DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

What's the best career advice you can give in ten words or less?

Top comments (148)

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Sleep and tackle the problem tomorrow with fresh eyes.

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

A colleague's eyes are always fresher than your own.

Collapse
 
alyscole profile image
AlysCole

Too many times has a colleague been able to immediately pin down a problem I'd been pouring HOURS into.

Thread Thread
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

(More junior) teammates often wonder why I'm so verbose with my status-reporting. I can't count the number of times where I've sent out a "I've been banging my head on , here's everything I've done - did I miss something trivial" only to have a reply, a few minutes/hours later, saying something as simple as "line 24 of your problem-description".

Collapse
 
perigk profile image
Periklis Gkolias

Second that

Collapse
 
thehanna profile image
Brian Hanna

Doing this one right now. Completely borked the local database for one my apps today. Shut down my machine and went home. Going to play some video games and deal with it in the morning

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

That's why I love doing infrastructure automation: something's gone completely sideways with a system or an entire architecture? Punch a button to deploy a new, functional copy in a few (or few tens of) minutes.

Thread Thread
 
thehanna profile image
Brian Hanna

I would love to but we're in feature factory mode so not a ton of time for that level of automation 🙁

Thread Thread
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Yeah. Automating deployments is definitely a time-suck, but it's a time-suck that, once done, quickly pays for itself by freeing you up to do other thing more quickly and easily. Unfortunately, many organizations that love to say "we want to do devops" or "we want to do infrastructure automation" don't seem to understand that you have to allocate considerable time to getting there. That it's an investment to reach the point where you replace broken systems – or even just do regular patching – with "lemme launch a new copy". Then again, there's a lot of shops that think that re-hosting into a CSP and/or switching to containers magically impart capabilities they never designed into their solutions.

Collapse
 
damcosset profile image
Damien Cosset • Edited

Don't worry, nobody knows what they are doing.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Can confirm. Don’t know what I’m doing.

Collapse
 
ferricoxide profile image
Thomas H Jones II

Always amazes me when I run into people that claim to know, with absolute certitude, that what they're doing is the correct, best way to do a given thing.

Usually, such certitude does not bear up under even the most casual of scrutiny.

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

How comes you can only like a comment once?

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

Some people do, learn from them.

Collapse
 
sierisimo profile image
Sinuhe Jaime Valencia

I know what I'm doing: trying to figure out what I'm supposed to do

Collapse
 
nanythery profile image
Nadine M. Thêry

If you are not happy, do something. Life is short.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

That’s how I felt after I got my first job my degree trained me for.

I sort of knew how to code and that looked like a lot more fun so I quit and figured out my happy path.

Collapse
 
rizwanjavaid profile image
Rizwan⚡️

+1 Yes, life is too short to be in a crappy job. You can be a team of one but be realistic as well and explore your options. There comes a time when all your pleading and convincing will go to waste if the executives/management don't value your opinion. You deserve to be happy! :)

Collapse
 
russormes profile image
Russell Ormes

Maybe life is too long to be unhappy.

Collapse
 
lauragift21 profile image
Gift Egwuenu

Never stop learning.

Collapse
 
nataliedeweerd profile image
𝐍𝐚𝐭𝐚𝐥𝐢𝐞 𝐝𝐞 𝐖𝐞𝐞𝐫𝐝

Just ask the bloody question!

Collapse
 
jamonjamon profile image
Jaimie Carter

Haha .. yes! Just ask, already!!!!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Good one

Collapse
 
scott_yeatts profile image
Scott Yeatts • Edited

Don't be afraid to admit when you're wrong.

Collapse
 
lukewestby profile image
Luke Westby

Technology is ephemeral; people are not

Collapse
 
mortoray profile image
edA‑qa mort‑ora‑y

I have a bad feeling some COBOL code is going to outlive us all.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Love that

Collapse
 
chrisrhymes profile image
C.S. Rhymes

Drink less coffee, drink more water

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

I really want to give up my coffee dependency

Collapse
 
theringleman profile image
Sam Ringleman

I don't.

Collapse
 
avalander profile image
Avalander

Heresy!

Collapse
 
kenbellows profile image
Ken Bellows

😱

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

Don’t go to bed if you haven’t learned something new today [repeat every day]

Collapse
 
tyrrrz profile image
Oleksii Holub

Depending on what you consider as "learning something new", you may ruin your sleep really badly :D

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

"Get enough sleep" would be my no. 2 advice!

Collapse
 
gabrielviviani profile image
gabriel-viviani

while(isAlive())

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

That's why programming is so great. Two paragraphs of explanation condensed in one function! Awesome! Thanks 😄

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Any tips on keeping up this discipline?

Collapse
 
cecilelebleu profile image
Cécile Lebleu

One and only, IMO: Link this question to an action you do every evening!

For example, washing your teeth, changing clothes, taking a shower, or when pulling the covers on to sleep. Select one action you do religiously every evening, and whenever you do this action, ask yourself the question, "have I learned something new today?". If you can honestly say "yes, I learned something useful today", then sleep sound, you earned it! But if not, then get up and do something, or read something useful on your phone using the DEV app :), etc.

Back when I was around 10 years old, I heard somewhere that the Japanese did this every night. I thought it was SO cool I decided to make that a part of my life. I don't even know if it's true from the Japanese! Also, I thank to my dad, who I saw learning and working really hard every day and night from home, to build his own thing. I learned that, even if all goes south, I can still learn something new every day, and what I learn, I can use to improve my life.

Thread Thread
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Nice!

Collapse
 
molly profile image
Molly Struve (she/her)

Ask the question, someone else is probably wondering it too.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Definitely!

Collapse
 
jdsteinhauser profile image
Jason Steinhauser

Failing is better than not trying.

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

You've never tested bulletproof vests for a living.

Collapse
 
abraham profile image
Abraham Williams

Surround yourself with nice people.

Collapse
 
jamonjamon profile image
Jaimie Carter

You can't be more right! Good one.

Collapse
 
zablon18 profile image
Fernando Zablah

Don't forget to commit

Collapse
 
mchadley_io profile image
Michael Hadley

Don't commit directly to master until you're absolutely sure!

Collapse
 
seangwright profile image
Sean G. Wright

Work hard.
Build relationships.
Find opportunities.
Take chances.
Be kind.

Collapse
 
puritanic profile image
Darkø Tasevski

Experience is overrated over knowledge, and knowledge over motivation to learn.