DEV Community

CodeNewbie Staff
CodeNewbie Staff

Posted on

May 1 — Daily CodeNewbie Check-in Thread

You are encouraged to use this daily thread to:

  • Ask for help (all questions encouraged)
  • Explore topics you’re curious about
  • Share something you’ve written or read
  • Celebrate your wins
  • Stay accountable to your goals
  • Support your fellow programmers

Happy Coding!


Interested in joining the twice-weekly live #CodeNewbie Twitter chats? You can find us on Twitter each Wednesday at 9pm ET (1am GMT on Thursday) and Sunday at 2pm ET (6pm GMT)!

Top comments (4)

Collapse
 
vonheikemen profile image
Heiker

So I begin another side project. I want to create a C-like language that compiles to a "portable shell script syntax".

The idea is to write something like this.

if @str.equal(somedata, "stuff") {
  grep("mystring", "/tmp/myfile")
  echo("what?")
  npm("init") . force . quiet
}

Then transform that into a shell script.

if [ "$somedata" = "stuff" ]
then
  grep "mystring" "/tmp/myfile"
  echo "what?"
  npm "init" -y > /dev/null 2>&1
fi

Still trying to figure out the grammar. The good news is that discovered this thing that takes care of the AST stuff and let's me try out different things quickly.

Anyway, that should keep me busy for a while.

Collapse
 
angelyoung24 profile image
Angel Young • Edited

I always wanted to ask this question. Is it worth it to do 100 Days of Code? I feel like I would forget to post about it daily and would have to restart. Any thoughts on this?

BTW: I have looked into it and it seems like a lot at times.

Collapse
 
k_the_c profile image
Kris

How and why might a newbie want to get into devops?

Collapse
 
jayesh_hathila profile image
Jayesh

I might have gotten into devops/SRE because system programming excited me equally as application development initially.