DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

What time of day are you most productive?

Top comments (83)

Collapse
 
taillogs profile image
Ryland G

My productivity is dynamic and highly optimized for the periods of the day when I don't need to be productive. It's taken years of training and hard work to achieve, but I can proudly say that I'm nearly never productive when I need to be.

Collapse
 
scottishross profile image
Ross Henderson

Wally - Dilbert Comic

(From the Dilbert Comics)

Collapse
 
rizwanjavaid profile image
Rizwan⚡️

I'm jealous. :)

Collapse
 
taillogs profile image
Ryland G • Edited

It’s magical, you should be

Collapse
 
simo97 profile image
ADONIS SIMO

any advice ?

Collapse
 
taillogs profile image
Ryland G

Maybe reread what I wrote (haha).

But sure I have some advice. Build a schedule, doesn't matter what the schedule is but stick to it. You'll be amazed by how your brain will automatically try to do things on schedule after a short period of time.

Collapse
 
bvmcode profile image
bvmcode

morning, 7am to 10am I am pretty solid.

Collapse
 
tsimpson profile image
Travis Simpson

Same for me. Some days it can be earlier, from 5am - 9am or so, but I've found that my brain power tends to decline right around 1:30/2pm, so I try to do as much as possible long before then.

Collapse
 
bvmcode profile image
bvmcode

Yeah, as the day gets older there tends to be more meetings and those are just a total freaking drain on anything good and holy in this world.

Collapse
 
bradwellsb profile image
Bradley Wells • Edited

Same for me. I am most productive from early in the morning all the way up until about the time I get tired of being productive. That's not to say I can't be productive in the afternoons; I just don't always want to be. I value a good siesta time.

Collapse
 
jamonjamon profile image
Jaimie Carter

Yep. Me too.

Collapse
 
gac profile image
Igor Ilic

I'm mostly productive when everyone else asleep, at times between 1 and 6 am...

I've even managed sometimes to arrange my schedule in a way that I would sleep from 6pm to midnight and than wake up and start working until 7am so I can get ready and go to work and do a 8am-4pm shift, get back home, sleep and do it again.

I know its not the best practice but that is when I'm most productive and I do more stuff in that time than I could ever do during my regular hours. But sadly I can't get my company to let me work on that schedule

Collapse
 
peter profile image
Peter Kim Frank

Mornings for focused productivity and uninterrupted progress on "deep work." By most evenings I'm pretty burnt out, but if I have more work to do, I'll do really quick and dirty "drafts" of emails or other projects that I'll clean up in the morning.

Collapse
 
aritdeveloper profile image
Arit Developer

This is hard for me to answer; due to my kids, I have learned to pull productivity out of the busiest of times 😄

But were I still living alone, I'd say early in the morning, and early evening as a close second.

Collapse
 
sarahscode profile image
Sarah Katz

While I'm drinking my coffee, mostly.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

😄

Collapse
 
edgarngg profile image
edgarngg

So how big is your mug?

Collapse
 
sarahscode profile image
Sarah Katz

16oz. But I refill it if I have a lot to get done.

Collapse
 
anwar_nairi profile image
Anwar • Edited

I feel weird... Definitively 10-12 PM (maybe later the night, depends how much I am motivated) .

The night is so peaceful, no sounds at home, plenty time to try dev things, continuing my side projects, really the best moment (now commuting, can't wait to come home and start my "second" day 😂)

Collapse
 
fosteman profile image
Timothy Fosteman

Cal Newport wrote his wonderful 'Deep Work', where he talked about undisturbed workflow.
For me it's always about period of time between 3am and 7am for I am a college student.
Though, of course, factual productivity depends on vigorosity of the moment!

Collapse
 
edgarngg profile image
edgarngg

Remote worker here. Complex stuff in the morning, struggle less with distractions, more tedious stuff before noon. After that it's just attempts to stay focused with intermittent work. I try to sleep early.

Collapse
 
lcharanteja profile image
Charan Teja

Am at my best between 8am and 11am. Once I have lunch am slow as a slug🐌.

Collapse
 
scrabill profile image
Shannon Crabill

Midnight, apparently.

No, really, I am not a morning person. Evenings, usually late evenings are when I work on side projects and coursework.

During the work day, late morning is my best time. The grogginess as worn off, and the coffee has kicked in.

Collapse
 
j_mplourde profile image
Jean-Michel Plourde

At the beggining of my day, when I just got 8 hours of good sleep. There is nothing better than waking up, sipping on a good coffee while firing the machine and listening to some good music.

I rapidly enter in power beast mode not long enough after my small morning ritual. Of course, energy is depeletin during the day and I don't have the same drive as in the morning. That's why I plan my days with energy: I know which tasks require more focus and energy and which one can be done passively.

During the summer internships, my work day is typically 7-8 hrs and it ranges from coding to reading doc. I go home, cook supper while listening on some podcast or audio book. After eating, some maintenance task while still listening to podcasts. Then I take a break to either play video games or watch some youtube videos. Then 1-2 hours before sleep, it's no screen time. I prep my lunch for the next day then I read my book of the moment.

During a uni semester, my work day is still the same instead it's just classes or blocks of studying/assignments/homework.

In both cases, I include sport and from time to time a special event like an activity with friends/family or a tech meetup.

Collapse
 
darrenvong profile image
Darren Vong

The last two hours of work (4-6pm) for me. The subconscious "pressure" of needing to leave and go home soon seems to always get me going 😂

Collapse
 
darksmile92 profile image
Robin Kretzschmar

I must say it highly depends on how I slept the night and what tasks I have in front of me.
With tasks that I like / I'm interested in, I am more productive than with tasks I dislike or appear "boring" to me.

But to break it down to times of the day: mostly early in the morning and late at night (especially in the summer).

Collapse
 
champi profile image
Champi

After two cups of coffee