DEV Community

Ben Halpern
Ben Halpern

Posted on

Workspace Wednesday: Show me pics of your at-home setup

Top comments (66)

Collapse
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich • Edited

Rocking this setup during self quarantine!

Collapse
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich

Feelin blue and red this morning!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Looks like sci-fi πŸ”₯

Thread Thread
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich • Edited

I usually keep it to cool colors, but sometimes I surprise people with a red light that floods the room. Over Zoom I’ve gotten responses like β€œred alert!”, β€œSteve’s at a rave!” or β€œoh no, is something wrong?” πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Epic!

Collapse
 
jamescalviniv profile image
jamescalviniv

This is how Drakes desk would look if he was a programmer!

Collapse
 
andy4thehuynh profile image
Andy Huynh

I love the dedicated Spotify monitor.

Collapse
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich

I ❀️ indie rock so always got the tunes going! There is a Sonos in the room too for when I want to dance with myself.

Collapse
 
jenc profile image
Jen Chan

Woah are those backlight LEDs?

Collapse
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich • Edited

Yeah it’s just a cheap LED strip I purchased on Amazon I can control with a remote.

Thread Thread
 
jenc profile image
Jen Chan

I forget that other humans put more effort into arranging their workspace. I can't do anything with physical electronics or woodwork :frown:

Thread Thread
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

You don't have to do anything with kits like these. They're usually self-adhesive so you stick them to whatever and away you go. I've got a 2m lightstrip in my kitchen (and some others) and I ran it along the edge of my cupboards by peeling off the tape and pressing it into place. Low-effort, high-reward - give it a go?

Collapse
 
charlesokwuagwu profile image
Charles

Nice setup. How do you get this working when your laptop has just one HDMI port?

Collapse
 
steveblue profile image
Stephen Belovarich • Edited

The external GPU in the top right. While it doesn’t provide all the extensibility of a Thunderbolt 3 Dock, it does allow me to upgrade the GPU over time and boost GPU acceleration in apps I depend on like VSCode. Both monitors are connected to the eGPU, then 1 Thunderbolt 3 cable goes to the MBP, which charges the MBP as well. At first there were issues with disconnecting the eGPU in Mohave but those issues have since been corrected by Apple.

Thread Thread
 
charlesokwuagwu profile image
Charles

That's alot to absorb... Thanks!

I'm on a Windows Lenovo laptop with just one HDMI port ... I will need to find a simpler solution.

Collapse
 
drbragg profile image
Drew Bragg

home_setup

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Live the rubber ducks πŸ˜„

Collapse
 
drbragg profile image
Drew Bragg • Edited

πŸ˜‚ they even have little capes so I know which one to talk when I'm debugging

Ducks

Thread Thread
 
sergix profile image
Peyton McGinnis

That's gotta be the best thing I've ever seen.

Thread Thread
 
faraazahmad profile image
Syed Faraaz Ahmad

they're from devrant if i'm right

Thread Thread
 
drbragg profile image
Drew Bragg

Correct!

Thread Thread
 
sergix profile image
Peyton McGinnis
Thread Thread
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Awesome πŸ˜‚

Collapse
 
pcmagas profile image
Dimitrios Desyllas

Is that an ergohuman chair? I have one since 2016 and is awesome!

Collapse
 
drbragg profile image
Drew Bragg

It's an Autonomous ErgoChair 2 🀷🏻

I'm a fan, especially for the price. Not as awesome as the $900 chairs we have back at the office but about a million times better than the old staples one I had.

Collapse
 
benjaminfunk profile image
Benjamin Funk • Edited

alt
alt

The chair is old and a little bit worn :P

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Soft πŸ‘ŒπŸ½

Collapse
 
dmshvetsov profile image
Dmitry Shvetsov

Wow! Neat and cozy. Very Nice!

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

This looks really pleasant

Collapse
 
andy4thehuynh profile image
Andy Huynh

Feels creative.

Collapse
 
allanmacgregor profile image
Allan MacGregor πŸ‡¨πŸ‡¦ • Edited

Had no issues going into self-quarantine:P

Workstation

Collapse
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

Taking a different approach to the multi monitor setup. This is the corner of a room we use for musical instruments, toy storage, reading, and backyard bird-watching. My actual desk is downstairs in the family room.

A 43-inch monitor sitting on a 47-inch standing desk

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Pink theme πŸ’“

Collapse
 
andy4thehuynh profile image
Andy Huynh

Huge fan of pink theme.

Thread Thread
 
wolfhoundjesse profile image
Jesse M. Holmes

I've never loved a pink theme the way I love this one.

Collapse
 
wuz profile image
Conlin Durbin

Just got a new desk yesterday! Here is my setup!

Slowly trying to add better gear to my setup - I really want to switch to a more pastel color palette!

Collapse
 
nickyoung profile image
Nick Young

My Setup

Collapse
 
codebynao profile image
Naomi

So many screens 😯
Love the white board too ! That's a good idea

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I haven't tidied this or posed anything for the photo so it's not exactly neat.
It's a cordoned-off section of about a quarter to a third of my living room, with the only window at the opposite end.

My home office, with a dining chair, wooden table, two monitors attached to a Windows PC, and a Macbook

Collapse
 
thomasbnt profile image
Thomas Bnt β˜•

Look nice but desk too little small? :p

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

Well it's a reasonable size for most things. I could fit 2x24" monitors on there (I have 1x24" and 1x22" though). Really there's plenty of room for everything I need, and I don't use the laptop for much. I use barriers to drive it with my keyboard and mouse when I do need to do anything but it just sits there being a server most of the time.

Collapse
 
scriptmunkee profile image
Ken Simeon

Home Workspace
Only thing that has change is that i have a wired mouse now.

Collapse
 
ben profile image
Ben Halpern

Love the background

Collapse
 
scriptmunkee profile image
Ken Simeon • Edited

Here you go. And a link to the full size image imgur.com/a/2yeWr3H

background

Collapse
 
codebynao profile image
Naomi • Edited

Better than what I have at work !
My desk

Collapse
 
iamschulz profile image
Daniel Schulz

Desk

Collapse
 
nuculabs_dev profile image
Nucu Labs • Edited

At my parents house right now, had that desk since I was a kid.

Where's your pic, Ben? :D

Collapse
 
iamschulz profile image
Daniel Schulz

That wallpaper reminds of of the awesome art style of kurzgesagt on youtube

Collapse
 
moopet profile image
Ben Sinclair

I can't tell from the contrast, but that looks very like my RD150.

Collapse
 
nuculabs_dev profile image
Nucu Labs

It's a Korg B2

Collapse
 
shelbyspees profile image
shelby spees (she/her)

Nova moonlights as a workspace model:

Collapse
 
n_develop profile image
Lars Richter

My new desk got delivered on Friday. Finally, I can switch between sitting and standing without having to give up my screen space.

My Homeoffice setup

While my wife is at work, I switch to the living room to look after the kids. During this time, my setup is a lot smaller.
Smaller setup

Collapse
 
thatferit profile image
Ferit πŸŒŸπŸ•Œ

With 2 kids next to me, I had to move my real office area to our bedroom πŸ˜‚
Nothing special, yet I feel the need to improve now after all these images πŸ˜ƒ

Note: I use the Mac and my wife plugs the Lenovo Thinkpad. So it is a 2 people at-home setup thanks to pandemic.

my space