DEV Community

Cover image for Side Project Sunday! What do you have going on?
Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Side Project Sunday! What do you have going on?

Give a quick description of what you're up to and what some recent learnings have been.

Top comments (67)

Collapse
 
toheeb profile image
Dr SU

Published a tool that demonstrates the difference between px, em, and rem beyond their simplicity.

Lesson: em is better than rem for 3rd party stylesheets as it gives clients the most flexibility.

Collapse
 
abm_dev profile image
Auroiah Morgan

awesome, never really knew that myself , Thanks!

Collapse
 
toheeb profile image
Dr SU

You're welcome Auroiah!

Same as I. Until I made that demo for an article I'm writing on the misconceptions of the 62.5% trick.

Collapse
 
shammisharma profile image
shammisharma

woww goog job Toheeb. Good tool to know the difference in one shot. Kudos πŸ‘πŸ»

Collapse
 
toheeb profile image
Dr SU

I'm glad it was helpful

Collapse
 
victorioberra profile image
Victorio Berra

This is cool! Could you also show CSS snippets which update when you adjust the sliders?

Collapse
 
toheeb profile image
Dr SU

Thanks!

May I ask, what would you like to see: the code or values?

I assumed Devs could inspect for both, but sure that takes extra step.

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett • Edited

As always working on my desktop environment in the browser (daedalOS).

This week I focused on animated wallpapers and adding some features to Webamp such as playlist support and Butterchurn.

Did an article/video on the results recently if anyone is interested.

Recent learning would be finding an awesome streaming service in somafm.com which supports CORS.

Collapse
 
jzombie profile image
jzombie

I'm inspired by your project and think it's cool.

Have you thought about creating your own stream proxy for somafm?

I've thought about building a general service for these types of things.

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thanks! I haven't looked into a proxy, but as it is now it works and it's mostly just a proof of concept.

Collapse
 
hady_eslam profile image
Hady Eslam

That's great man

Collapse
 
dustinbrett profile image
Dustin Brett

Thanks!

Collapse
 
carterbryden profile image
Carter Bryden

Working on a self hosted version of approximated.app for some of the larger customers that have been asking for it. Making it super portable and easy to setup has been a lot of fun. Gives me a reason to try some new things out!

Collapse
 
hijoe profile image
HiJoe

Bookmarked. What an awesome app.

Collapse
 
cynicalduck profile image
Marius Bekk • Edited

Working on a tool to allow firefighters to log their missions. As I am a firefighter myself I have noticed a lack in tools where we can keep track of where we have been and what we did there.
I am looking to expand the tool with easy ways of keeping track of what gear you used, if you were exposed to toxic smoke and so on.

Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

I have always been curious about tools aimed at people with critical jobs such as firefighters, paramedics, etc. In your project, do you deal with very sensitive and critical information? And if so, do you take extra measure to ensure reliability and data integrity?

Collapse
 
cynicalduck profile image
Marius Bekk • Edited

Hi,
This is a real challenge yes, but I am trying to create an application without as much sensitive information as possible. I am for example taking the address from a callout and are using BING API to create a GPS zone and toss away the address. This way I am not having the address of an incident in my database, but I am still able to create heatmaps etc.

Other information is not that sensitive, it's information that could have been in the local news paper with some twists to it.
A user can check how many calls his of hers department have had, and that information is saved. But at the same time the same information is available by searching the news.
There is currently no extra measure to ensure reliability or data integrity, but the application is still also in early development mostly living on my Mac.

Hope that answers you questions.

Collapse
 
mistval profile image
Randall

I'm going to give another sort-of lame answer. I upgraded the version of some libraries used by my Discord bot: github.com/mistval/kotoba I'm not doing a ton of work on it recently, but it's stable and I'm happy that it has a devoted user base.

Collapse
 
ankush981 profile image
Ankush Thakur

Is cool! Nothing is lame. :-)

Collapse
 
abm_dev profile image
Auroiah Morgan

dont short yourself that is not lame ! Nice work so far!

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

I'm working on extracting some utility commands for Emacs. One thing I've been doing a lot has been converting Github URLs to their shorthand format (e.g. <owner>/<repo>#<number>). This helps me with my note taking and development.

This involved a URL "abbreviator" that get the URL at the cursor (e.g. Emacs point), the paste buffer (e.g. Emacs's kill-ring) or the current URL of the active browser.

Some additional features could be:

  • Convert the URL to a Markdown or OrgMode style link.
  • Creating OrgRoam node for an issue, so that I have a local place to write up any working notes; and reference in my daily journal entries. However, I'm waiting for some input on a feature request before I proceed with a workaround.
  • Jump to my notes for the given branch (created in the above task)
  • Assemble things into a gigantic function to:
    • Create a branch from an issue
    • Add a Journal entry saying "Started work on /#"
    • Create an OrgRoam node for that issue (which would then have a back link to my daily journal entry)

All of this is to help me better navigate throughout my somewhat normalized workflow.

And why do all of this? To sharpen my tools. Practice extending my text editor to facilitate my ever emerging workflow.

Collapse
 
bertilmuth profile image
Bertil Muth

I released the first version of Act, a library that enables you to create flat or hierarchical state machines. Right now, it's in Java, but a friend suggested to port it to Python in the future.
If you've got some time to spend, have a look/try it out and give me feedback, I appreciate it.

github.com/bertilmuth/act

I learned a lot about statemachines in the process of creating it. Including the history, starting at Moore/Mealy machines in the 1950s, through Harels statecharts in the '80s, up to the latest version of the UML in the 2010s. I think what I've created overcomes some of the weaknesses of these approaches, while trying to preserve as much of the good aspects as I could. If you want to know more about that, let me know.

Collapse
 
cwraytech profile image
Christopher Wray

A while back I built a website for landscapers and retail nurseries to find wholesale nurseries, nurserypeople.com and am now at over $150/month in adsense income. πŸ˜€ Kind of thinking through how to make it better to get that income up past a thousand a month. Love any tips!

Collapse
 
jimmylipham profile image
Jimmy Lipham

Working on a PR to cert-manager to allow people to specify AWS access key IDs using secrets.

Hopefully wrapping that up, then moving on to diagramming out my home k8s cluster build.

Collapse
 
bobbyiliev profile image
Bobby Iliev

Working on Tails v2!

Collapse
 
duongdev profile image
DΖ°Ζ‘ng Đỗ

Awesome! Bookmarked.

Collapse
 
alinp25 profile image
Alin Pisica • Edited

Finishing my final year project - a solution for aspect based sentiment analysis for online reviews. Never thought that I could become fluent in LaTeX, and now I am starting to question my whole life and if I should give up Word and other text processors for this...

Collapse
 
jeremyf profile image
Jeremy Friesen

Interesting. I spent some time exploring LaTeX and it was quite nice. But I quickly forgot everything. These days I rely on Emacs's org-mode and Export via LaTeX option.

Collapse
 
achie72 profile image
TΓ³th BΓ©la

LaTeX is such a beast, sometimes I wish I'd continue learning it more and maybe even abandon Word and it's alternatives!

Collapse
 
alinp25 profile image
Alin Pisica

Exactly! At first, it was horrible, adding bunch of tags for inputing a simple image made me wonder "Who thought putting HTML on steroids for writing text?"... But over time, and lots of pages later, I've came to the conclusion that once you've got it going and you have a basic idea of what's going on, you can be more efficient in structuring documents than you could think.

Just keep going and you'll get there! You got it!

Collapse
 
l0uiscouture profile image
Louis Couture β€οΈπŸ³οΈβ€πŸŒˆπŸ‡ΊπŸ‡³βšœοΈ

I jumped and made the switch from mac to windows.

I have an application that helps me take notes at specific timestamps.

There used to be a web version, but I chose to make a native application,

Now I dusted up the old version that works nicely on windows as a PWA and added cool functionnalities like data persistence even as you close the app,

I use localStorage but am trying to make it use indexedDb instead.

Next weekend I will port my not 100% finished swiftui app for timing debates to ionic and capacitor. It is tedious, but the app will be what it should have been : cross platform

Collapse
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad

Building a tool to extract information about your Rails app using static analysis. Think all models (and their properties), controllers (with their methods), linking routes to controllers to ultimately build an intelligent autocomplete

github.com/faraazahmad/trains

Collapse
 
bias profile image
Tobias Nickel

an html app with a single button. i called it blipCounter.
just hit the button to count what ever you want to count, then see a few stats about the timing.

With the app you can count rotations of a machine, beats per minute in music, repititions in sport (to indidate if the athlet is getting slowly). a small little app, with unlimited usecases.

it is so small, I am not going to share it, just build it yourself πŸ˜‰

Collapse
 
dlmarques profile image
Daniel Marques • Edited

I've been started my side project on April 2022, the idea was started for only product landing page. Currently I'm building an web application for e-learning, maybe inspired in Udemy and others, but it has been challenging!

You can check it in here! EzLearn Client EzLearn Server

I separate the frontend and backend in branches, I'm not sure that it is a good practice, so if you can help me about it.

I'm thinking how can be useful if I start a thread in dev.to about my journey in this project. What do you think?