse
 
michaeltharrington profile image
Michael Tharrington • Edited

Aw shucks! Thanks for the shoutout @nickytonline! 😀

We're lucky to have so many awesome mods. And you're right that we definitely need more! In case anyone is interested in how moderation on the site works and wants involved, take a look here: community moderation guidelines and/or tag moderation.

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

Hear hear! Michael's been absolutely awesome!

Collapse
 
arximughal profile image
Muhammad Arslan Aslam

I am willing to help with moderation. Not sure where to apply though!

Collapse
 
maxart2501 profile image
Massimo Artizzu

You and Jess built a great community, Ben!
And I’m a proud member since the very first (public) day.

Collapse
 
stephanie profile image
Stephanie Handsteiner

You forgot @peter of the dev.to triumvirate! 😁

Collapse
 
maxart2501 profile image
Massimo Artizzu

I knew I was forgetting someone!
Man, I stink at these things 😩

Collapse
 
michael profile image
Michael Lee 🍕

Man, that graphic is so good. Congrats to you and the team. I know ya'll have been active from the beginning to make this community a force for good and this is evidence that your continued effort is having a positive effect on the community.

I think back to this discussion and always remember how thoughtful our discussion was and how I knew it was a community worth investing my time in.

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

So glad to be a part of DEV. I searched up the last one out of curiosity (in the tweet’s answers) and HO LY cow I ran out of there in a split second. Unbelievable. 100% do not recommend stepping out of DEV, not even for a second 😬

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Yes, I recognized that as a 4chan community and know to stay far, far away.

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

It was very, very scary. Curiosity killed the cat, they say.
Thank you, Ben, and everyone in the DEV team and community; I think without DEV I might just have given up on development altogether a few months ago.

I was getting discouraged in stackoverflow, chats, gitters, and forums, so I searched for an alternative an DEV came to the rescue 🥇🎉

Collapse
 
lukewduncan profile image
Luke Duncan

The development community definitely needed DEV. I found this to be such a refreshing place to come and talk about development, being a developer and all the dev things. ❤️

Collapse
 
gypsydave5 profile image
David Wickes

Lawful Good? That works out well for me.

I always play a Paladin.

BECAUSE IT'S JUST THE RIGHT THING TO DO

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I tend to go with chaotic neutral characters in role-playing games 🤷‍♂️

Collapse
 
deciduously profile image
Ben Lovy

We've seen your website. We're not surprised.

Collapse
 
tatianacodes profile image
Tatiana

As someone brand new to coding, being recommended this site as a resource has been the number one aid (outside from "true" learning resources such as Udemy/Codecademy/documentation) that keeps me on track with pursuing this goal of mine. Not only is there something new to learn every time I sign on, but good content about staying on track, how to learn, etc! Thanks for creating a great platform and fostering a great community!

Collapse
 
rhymes profile image
rhymes

What's the logo in the center? The neutral one 😅

Collapse
 
downey profile image
Tim Downey

Looks like it is CodePen. I didn't recognize it either! 😵

codepen.io/

Collapse
 
stephanie profile image
Stephanie Handsteiner

Yep, codepen!

Collapse
 
codemouse92 profile image
Jason C. McDonald

Lawful Good is right! I love this place.

Collapse
 
nmaxcom profile image
Carles Alcolea

I discovered this community like 5min ago! And it's arguably the best I've seen. I'm happy to be here and I'm not sure I'll go back to Evil...

Collapse
 
vuild profile image
Vuild

👀

Collapse
 
vuild profile image
Vuild

👀+👀

Collapse
 
stephanie profile image
Stephanie Handsteiner

What community is Lawful Neutral? The logo doesn't ring a bell for me atm. 🤔

Collapse
 
stickwarslit profile image
Nora Del Rosario

slashdot.org/

'ere you go. Don't know anything about the place, just heard about it before in passing.

Collapse
 
stephanie profile image
Stephanie Handsteiner

Thanks.

Oh, yes, slashdot, didn't know this site still existed. :D

Collapse
 
theodesp profile image
Theofanis Despoudis

Dev.to is like a Paladin. HN is a Zombie and StackOverflow is a Drow Elf.

Collapse
 
mauri profile image
Mauri

Pffff! This is an awesome place :) Thank you all!

Collapse
 
covertninesam profile image
Sam

Nice grid, though I like to think of WordPress as the prototypical chaotic good.