DEV Community

CodeNewbie Staff for CodeNewbie

Posted on

April 22 — Daily CodeNewbie Check-in Thread

You are encouraged to use this daily thread to:

  • Ask for help (all questions encouraged)
  • Explore topics you’re curious about
  • Share something you’ve written or read
  • Celebrate your wins
  • Stay accountable to your goals
  • Support your fellow programmers

Happy Coding!


Interested in joining the twice-weekly live #CodeNewbie Twitter chats? You can find us on Twitter each Wednesday at 9pm ET (1am GMT on Thursday) and Sunday at 2pm ET (6pm GMT)!

Top comments (9)

Collapse
 
fultonbrowne profile image
Fulton Browne

I wrote my first real blog post on my website

fulton.software/web//2020/04/22/th...

Collapse
 
aaronmccollum profile image
Aaron McCollum

Moving through an eDX JavaScript course before and after work hours. Just joined Dev.to so I'm pretty excited there.

I wrote a blog post a few days back about my first 25 days of #100DaysOfCode and beginning JavaScript: codingwithaaron.blogspot.com/2020/...

Collapse
 
mikekuhl profile image
MikeKuhl

I still feel like I don't know anything event though I chip away at learning almost daily. Getting rough for me I think. Self teaching doesn't feel how I thought it would.

Collapse
 
aaronmccollum profile image
Aaron McCollum

Where have you been learning? What topic have you done?

Collapse
 
mikekuhl profile image
MikeKuhl

So I got galvanized bootcamp prep for free and I've done some freecodecamp. Most of what I've done has been web based.

Thread Thread
 
aaronmccollum profile image
Aaron McCollum

Gotcha. Yes it feels like you are just treading water when you do tutorials. FCC has free projects to work on. Start applying some time to those once you get to it. It might be slow going at first but stick to small goals each day. If needed, just do one small part of a project. And don’t be afraid to look up help online. Did that a ton. Here if you have any questions!

Collapse
 
david_ojeda profile image
David Ojeda

We're here to help you! I know that feeling.

I started to feel I know something when I built a project rather than take courses or solve challenges. Have you started any project yet?

Collapse
 
mikekuhl profile image
MikeKuhl

I have not started a personal project yet.

Collapse
 
david_ojeda profile image
David Ojeda

I had some trouble integrating StimulusJS with Webpack. I got it working at the end, but it's not ideal 😅.